We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Ambrosia Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
rossendale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I am celiac, I cannot eat anything containing wheat gluten, after telling the owners this, they baked me a delicious GF sponge cake and presented it to me as desert after a superb meal of gluten free pasta with tasty fresh ingredients...all in all the owners and staff went out of thier way to make our eating experience there, the ultimate, thank you so much, Lisa and George. xxx Stella

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank macksrossendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    81
    28
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“An absolute must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have stayed in lindos four times in five years and have had the pleasure of dining in Ambrosia every time everything about the experience is exceptional as a young working couple with small children a meal there is a definate treat the prices are certainly more than some of the other restaurants in the village but it is clear why

George is totally focussed on giving excellent service and the food is the best we have had.
I would urge anyone to disregard the bad reviews having been five times and having our table booked for next year I struggle to fathom what planet those diners were on!

My husband and I had always insisted on keeping this restaurant as a child free treat but this year caved and took all 3 of our children (ages 22 months, 5 and 8) and George and Litsa went out of their way to accomidate them, nothing was to much trouble even preparing them something that was not even on the menu!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelly_strouther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pretentious, overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We should have known right away, the waiter/owner was fawningly obsequious, my fish got cold while he insisted on de-boning it although i was quite capable, there was nothing suitable for the children, and the bill could have bailed out the greek economy single handedly. Avoid.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtandEdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The nicest man on Rhodes?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We visited Lindos on honeymoon and unfortunately there was a taxi strike which meant that it would have been difficult to get back to our hotel. George, the owner of Ambrosia, drove us home after our meal and refused payment for diesel, taking customer service to a whole new level!

As for the meal itself, excellent food in gorgeous surroundings.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Eve better than the real thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

An excellent restaurant with a really friendly owner who would have talked and talked all night if the small establishment had not beed full.
Food was fantastic.
Only disappointnment was my wife and I did not go back for a second meal!!
We will however be back -some day........

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevedotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrosia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ambrosia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing