We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merida's travellers rest”
Review of Parador de Merida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Merida
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Merida's travellers rest”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Merida is full of remains of its Roman origin; almost a mini-Rome. One building not yet identified is a Mansio, the Roman hostelry for travellers, but the Parador is today's equivalent. Historic medieval building, cool stone and wood interiors and unobtrusive but efficient service. The plan of the building is long and narrow, with a central courtyard. Over four nights, we found a number of different ways to our room, which added to its charm. Our room was spacious with good-sized comfortable beds, and the bathroom was fully supplied with toiletries.The food was very good; Spanish but not aggressively so!
A very pleasant four-night stay.

Room Tip: From what we saw, all the rooms are very similar, and neither side of the building offers any partic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppnumerianus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    368
    224
    75
    31
See reviews for
213
531
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is the third time I´ve stayed at this Hotel. Having read other recent reviewers, I wonder if their expectations are somewhat askew. Paradors are usually (not always) in historic buildings that needed preserving. They are not going to have every facility easy to hand. The hotel is situated in a town established over 2000 years ago, the entire town is listed as a UNESCO site. The roads are not designed to get cars from the motorway to the hotel front door with ease, its a one way system precisely because there are too many cars. Its well sign-posted, if you look for signs with "This way to the Parador" written on them, you´ll find it easy enough. Rooms are spacious, although a bit tired now. As for staff, they did their job, sure, theres never enough hotel staff, especially when you want one and everyones busy. But the ratio is enough, the ones there were friendly and helpful, and did their job. Food is decent, usual buffet breakfast with healthy options, and plenty of it. Evening meals are acceptable with good enough quality. Personally I prefer exploring what a town has to offer by way of cuisine, so usually only eat one night at the hotel. Paying for parking is indeed a rip-off, and the pool is really just too small. It should be replaced with a cold water plunge pool and recover the space for more garden, and for those "irks", I´m dropping it from 4 to 3, but otherwise, good historic hotel, centrally located, decent food, decent helpful staff, a bit tired, still "good", but not "great".

Room Tip: Avoid rooms out on the "wings", its a bit of a hike back to the central "service"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Los T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

While the reception staff were efficient, polite and friendly, the Parador de Mérida's hospitality stopped there.

The whole place is a bit tired. Maybe its the heat of mid-summer but many of the staff seemed to be civil servants: they did what they had to, at their own pace and according to their own schedule. No-one was rude, but no-one seemed interested in providing a service.

The room was fine: comfortable and well equipped. Everything worked and was clean.

The former convent was built for an entirely different purpose, so be prepared for long walks from the bedroom areas to the access stairs and elevators to the dining and drinking areas.

The gate guard provides good advice (in Spanish at least): leave your luggage in your car until you have checked in. Your bedroom might be directly above the garage and its elevator. The reception desk is down two corridors, past a restaurant, through a bar, and down another corridor. Dragging your bags all this way, even though the steps have ramps, is a bit of a pain if you have to drag them back again.

The dining experience was an absolute let-down. Parador hotels have a reputation for emphasising local cuisine and good service. Our experience was that the waiting staff could not care less: they offered no advice on dishes or accompanying wines unless prompted by questions (and Extramadura has excellent wines, cheeses and local dishes). The waiting staff were either suffering from the heat of the day, or were too disinterested to attend the tables to clear away plates and suggest subsequent courses. Spending two hours over dinner is a bit much when most of that time is spent waiting for a server.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikTheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

One used to choose Spanish Paradors because of their historical location, and history. The Paradors once had the reputation of being the very best hotel chain in the world. Alas, we were very disappointed with this one. The acquisition of money seems to be their current Modus Operandi.

Car parking which, if you have hired/booked a room, really ought to be free, but is not @ €15 per day on top of the room rate. I consider that a rip-off.

We had to drive three times round the city centre to find this hotel. Directions appalling.

Breakfast at €16 per head also on top of the room rate, a very bad joke.

Room rates at more than twice the going rate in the rest of the city. Ola! Don't stay here!!

On the weekend we stayed a wedding party had booked at this Parador and occupied half the hotel. They were very noisy, the main restaurant was closed, the bar was full and the restaurant space was pushed into the car park. BAH!

No information on how to use their WIFI internet was visible, BAH.

Indifferent staff, the kind employed in chain hotel, BAH!

Car park spaces were not large enough really, not if you have to park next to a 4x4. BAH.

If I am paying a heavy price I expect a level of commensurate service which was denied me.

Don't stay here. There are better hotels not so far away, at half the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sir_recorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Good location , but difficult to get into as not well signed. Car parking is pricey, but it covers all the time of stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dendoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Very convenient to see the Roman sites, main attraction of the city. In fact, the Trajano Arc is 100 m.from teh main door,and the Diana Temple is about 300 m. It is right on the spot!!
The rest is several minutes walking,and is really worth the visit, including the impressive modern Museum.
Talking about the Hotel, we arrived by car, and the garage is very good (and an obligation,it is nearly impossible to park on the street of the old city).
We didn´t eat at the restaurant, but in this case it didn´t seem to be a local referral (as it is usually in other Paradores). Just an impression.
Room Ok, standard for a Parador.
General facilities are a little worn out, or not very cared for, needs refurbishing and a care dose.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Having just left the Parador in Toledo, we were disappointed with the Parador in Merida - it was dark, the furnishing were old fashioned in all areas, and the service and food in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner were poor. The check in staff were not very friendly. We loved the Roman sites in Merida, but were not at all impressed with the Parador.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
ILUNION Merida Palace
ILUNION Merida Palace
#1 of 14 in Merida
946 reviews
1.3 mi away
TRYP Merida Medea Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vettonia
Hotel Vettonia
#2 of 14 in Merida
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adealba Hotel
Adealba Hotel
#7 of 14 in Merida
407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Velada Merida
Hotel Velada Merida
#9 of 14 in Merida
530 reviews
1.7 mi away
ILUNION Las Lomas
ILUNION Las Lomas
#6 of 14 in Merida
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Merida

Property: Parador de Merida
Address: Calle Almendralejo 56, 06800 Merida, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Merida Hotel Merida
Parador De Merida mérida
Parador De Merida Hotel mérida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing