We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ILUNION Merida Palace
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a wonderful, friendly and very professional welcome from our receptionist Rebecca, which was a particularly good start to our stay.

Our room was spacious, attractive and extremely comfortable with an enormous bed and we were fortunate to be on the quiet side of the hotel away from Merida's lively Plaza Espana, where local families can gather and enjoy themselves until quite late at night.

The hotel has its own restaurant and large and comfortable bar/lounge area with friendly bar staff. Unfortunately (and unusually for Spain) the bar closed at midnight so the chance of a late drink after a night out was limited.

Much has been made in some reviews here and elsewhere about the hotel's mock Roman interior. Whilst I can see that it wouldn't be to everyone's taste, nevertheless it is quite well done and a brave effort to restore the building and give the hotel a style of its own in keeping with the Roman history around it.

The hotel is perfectly located a short walk from all bars and restaurants and close enough to all the Roman ruins.

I agree with another reviewer that it was a pity the rooftop terrace and pool was closed, in our case during mid June. As it turned out Merida was in the middle of an unusually cold spell so we didn't miss the facility too much - however, it is worth checking first if a pool is a must for you.

We had only booked to stay for one night but wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the centre or at the back of the hotel, away from Plaza Espana, will be significantly quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popgunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilunion H, Gerente at ILUNION Merida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Dear Costumer, Thank you for filling the quality questionnaire and for choosing our Hotel in your stay in Mérida. We are very pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Mérida. Yours faithfully. José María Valadés (Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

I recently stayed here for 3 nights and found this hotel very comfortable and ideally located for visiting all the amazing sites of wonderful Merida. I was a little disappointed that the rooftop pool and terrace was not yet open for summer on June 1st and with temperatures of 30 degrees. However, this turned out to be a good thing as who wants to lounge by a pool when there is so much to see and do in Merida and Extremadura. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. Merida is a hidden gem of Spain and well worth making the effort to travel here as the scenery is spectacular. If you like big birds (storks) and Roman ruins you will be in paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanetWaves20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilunion H, Gerente at ILUNION Merida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Dear Costumer, Thank you for filling the quality questionnaire and for choosing our Hotel in your stay in Mérida. We are very pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Mérida. Yours faithfully. José María Valadés (Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The most impressive side of this hotel is no doubt its façade to the much alive square outside. Its clear that this is the main hotel of Merida. The square is noisy and full of people wish I guess is exciting to some people. I needed rest and was happy to find that the window that our room had to the square was perfectly sound insulated. The rooms was well equipped and elegant in its limited ways but the rest of the hotel is outdated with bad lighting and a general feeling of decline. It looks as though the hotel has been struggling lately. The pool that I had been locking forward to was closed...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredrik Valdema... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilunion H, Gerente at ILUNION Merida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Dear Costumer, Thank you for filling the quality questionnaire and for choosing our Hotel in your stay in Mérida. We are very pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Mérida. Yours faithfully. José María Valadés (Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

While this hotel is technically 5 star I would say that it has missed the mark slightly. However it is still a lovely hotel and excellent for the cost per night. Situated in the centre of Merida a very pretty traditional Spanish town, very few people speak English even in the hotel, although this added to the charm. Our rooms overlooked a pretty side street and were very quite, we got an excellent nights sleep and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms are quite traditionally decorated which makes a nice change from the standard decor seen in many hotels now. The communal areas of the hotel are very pretty with the bar situated just off the lobby it is nice to sit with a drink and watch people coming and going. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice plenty of fresh fruits, yogurts, breads, pastries and a cooked selection. There is also champagne available should you need that extra pick me up!! I very much enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it, think you would struggle to find nicer accommodation at such a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CocoCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilunion H, Gerente at ILUNION Merida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Dear Costumer, Thank you for filling the quality questionnaire and for choosing our Hotel in your stay in Mérida. We are very pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Mérida. Yours faithfully. José María Valadés (Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Loved everything about this hotel, room was fantastic as were the common areas, everything had quality and character. Located in the main square of the town, convenient for the Roman sites plus bars and restaurants. Parking was easy, pull in front of the hotel and unload and they will then valet park your car for 16 euros a day. Just give them 30 minutes notice when you want it back. Staff were very friendly and attentive, though it probably helps if you have a little Spanish. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCMChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilunion H, Gerente at ILUNION Merida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Dear Costumer, Thank you for filling the quality questionnaire and for choosing our Hotel in your stay in Mérida. We are very pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Mérida. Yours faithfully. José María Valadés (Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Imagine staying at a 5 star hotel and the following happening. We arrived at the hotel on Friday evening. My partner decided to have a shower to freshen up after the drive. While in the shower the door (typical thick glass shower door on a bath/shower set up) fell off the hinges and fell on his foot. There was blood and swelling straight away. We called reception to tell them we urgently needed a doctor. They were so blasé it was unbelievable. Went to the emergency room to get X-rays etc. the foot suffered a heavy trauma and had to get bandaged. The doctors said that the foot needed to be rested as it was badly damaged. On arrival back to the hotel, the reception basically ignored us. We still hadn't received any form of apology or anything. Weekend was ruined as if you can't walk in Merida there is not much for you to do. The following day, when we asked to speak to the manager we were told he wasn't available. Later in the day, told again the manager wasn't available but in compensation the hotel offered us one breakfast and one nights parking. Excuse me? This was a massive insult! He has a badly damaged foot, the fault of the hotel for not checking their installations, and they expect that a breakfast will suffice? The treatment of the hotel for a serious matter is disgraceful. If it had been a child in the shower, they would have died. If the glass had broken, he would have lost a foot. As it stands he has a severe foot trauma. We will be perusing this matter further and taking legal action.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiespain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilunion H, Gerente at ILUNION Merida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Dear Costumer, Thank you for filling the quality questionnaire and for choosing our Hotel in your stay in Mérida. We are very pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Mérida. Yours faithfully. José María Valadés (Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a converted mansion in the main square of Merida opposite the Town Hall. The lobby is of breathtaking beauty. The rooms are large with modern bathrooms and tastefully decorated. However, guests must beware the possible appearance of the occasional cockroach. The staff does not speak English except for a couple of receptionists. There is WiFi in the lobby but not in the rooms. If you are travelling with your iPad, you will can only use it in the lobby. Considering that this is one of the best hotels in town and rather pricy, it could do with improvements.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaP319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilunion H, Gerente at ILUNION Merida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Dear Costumer, Thank you for filling the quality questionnaire and for choosing our Hotel in your stay in Mérida. We are very pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Mérida. Yours faithfully. José María Valadés (Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Merida
Parador de Merida
#4 of 14 in Merida
1,100 reviews
1.1 mi away
TRYP Merida Medea Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vettonia
Hotel Vettonia
#2 of 14 in Merida
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adealba Hotel
Adealba Hotel
#11 of 14 in Merida
437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Velada Merida
Hotel Velada Merida
#6 of 14 in Merida
610 reviews
1.8 mi away
ILUNION Las Lomas
ILUNION Las Lomas
#5 of 14 in Merida
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Merida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Merida Palace

Address: Plaza Espana 19 | Badajoz, 06800 Merida, Spain (Formerly BlueCity Merida Palace)
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: $64 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ILUNION Merida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your ILUNION Merida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing