We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Coloso - an excellent base”
Review of El Coloso

El Coloso
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Coloso
Reviewed August 17, 2006

I stayed at the Coloso during the time of the Jerez horse festival, Spring 2006 with a friend. It was very well located, a few minutes walk from the old centre of Jerez, near the main street and local to lots of bars and restaurants that were not overpriced. The main bus stops were again just a few minutes away.

The hotel is basic, but very clean, the actual room was quite compact, we had two twin beds which were very comfortable, however, the en-suite bathroom was very large, with a bath and shower and had obviously just been renovated. The people working there were all very helpful and friendly, one of the girls speaks a small amount of english although most of them only spoke Spanish.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel as there was a lovely bar around the corner where you could sit in the sunlight and have toast, coffee, croissants, and the best freshly squeezed orange juice!

The Tapas in Jerez is excellent - having travelled all over Spain this is a good compliment!!

The horse festival itself is run each year over two weeks - we went for the first week and it is excellent, but obviuosly very busy - not with tourists though just mainly spaniards which is really nice.

The people in Jerez are very friendly and polite - I was still walking with crutches after suffering a broken leg and they always gave up a seat on the bus even when it was packed!

A must is the spanish riding school - but you must book in advance on the internet - otherwise you will a) not get in b) stand in a queue for tickets for over an hour in the blazing heat.

We also went to Cadiz - you can get there by train from Jerez but we took a cab - the old town is nice to walk around and the beach is amazing - it is so big it would never get crowded.

I would highly recommend the Coloso as a small friendly budget hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank matty'sgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Alfonso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank vcanorojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Aleida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Isa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andreschroeder14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusoFaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nova Centro
Hotel Nova Centro
#20 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
#9 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#5 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Blanca
Hotel Dona Blanca
#15 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nuevo Hotel
Nuevo Hotel
#16 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Serit
Hotel Serit
#24 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Coloso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Coloso

Address: Calle Pedro Alonso 13, 11402 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range: $41 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Coloso 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Coloso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Coloso Hotel Jerez De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing