We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm hospitality, excelent food and reasonable prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Juanito

Bar Juanito
Reserve with
Bar Juanito is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Con 70 anos de historia, este restaurante es la herencia de una familia dedicada a la hosteleria y siempre muy entroncada con las costumbres gastronomicas locales donde la tapa y el Jerez eran y son los protagonistas. Su enclave en la singular calle Pescaderia Vieja en el casco antiguo jerezano, permite degustar guisos tradicionales con sabores a Jerez pero con el toque personal de esta casa, entre ellos las famosas alcachofas, galardonadas con el primer premio nacional de tapas, todo esto junto a una cuidada bodega de vinos y brandies de Jerez.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality, excelent food and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were two couples. The patio was full but they immediatly prepared an additional table for us. Service was excelent and the recommendations very useful, especially with wine. All the dishes we tried were well made and tasty. With the desserts, they invited us to a Pedro Ximenez sweet wine. Price did not reach 20 euro/person. If you go to Jerez, don't miss it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mame_y_Manolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    243
    95
    36
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
E.Yorks.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good selection of tapas but unfriendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Visited this place several times over last few years. It is a pleasure to make your selections from the long list of tapas and most of them are good and authentic, using local ingredients. I particulary enjoyed the artichokes and meatballs in sherry The downside is the unfriendly service bordering on arrogant if you are not Spanish with some of the waiters wrongly assuming that tourists do not speak any Spanish. Even though we ordered in Spanish too! Indeed, service is notably better for those who are local.
Entonces un servicio mas acogedor y quizas con una sonrisa, incluso para los turistas, y la experiencia de tapear aqui seria mucho mas agradable.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amuse-bouche20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic and original selection of tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice place with friendly service. First time in Andalucia that we found original dishes on the menu and not the same old, same old. Tried out 6 different medio raciones, some we liked beter than other, but I could tell that they were all prepared with quality ingredients. Recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank clairenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Learn how to not treat guests”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Highly overrated place. After reading a lot of recommandations we were really looking forward to visit this place. What a deception. After being welcomed friendly, the waiter found out we were not spanish. That was the end of our service.. Food was nothing special, the duck tasted as if it was cooked for 5 hrs.
One positive point: the 'postres' were taken by another waiter that was very friendly. Really hope he is the one serving you when visiting..

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jvanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A most disappointing evening.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had high expectations after eating here a few years ago. We now live in Jerez. This evening we took the family over from the UK for a family supper. Oh dear, what a disappointing evening and supper. The staff were excellent but the meal was poor. The oxtail was bland and very disappointing (try the Asador near the Equestrian Centre for superb oxtail) the kidneys were really overcooked, and my grandson's steak was tasteless. On the plus side the boquerones were excellent as was the choco. I actually felt very sorry for the staff who were very good. Such a shame, but we will not be going back!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_Smith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Juanito also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Bar Juanito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing