We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Group on a Cold Winter's Night”
Review of Meson del Asador

Meson del Asador
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place for Group on a Cold Winter's Night”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Meson del Asador is both a great place for a hearty, meaty meal and as a stop on a tapas-hop. The roasted meats are delicious, accompanied by delicious hearty fair, like fresh potatoes fried in olive oil, with sea salt -- french fries the way they were meant to be done. The atmosphere is rustic and cheery, and will warm your spirits as well as you belly. Wash it al down with a hearty Rioja, and you'll have a memorable evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    132
    40
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had lunchtime tapas and an evening meal here yesterday.

We sat outside for the tapas and despite it being very busy the service was good. We had three tapas which was plenty for two and which was served with home made bread.

We arrived at 8.40 pm for our evening meal which is early for Spanish diners but it is a good job we did as all the inside seats were taken shortly afterwards with others waiting for tables.

For starters we had baby broad beans with jamon (one between two of us) and it was fabulous. For our main course I had the chicken kebab which had lots of meat on it and was served with their lovely potato chips. My husband had cod in batter which he had to send back because it arrived cold on the inside but when we mentioned it to the waiter it was quickly replaced, piping hot and delicious. The meal was again served with rustic home made bread.

A good variety of starters and mains to choose from and they have a menu in English if you prefer it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Grill restaurant”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I went to this restaurant to have a grilled entrecote. I came very late (23.30) and was given a table. It is a vey busy place but a little too industrial for me. Service was quick and efficient but not very friendly. The bad thing was, that the steak was tough and dry. I will give it another chance in the bar. The tapas looked good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tayacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't order too much”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Went here following recommendation by locals. There was no room on the terrace so we had tapas and drinks at the bar. Excellent meat dishes with large tapas portions and good friendly ambience. Recommend the oxtail and the pork and beef fillets washed down by a superb brandy. Returned a couple of evenings later again enjoyed the food but preferred the more informal bar atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alnum9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“True Spanish Cuisine and Value for Money”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went there many times during my stay in Jerez. Only locals almost are visiting this family restaurant. The owner and his daughter are always there, running and working hard. The atmosphere is very much family style and always busy. The tapas are incredibly well prepared. The favorites here are the fresh potato chips and the pimiento sauce. You can have a great rojoa gran reserve for under 25 euro per bottle. The service is quick and nimble, the bread orderly refilled and its just so much of spanish flair with a mouthwaring selection of jamon iberico!

must visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christoph1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson del Asador also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Meson del Asador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing