We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for Tapas and very helpful too”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Entrecanas

Entrecanas
Ranked #5 of 188 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tapa's bar, home-made meals with the best natural products.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic for Tapas and very helpful too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Loved it here. Good food. Great service. Very close to the Roman Arch of Trajan and the parador. Can highly recommend it. Plus, if you need to watch an overseas channel like I wanted to watch some English football, they are able to sort that out too. Great choice of wines. Not massive but they let us taste them to choose our preferred and they were really excellent. Hard choice!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarklavLaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    191
    67
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gijon, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decepcionados”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hude expectation.
Jamon iberico... Regular
Bolsitas de gamba y queso... Sin gamba
Croquetas de espinaca y bacon... Regular
Pork chips w/ bbq sauce... Fatty
Parmesano... Good. Its fries dreadful...
Service slow, unconcerned....

That may be the thing with weds' nights......

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank didier29200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money, super friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had tapas for dinner here twice as well as a few coffees. We met 5 members of staff and every one of them was friendly, helpful and very helpful with my poor Spanish. We even managed to swop a few quick lessons in each others language! Dinner including drinks for two came to around 25 Euros and was always tasty ans well presented. You can't go wrong at Entrecanas!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Thanks Tripadvisor - this was well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Having spent three days eating too much excellent food in Merida, we were looking for something light. We failed, really. Tapas here cost about EUR 2.20 to 2.50 each, but they're substantial. My wife and I had 6 tapas between us, and they were all gorgeous. We deliberately kept it light (roast red pepper salad, stuffed mushrooms, prawn brochetta. Goat's cheese with tomato jam was to die for, but very filling!), but were nearly too full to manage the home made desserts. "3 chocolate mousse" for me, and Tiramisu for my wife. The Tiramisu was almost too much, but we staggered out, comfortably full again. Including four glasses of Tinto de Verano, the bill was just under 30 euros. We could probably have walked away at half that cost, but we'd have missed out on some really lovely food.

Oh - and the restaurant has free wifi - something pretty rare in Merida. The password is a bit esoteric - have a pen and paper to hand if you don't speak spanish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tapas Bonanza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We happened to spot this place on the way back from touring. We noticed it was close to the hotel and had an extensive tapas menu. We didn’t realize that it was highly rated on Trip Advisor. When you walk in it looks like a very modern yuppie bar or corner pizza shop. But you’ll be surprised at the huge tapas menu. And the paper napkin dispenser (ubiquitous in Spain) doesn’t hint at the quality of the food. They don’t just serve potato pie and ham and cheese any way you like it. The waitress spoke little English, but there is an English menu.
You may notice that most of the reviews are from Spanish speakers. I think that’s a good sign. It may be that Merida hasn’t been covered in a lot of tour books or that the restaurant isn’t in the hard-core tourist area. But it may be that locals know besides, it is just near Trajan’s arch and the Temple of Diana. I wish I could remember all the tasty treats we had, but it was almost a whole month ago. (Note to self: take notes.) The two things I remember are Boletus Croquettes which was richly flavored and light on the palette and a Hamburger with Almond Sauce which was powerful. I agree that their food was prepared with modern people in mind: lard free and full of vegetables. No tourists, phew!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Entrecanas also viewed

Merida, Province of Badajoz
Merida, Province of Badajoz
 
Merida, Province of Badajoz
Merida, Province of Badajoz
 
Merida, Province of Badajoz
Merida, Province of Badajoz
 

Been to Entrecanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing