We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely fresh food”

Tabula Calda Casa de Comidas
Ranked #32 of 187 Restaurants in Merida
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
tunbridge wells uk
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were recommended this place by a local shopkeeper and we were not disappointed. The owner greeted us and later we exchanged views about growing our own fresh food and he even gave us a couple of squashes to take away to try growing at home!
We had the set menu which included very tasty lamb chops and an excellent steak both served with very fresh vegetables. We had the local wine which was very drinkable..
It was a pity that such a good restaurant was almost empty in the evening but this seems to be case with many others in Spain as the 'crisis' bites.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mungoandmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    104
    47
    20
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a great restaurant in Merida!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I, along with our two friends, had the fortunate opportunity to enjoy the great food and wonderful staff of Tabula Calda Casa de Comidas last night. It was a great experience from the moment we stepped inside the restaurant. We were met by a wonderful gentleman (I suspect it was the proprietor) who warmly greeted us and ensured we were comfortably seated. While our Spanish is very very weak, this gentleman and our waiter made certain all our needs were met and that we clearly understood the items on the menu. The menu itself was quite varied. I had the lamb shoulder and it was absolutely wonderful! The best I have tasted in Spain. The service was great and the staff (both the waiter and the proprietor) were warm, friendly and attentive. If you are in Merida, I strongly recommend you visit this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food in traditional surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were very glad we came across Tabula Calda when we were in Merida in April 2012. My vegetarian friend and I opted for the 'menu del dia' and we thought the food was delicious. I had a spinach with scrambled egg dish for starters, beef stew with green beans and potatoes, followed by delicious homemade rice pudding: simple food but very tasty and plentiful. I can't remember what veggie dishes my friend had but she said they were lovely. And the cost, a mere 12 euros each, and that included two glasses of delicious local red wine (which, unfortunately, I am unable to get here in the UK). Our waiter was a delightful young man who very patiently described what the dishes were. The restaurant was traditionally decorated with lots of water features and plants. It was 'quirky' as has been previously described but we liked it a lot and wouldn't hesitate to eat there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Infofreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quirky and Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Merida was very disappointing, but this restaurant was a great find - thanks to reviews on Tripadvisor. Beautifully decorated with helpful and friendly staff (the owner insisted on showing us his massive leeks - luckily a Spanish couple on the next table translated for us!). The food was excellent, lots of local dishes, and very good value. A great find in a rather dismal town.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hihedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere terrible food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Sorry whatever the comments of tripadvisor may say on this!
I had a nice garlic soup followed by probably the worst steak ever. Had to send it back 3 times cause i was still frozen and the 4th time I couldnt ate it anymore.
My wife had some asparagus with cheese and she was sick for a day!
Trust me.. Dont Go here!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jjmhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabula Calda Casa de Comidas also viewed

Merida, Province of Badajoz
Merida, Province of Badajoz
 
Merida, Province of Badajoz
 
Merida, Province of Badajoz
Merida, Province of Badajoz
 

Been to Tabula Calda Casa de Comidas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing