We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Night Stand”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Parador de Merida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Merida
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Merida
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Night Stand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were travelling back from Portugal to Santander and had the great fortune to choose Merida for an overnight stop. We arrived early enough to enjoy some of the extensive Roman remains the City has to offer (allegedly the largest outside Rome) but the highlight of our stay was the comfortable and very welcoming Parador de Merida. Luxurious rooms and a peaceful ambience coupled with good food is a hard to beat combination. Add in some local colour by way of dinner entertainment and you have a seductive proposition!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    346
    210
    71
    30
See reviews for
203
492
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Paradores in Spain are quite a bit more expensive than comparable hotels. But, it is always nice to stay in an historic property. The common areas are beautiful. The room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Staying in a parador is a unique life experience. For a few dollars more, you will go to paradise.
Sleeping in a former monk or nun cell with wall 2 feet wide, long corridors, courtyard full of birds, quiet garden. Parador de Merida is all this and more. I stayed only one night on a biking trip through Spain. Clean, quiet, comfortable rooms. Outstanding compound in the middle of Caceres. I slept very well inside these old walls. Don't miss the nearby Roman ruins and museum.
I didn't take with the breakfast, but there are many places around with good traditional spanish breakfast, usually involving black pig ham, olive oil and rustic bread.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simple-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is an old building that has had many uses over the years and has a warm comforting atmosphere. There is underground parking with lifts up to the hotel. Reception was welcoming . The rooms are comfortable with free wi-fi and the breakfast was good with a full spread of hot and cold food.
The location is perfect as you walk straight in to the old pedestrianised area of Merida leading to the Roman bridge and the amphitheatre
The hotel turned out easy to find because we followed signs to the Parador and suddenly came across the entrance to the car park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxdown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A good choice if you're staying in Mérida.....all the sights of interest are within walking distance, and the parador itself is an interesting older building that has been converted into a hotel. The room was excellent...spacious and very clean. The only negative is that it is on the expensive side...the smart move is to have breakfast and meals out of the parador...there are many bars and restauarants within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gringomadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,157 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was the first time I had used a Parador and I was impressed for the most part. It's not a cheap option but the interior of the building, the courtyard, the garden were all lovely. The tiled floors , the vaulted ceilings, the dark wood , very comfortable rooms, large bathrooms were all great. The hotel is centrally located a few minutes walk from Trajans arch and a little further to the main square. Staff are efficient if not effusive but will smile if pushed! Whilst we were there, a great deal of furniture was noisily removed from one area and sent to another and the hot breakfast was not, but the cold buffet lacks nothing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Arriving at the parador in Merida is slightly tricky because like many Spanish towns the centre is a compact jumble of heavily-trafficked streets and alleys that must be overcome in order to reach the large green electric gate that is the vehicular entrance to the parador. The helpful attendant quickly showed us into a parking bay from which access by lift to our room was very convenient.
The hotel has an unusual layout that we found difficult to navigate; breakfast and dinner are at opposite ends of the building. Otherwise the converted convent is standard parador; lovely tiled floors, comfortable beds and rooms, very clean but sometimes slightly aloof. Not here, however. We were struck by the helpfulness of all the staff from the entrance to reception and dining room, where we had dinner with friends. My wife was slightly disappointed with her bonito, which she took to be tuna but discovered is slightly different and less to her taste. My retinto beef was excellent. Breakast was a fine buffet spread.
Merida is built on the ruins of the second Roman city after Rome itself, and everywhere further remains are being discovered by construction works. The theatre and the modern museum are particularly exciting. The parador is a superb place from which to explore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Merida Palace
ILUNION Merida Palace
#1 of 15 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.3 mi away
TRYP Merida Medea Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vettonia
Hotel Vettonia
#2 of 15 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adealba Hotel
Adealba Hotel
#7 of 15 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nova Roma
Nova Roma
#6 of 15 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Velada Merida
Hotel Velada Merida
#9 of 15 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Merida

Property: Parador de Merida
Address: Calle Almendralejo 56, 06800 Merida, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Merida Hotel Merida
Parador De Merida mérida
Parador De Merida Hotel mérida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing