We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ham Ever”
Review of Casa Benito

Casa Benito
Ranked #135 of 198 Restaurants in Merida
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
North, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Best Ham Ever”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our tour guide recommended this restaurant so we tried it. Had a delicious lunch but very slow service on the terrace. Tables were slow to be cleaned and lots of people smoking. Inside the restaurant was interesting with bull fighting memorabilia. We were told to try ham and were not disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler6102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    102
    82
    48
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic real Spanish tapas”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were told about this restaurant by a friend, who owns a factory producing iberico ham, and it didn't disappoint. We had several tapas dishes, including peppers stuffed with morcia (Spanish black pudding), and they were all wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raphael01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“That's really amazing”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I loved the dish recommended by the maitre carlos caused us only impression that only spoke English and even German friend wn dialogue and offered us oxtail and various dishes lovely

Helpful?
Thank anton b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish I'd had internet access to read Trip advisor”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was truly awful food in the heart of a busy Spanish town. Don't be fooled by people eating there - avoid !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Emblematic place that goes to worse”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This used to be an emblematic place in Mérida for tapas and beer with friends.
With a taurine atmosphere, the walls inside are plenty of photos framed with the personalities of the bull fighting world, I can say it has an atmosphere. I have been here in many ocassions, and probably the worst of all is their service. They are not efficient and not specially friendly, they do not speak english and do not make any effort to explain to you what every dish is. They all seem to stressed to waste more time than necessary to serve the table. Food is usually O.K, but I have to say that I have lived all the posibilities, from very good to quite bad. Better if you go with locals. I think it depends only on the charge of work they have wich is not professional. The outdoor terrace is the best. Check your bill before paying...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank santiago201011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Benito also viewed

Merida, Province of Badajoz
 
Merida, Province of Badajoz
Merida, Province of Badajoz
 

Been to Casa Benito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing