We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good can come Cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caserio Gure Ametsa
Ranked #1 of 6 Irun B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good can come Cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in early February 2011 to explore San Sebastian and Biarritz. The place was fairly quiet even though it was just off the main road, as it is in a quiet cul-de-sac. Rooms are of average size but totally clean and spotless. Cheap petrol and a supermarket are just two minutes walk away.

Anna and her husband were the most delightful hosts. Nothing was too small to trouble them, and they gladly provided a kettle and an extra heater when we requested. Internet Wifi is fast and free. Anna speaks a little English.

In the end, we didn't make it to Biarritz, but we did make it to San Sebastian. If you drive and you like Mango / Zara / Massimo Dutti, it's just 15 minutes to the Centro Comercial Garbera. Prices are cheap and there's a huge supermarket Eroski there too; it's where the Spanish people do their shopping. Petrol there is also cheaper than the petrol station next to the B&B.

I would highly recommend this friendly B&B to anyone who wishes to explore the region. We paid only EUR 48.05 per night for a double bedroom with en-suite bathroom. Be aware that there are rooms without en-suite as well, those looked smaller and may be cheaper. The shared bathroom was huge though and totally adequate.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CambridgeResident106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
27
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cowdenbeath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Good basic B&B, no frills but excellent for an overnight stop.

Clean, warm, well appointed bedrooms. Close to main motor routes but in a quiet narrow cul-de-sac.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzyCowdenbeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

Stayed 4 nights in Irun and absolutely loved the location. We had a car and was able to park for free, then took the EuskoTren straight into San Sebastian for 2.55Euro roundtrip. Also, the hotel is only 30 minutes from Biarritz. Ana is a lovely hostess and very sweet. Room was very clean and comes with fast & free wi-fi. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for reliable accommodations and a convenient location to explore the Basque region.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingwithjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Very comfortable stay in a little oasis just off a very busy road in Irun, Ana could not have been more welcoming - our room was comfortable and the bathroom, although tiny, was spotless and had everything we needed.
Very convenient for visiting Hondarribia and San Sebastian and we enjoyed our forays back into France.
Very good value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grannymem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irun
0.1 mi away
Ibis Irun
Ibis Irun
#2 of 6 in Irun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Atalaia
Hotel Atalaia
#1 of 6 in Irun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Urdanibia Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Campanile Hendaye
Campanile Hendaye
#5 of 13 in Hendaye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alcazar Irun Centro Ciudad
3.3 mi away
Eth Irun Hotel
Eth Irun Hotel
#5 of 6 in Irun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caserio Gure Ametsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caserio Gure Ametsa

Property: Caserio Gure Ametsa
Address: Oilakineta Street, 12, 20305 Irun, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Irun
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Irun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Caserio Gure Ametsa 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caserio Gure Ametsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing