We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would suit business or pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Jerez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Jerez
Certificate of Excellence
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would suit business or pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Staff were very friendly and professional. Room was very nice. The bar was pleasantly stocked. And the bath was a whirlpool one that worked for a change. Parking is tight for anything large ie van type. But staff were very helpful and got me sorted.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank willoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    101
    36
    14
    5
See reviews for
72
237
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hungerford
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I want to rate this place a 5 but a couple of things let it down. Lets start with the great - the staff were wonderful - couldn't do enough for us. We walked in and had sherry in our hands in under two minutes! The lovely man on reception took us through map after map pointing out where to go. Really great.
The room was beautiful - we had a junior suite with a lovely balcony and a bed bigger than I have ever seen!
So what let it down - two things really - the restaurant was closed and we hadn't been told about that before we arrived. We like to eat out at lunch time and have something in the hotel at night so this was an issue for us. They offered to taxi us free of charge to their sister hotel up the road - but not really what we were after.
The gym was really non existent - we both like to exercise daily so again, whilst they offered to let us use the sister hotels amenities this wasn't what we were after. I would suggest they tell people before they book ( having said that we wouldn't have gone there if we had known there was no restaurant)

Overall I'd love to go back. The hotel is 20 min walk from the centre, but its a nice walk, or there are 3 buses to hop on - 4,16 or 17 and get off outside the library and walk for a few minutes. Or the cabs are very cheap.

Please take time to go to Cadiz ( we went on the train) really well worth seeing. The Tio Pepe tour was also excellent

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatwhitewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The front of house staff and the waiting staff are really delightful at this lovely hotel which has real character. It is about a 12 minute walk from the downtown area. I spent my birthday there and they gave me a bottle of cava to celebrate. It was so appreciated. They have their own car park, a swimming pool (which we could not use as we were there in January!), loungers for lying by the pool, a terrace with chairs and tables, a small gym and a garden.

Would definitely recommend this if you need a hotel in Jerez.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gower, Wales
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights mid December after visiting Gibraltar for a friends wedding. This is our 2nd visit and wanted to come back as we had such a nice stay last time (2 yrs ago). Well, we were not disappointed, the hotel is just as lovely and Mr.Paco gave us the same room as last time too.
We had more time during this visit to do some sightseeing and I would thoroughly recommend the Royal Andalusian School for training of their horses. I am not into horses, but it was very interesting and on our next return visit, plan on seeing the show itself.
Another tour I would recommend is the sherry tour of Bodega Tradicion. Not cheap, 20 euros each, but well worth it. It's a small bodega and you get some very nice sherry and brandy tastings at the end.
Back to the hotel, bedroom and bathroom are large and well equipped. Comfortable and quiet at night. We did have some problems with a noisy barking dog during one late afternoon, but we told the receptionist who made a phone call and then it all went quiet.
Breakfast this time around was a bit of a disappointment. The hotel was very quiet and there wasn't much choice on the buffet table. Bread was slightly stale. On top of this I think the waiter was a trainee. First day at breakfast we just had 2 fried eggs, nothing else. I expected toast, bacon, sausage etc. 2nd day, we asked for eggs and bacon as well, but this time they arrived cold. 3rd day, as we were leaving early we didn't bother with breakfast!
Breakfast 2 yrs ago was much better, but it was only in June and hotel was busy with plenty of staff.
Staff at the hotel are very pleasant and very helpful. They advised and helped us with our two tours above.
We still want to return and hope to do so soon when the weather is nicer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighthouse2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have been staying in the hotel pretty much off season - in december. The hotel was almost empty, but that made the stay even better - there was no rush, everyone had time to chat a bit and were super-friendly.
The staff: we were moved by all of the people working in Villa Jerez. It started off when we arrived, and not only got welcomed with a glass of sherry, but also were given a map of Jerez and all the interesting spots straight away. As we said that we would like to travel around, we were also provided with a list of places worth visiting, a map and everything else we needed. We have booked a trip with LMX Touristik, and it turned out that in their opinion a room for three adults is a room for two with an additional, not too comfortable bed. But when we came to Mr. Paco, from the hotel, and said that the extra bed was not suited for an adult he took a great care to fix what the trip reseller messed up: we had the bed changed, and later offered a bigger room. We were astonished how seriously and carefully our concerns were treated.
The rooms:
The rooms are very pretty. Everything is clean, rustic style. The bathrooms have a bathtub and a shower, are spacious and nice. Beds are comfortable. All rooms have nice big windows, and are light. You get the bathrobes and slippers, so that you feel comfortable.
Breakfasts: We had only breakfasts at the hotel, but they were very nice. You get a choice of cereals, milk, yogurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, fruits, selection of cheese and hams. Several types of bread and buns. You can ask for freshly prepared eggs, bacon, sausages, grilled veggies. Everything is tasty and fresh. Great food, and the breakfast room is sooooo pretty:)
Overall: The hotel is amazing! We were treated like kings, and experience was one of the best we ever had (traveling quite a lot for business and pleasure). Unlike in the huge hotels like Radisson, or Hilton's here every person is treated as a guest of honor, and all requests are immediately realized. We will happily come over and over again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place is not 5 stars.


The relation to the accomodation stars for this place is best compared with S&P and AM Bests banks products ratings in 2009 ....... Way off the mark.

If this is 5 stars then Ibis is 5 stars and a Westin in saville, for example, must be 17 ...... Obviously 17 does not exist and neither does an official rating for this hotel existing I would guess as of 19th November

Arrival : outside of building looks fine. Good location (ish) and good parking. Fairy well maintained

Lobby : looking chaotic but perhaps what you'd forgive a more back water location to be like

Staff : very energetic. Very friendly and really they would be benefitted with the hotel owner/chain renovating the place and giving their level of service a fitting background.

Landing area (1st floor) : hazard tape stuck to top step of stairs. Not a 5 star fixture. 80's carpets lounge chair

Room : disaster ..... This is no 5 star. This is closest to what I would rank 2 star if that but I don't know what a 2 star is but generally every BnB I've stayed has been far better. The room is from the 80's. Kitsch colors and warn furniture. Dreadful spring beds that slump in the middle. Marble grey/white tiles that have stains on the floor. The bathroom. Spa bath? Holy crappola thats old and dated and you wouldn't want to sit in there unless you wanted to stare at the mold along the seems. Basically it's well past it's use by date

Grounds : nice grounds and like the comment regards outside its fine. The inside is the time warp

Breakfast : everyone has there own taste but this is sub par ..... It's more like what you can imagine a benefits hotel breakfast would be like in the uk


All in I would never recommend anyone to stay here though I checked again the Jerez accomodations to see WHY I booked this ( as we did NOT want a BnB ) and I remembered because it was the 'best of a bad bunch'. All the hotels seem to have the same 'dated' review comments and perhaps that sums up what Jerez is. Dated as a place.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Jerez. Consider it as a long day trip from saville
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsanudo, Gerente at Hotel Villa Jerez, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback, the hotel Villa Jerez is a 5* boutique Hotel that meets all the services, facilities acording to regulations and legislation.

All the hotel team works hard to provide the best customer care and service, we always ask the guests to inform us of any inconvenience during the stay and try to fix it.

Thank you very much

Juan Sañudo
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff couldn't do enough to ensure that our stay was comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble and from the welcoming glass of sherry to putting our suitcases in the car, we felt really cared for. Well done to all the staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alfiemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
1.0 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#3 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#5 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#8 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palacio Garvey Hotel
Palacio Garvey Hotel
#7 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Jerez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Jerez

Property: Hotel Villa Jerez
Address: Avenida Cruz Roja 7, 11407 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#3 Family Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#4 Business Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Jerez 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Jerez is an old Jerez mansion refurbished as a 5* boutique hotel in the city centre of Jerez de la Frontera, strategically located just a few minutes from the REAAE and the Trade Fair Centre. The hotel has 18 rooms, 14 superior doubles and 4 Junior Suites, all facing outdoors with views of the garden or swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villa Jerez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerez Hotel De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing