We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and central”
Review of Parador de Merida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Merida
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Historic and central”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Very nice and well renovated historic building in the center of Merida. Very quiet. As it is an ancient convent, a bit austere, but really friendly atmosphere.

On the down side, be aware that the doors are "really" thin, and that you tend to hear everything what is happening in the corridors from your room (and vice-versa).

The real problem is the restaurant. Breakfasts are very good, but for evening, the restaurant is supposed to be "gastronomic", but it is a real deception there !

Food is OK (although pricey), but really average : it is "classic", regional food (which means you can get it for 1/3 of the price in 90% of the restaurants around), but quite greasy, and really missing the "nouvelle cuisine" twist that could make it worth it ...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeBieler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadorMerida, Director General at Parador de Merida, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente, gracias por compartir su opinión del hotel con otros usuarios. Tomamos nota de sus observaciones y analizaremos con el equipo de cocina su comentario. Esperamos que en su próxima visita todo esté como desea y se merece. Un saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    368
    224
    75
    31
See reviews for
213
531
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Paradores set the standard, and this one will not disappoint. Well located yet in a quiet location. It may seem bigger and "colder" than other Paradores, but the service is excellent and bar & restaurant do not disappoint either. As usual, the romos are also extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MITOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was my first stay in a Parador. The Merida Parador, originally a convent, has beautifully maintained the integrity of its history. Take in the chapel, cloistered courtyard or garden, where you can rest and have a drink. There is a lovely tranquility to this place. The coffered ceiling in the comfortable room is reminiscent of the past. Our room overlooked the garden and pool. The pool actually looked too small for real swimming. The room's lighting is a little dark. The bathroom was a little tired with chipping paint on the ceiling and around the the window frame.
The only problem is Merida signage. What confusion! Spent at least a half hour following misleading signs around the city to find this hotel. My conclusion is that the signs, albeit on streets, were meant for pedestrians. Once we were settled in the hotel's location was excellent. Very friendly reception as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torontolady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I work as a tour manager and am staying at the parador tonight with my group. We are all incredibly impressed with this beautiful hotel, the service is excellent, the dinner fabulous, and the hotel itself is splendid. i have stayed in many paradors and this one is up there in the ratings. Love it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborahwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Used to enjoy paradores from time to time, I must say it has nit been the best experience about the rom itself, but the restaurant was nothing but superb. All in all, good experience as expected and highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozymandiasvger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was reading the other reviews of this Parador and I have to agree with other reviewers that compared to the other Paradors we stayed in (and looked at) it was somewhat tired. It was easy to find if you come by car, and the parking is convenient. There was some old world charm to the building, but not as spectacular as in other hotels we stayed in. There were old 70s-looking chairs and sofas in the hallways. The room was spacious, the beds were borderline uncomfortable, and the bathroom was somewhat rundown but everything worked ok. We took the advice of other reviewers and didn't eat the breakfast here.
The staff were polite and helpful, and we just loved the free candies they made available at the front desk!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeakybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This charming historical hotel was let down by the basics such as poor service in the bar and restaurant. There was plenty of choice at breakfast but unfortunately was poor quality. The rooms were dark and a little worn which could have been excused had it not been for the bathroom that was just not clean at all which was very off-putting. We did not use the swimming pool as this also was not very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Merida Palace
ILUNION Merida Palace
#1 of 14 in Merida
945 reviews
1.3 mi away
TRYP Merida Medea Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vettonia
Hotel Vettonia
#2 of 14 in Merida
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adealba Hotel
Adealba Hotel
#7 of 14 in Merida
408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Velada Merida
Hotel Velada Merida
#9 of 14 in Merida
530 reviews
1.7 mi away
ILUNION Las Lomas
ILUNION Las Lomas
#6 of 14 in Merida
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Merida

Property: Parador de Merida
Address: Calle Almendralejo 56, 06800 Merida, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Merida Hotel Merida
Parador De Merida mérida
Parador De Merida Hotel mérida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing