We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously, 4 stars?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Velada Merida
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Merida
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Seriously, 4 stars?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Velada Merida is well situated, within a 15 minute walk to everything including the Roman Theatre. It's clean, comfortable and nothing special ...certainly not 4 Star material.

The room was clean, and a little cramped. They charge for parking, but you can park free on the street.

We stayed for two nights and inquired about laundry services in town. The front desk insisted that there was nothing; we walked past one while in town ...too late to get things done before they closed. This seemed like a simple thing to help us with as the hotel laundry service requires 72 hours on a weekend and at their prices its actually cheaper to replace versus wash some items.

To sum up. Location, great. Service / knowledge, poor. Rooms, small and a little in need of a refresh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    189
    185
    53
    24
See reviews for
139
242
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I drove from Lisbon Portugal to go sight seeing in Merida Spain. Merida was like being in Rome (a smaller version). The ampitheater and other roman ruins were so fascinating and exciting to see. How cool to stand where gladiators stood! So cool,however the day was exceptionally hot got to 38 degrees celcius. It was very hot that day. Make sure you have a hat and water!. The only downfall to the day trip was some of the tourist restaurants down the old part of the city. We should have done our homework when it came to good restaurants. We did however go to a local food store and bought some fruit, cheese and bread and enjoyed our picnic.
After a lot of walking, we enjoyed going to our cool, clean and quiet hotel room

Room Tip: The room we had was on the fifth floor facing east which was perfect in the evening, not too hot. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed one night en route home from the Algarve. Merida has a wealth of Roman history which we didn't know about and would have planned to stay longer if we had. The Velada is well placed to see the Roman remains and museum on foot and is quiet and well appointed. Staff were efficient and bi-lingual which helped! Room and facilities were good value for the €91 we paid for B&B. Breakfast was hard to judge as we were competing with two coach loads of French and Japanese tourists who descended on it like locusts. The staff strove manfully to keep refilling the portions, Parking was close by but, @ €7 plus, a bit expensive All in all worth a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chertseyman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The room was clean, well-appointed, quiet and had a comfortable bed! We only stayed one night en route to Portugal so didn't have a chance to make proper use of the facilities.

The breakfast was ok - nothing outstanding but not bad either.

We thought that €7.50 to park in the hotel's car park was unnecessary - why charge people who are already paying for accommodation??

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in conjunction with attending a performance in the Classical Theater Series at the Mérida Roman Theater. We picked it for location, ease of parking, and price. At 81€ it was a bargain for a 4 * hotel breakfast for 2 included. The facilities were very nice, as was the staff. The breakfast buffet was among the best I have experienced in Spain. Our only complaint was that the pool was only open from 11:00-20:00.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in Merida as part of a round trip from Madrid around the South of Spain and unfortunately after staying in other 4 start hotels around Andalucia and Madrid I would say I'm hesitant to agree this Hotel has 4 stars.

The service at reception was quick, the parking outside was nice and accessible and at 8€ parking per day, it was very reasonable. We chose this hotel as looking online it was quite economical but there is a reason for it. The hotel is quite tired and the rooms showed that too. They were nice and clean but quite basic.

The location seems a little isolated from everything, however it is only a 12 minute walk to the main Roman ruins, however, the centre of town was on the other side from this, so if you are staying for more than a day, maybe not the most convenient.

On the plus side the rooms are spacious as is the swimming pool and ideal for a short basic stopover in Merida.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECTravelingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Nice, spacious, comfortable rooms. Good parking on site, I think it was 8€ a day. Not too close to the ancient part of town, it was a 10 min drive, but probably closer walking. The outside of the hotel has a fake roman appearance which I found quite tacky, it was a bit more subtle inside.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Juli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.7 mi away
TRYP Merida Medea Hotel
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Merida Palace
ILUNION Merida Palace
#1 of 15 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vettonia
Hotel Vettonia
#2 of 15 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
ILUNION Las Lomas
ILUNION Las Lomas
#9 of 15 in Merida
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adealba Hotel
Adealba Hotel
#7 of 15 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parador de Merida
Parador de Merida
#4 of 15 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Velada Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Velada Merida

Property: Hotel Velada Merida
Address: Avda. Princesa Sofia s/n, 06800 Merida, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Merida
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Velada Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel built with classic, Roman decor and modern comforts is located near historic monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Velada Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velada Merida Hotel
Velada Merida mérida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing