We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost worthy of five stars but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vita Palmera Plaza

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Vita Palmera Plaza
Birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Almost worthy of five stars but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

I really wanted to give this hotel five stars as it is a wonderful building in a great location however a couple of things lost it that last star!

Starting with the good points the hotel is situated in an old bodega which means there are impressive buildings, and gorgeous gardens, the hotel also has a decent sized pool that retains the sun well into the evening. Our ground floor room was large and clean with all the amenities you would expect (TV, fridge, safe etc) plus a private terrace complete with table and chairs. The location of the hotel is also a plus, it is a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of Jerez and is next to the Sandeman Bodega and Real Escuela de Arte Ecuestre, We found the reception staff to be friendly and helpful on the few occasions we needed to book a taxi.

There are however a few things that keep Prestige Palmera from being a five star hotel. The room, although clean did look a little rough around the edges (see pictures with review) and the lack of a shower curtain made for a very slippy floor in the bathroom! Perhaps we visited during a particularly quiet time but the hotel seemed almost deserted, this was great for getting a spot by the pool but also meant that the restaurant and pool bar were never open and that members of staff were often hard to find. On one occasion we visited the bar at 8pm only to find a sign telling us that we had to ring reception for service, a waiter arrived about 10mins later only to tell us that the menu was not available and the only food we could order was a sandwich - not what you would expect for a five star hotel.

If you are expecting five star service you may be dissapointed by Prestige Palmera but if (like us) you appreciate a great location, beautiful grounds and a decent pool then you could do a lot worse than this hidden gem!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    50
    38
    17
    15
See reviews for
27
127
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

A wonderful hotel, à short walk from the old town. The pool is Nice and big, the surronding garden à bit crowded in the afternoon. Lovely big rooms with fantastic beds and small balconies overlooking the garden. Love this hotel, our second stay and will come back again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The room and bathroom were comfortable, and the swimming pool was great. But the hotel doesn't give you the cared-for feeling that a 5 star hotel should give, in our experience. Breakfast was poor (not much choice, and the yoghurt was off), food in the pool bar even worse (heated in the microwave, but not enough: chicken still partly frozen and rice undercooked). If you didn't speak Spanish, you often had to wait a long time at the reception, since only part of the staff spoke any English.
The location isn't great either: a more or less run down street, neither quiet nor in the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NetherlandsSabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We passed the hotel twice not obvious where the entrance was bit annoying after travlling so far . Any way it was a beautiful location the hotel was v good and v presentable the area was nice and near to the sea would go back prefered this to Seville ! it can be a challenge to find staff sometimes

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazz4662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed at this hotel last weekend, and were disappointed to find the restaurant was closed, and no bar was available save for a small counter bar which serviced the pool where you could ring for someone to come and serve a drink if no staff around,which there were not! Variable breakfast - but only poor or average, and dreadful coffee, sometimes available from inefficient machine and other times from a pot - coffee lukewarm! Disinterested, bored staff. Charged 12 euros per day for car park despite this being on site. A sign of the poor economic times perhaps, but we felt we were very poorly served at this hotel and I would not recommend it other than as a business stopover. Receptionist recommended restaurant where staff tried to overcharge us by 50 euros!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiekennar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

We visited the Prestige Palmera Plaza for our honeymoon during the Feria del Caballo 2011 (early May). The horse fair grounds are easily walkable from this hotel, in fact, we walked everywhere from the hotel. We even walked to the Alcazar (fortress) from here, though it is not close. It is, however, very close to the Royal Andalusian School of Equestrian Art and the Sandeman sherry bodega.
The room that we stayed in was very big and the bathroom was fantastic, with double sinks, a tub alongside a standing shower, and a separate partitioned area for the toilet. The mirrored wardrobe in the hallway was large, so all of our clothes and shoes fit nicely. The small balcony was a nice touch. We stood outside on the narrow balcony in the evenings with a glass of sherry at hand. The balcony is not, however, big enough to sit out there.
We purchased the package that includes breakfast, and we were pleased with the breakfast that was offered at the hotel.
The staff were welcoming and helpful. When we asked for a recommendation for a restaurant the recommended a nice place for dinner, made a reservation for us, called us a cab, and paid for our cab ride to the restaurant. The cleaning staff was thorough and friendly. The turn down service at the hotel was charming (leaving chocolates on the bed was a cute touch).
The pool area was small but well-kept, and we enjoyed being able to sit out in the sun on the lounge chairs. The pool was clean and clear.
The grounds are very nice, with many plantings.
The hotel is listed on the “Sherry Wine and Brandy of Jerez Urban Route”, per a plaque outside the hotel. The tourism board places plaques outside of many sites in Jerez.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeltriGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

The hotel is a bit old, but is very well maintained: the gardens, the pool, etc.

We had the suite 404, the biggest one. It's like a big apartment, with walk-in closet, beautiful room and nice seating area with a big table for 8 people. The most beautiful part is the private (incredibly big) terrace. It must be 100 square meters.
How beautiful to enjoy a glass of wine or sangria in the evening on this immense terrace. There is even a shower on it...
The only problem: the bathroom smells badly! They definitely have to clean the hydraulic lines.. The fridge didn't not work well, was not cold enough.

The breakfast is incredibly good: they have a very big choice of food, fresh fruits and of course the jamon serrano. Don't miss the breakfast there. Nothing better to start a morning!

2 computers with internet for free are available for the customers at the entrance.

At the reception they are very friendly: for example when you arrive the say “Bienvenido/Welcome”. It sounds common and stupid today, but this means that they are professional! How many hotels do they still say Welcome when you arrive?

They have a parking, too.

Location: in the centre of Jerez de la frontera. You don't need a car to move in the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#6 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palacio Garvey Hotel
Palacio Garvey Hotel
#7 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#5 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#3 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Guadalete
Hotel Exe Guadalete
#16 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vita Palmera Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vita Palmera Plaza

Property: Hotel Vita Palmera Plaza
Address: Calle Pizarro 1-3, 11403 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain (Formerly Kross Palmera Plaza)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Vita Palmera Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Prestige Palmera Plaza Hotel Jerez De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing