We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent introduction to Jerez”

Camara Oscura Alcazar Jerez de la Frontera
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.78*
and up
Jerez History and Art Walking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to Jerez”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Alcazhar on a Monday which meant we only had to pay a small fee to see the camera obscura, seeing the rest of the Alcazhar was free. Both the lady who greeted us and the guide who demonstrated the camera obscura were very helpful and spoke good English. We visited shortly after opening and enjoyed the peacefulness wandering around as there were only a few other tourists at this time before a louder group of Spanish tourists arrived. The pharmacy and olive press as well as the Roman baths were interesting. The demonstration of the camera obscura was in English by a knowledgeable guide who made the experience very interesting, whilst I am sure she had explained this many times it felt fresh and not just a rehearsed script. She made Jerez come alive and I feel this would be a perfect start to anyone visiting Jerez as following the panoramic visual tour tourists could then go and visit some of the sites viewed. Many thanks to our lovely guide.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyRoughDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    60
    16
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Inside the Alcazar, or castle, we discovered our first ever camara oscura - a clever and ancient device to view the area from afar. It was very cool. The castle makes for a good visit with kids too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
278 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“OK but old fashioned technology that failed to impress.”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

It was OK but old fashioned technology that failed to impress. We were lucky enough to arrived at the Alcazar on a Monday and a special price was on offer (about 5€ for 2 of us). Basically you are in a darkened room looking at live images of the city through a series of mirrors and lenses. As the person operating the equipment rotates around the city, the image rotates as well, so you see the images upside down some of the time unless there are so few attendees you can walk around with the image movement. It lasted around 10 - 15 minutes which was long enough! It was worth the 5€ just. Not sure how much it is on other days. The Alcazar itself was far more interesting.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Camera Oscura well worth a visit”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went to see the Camera Oscura after our visit to Alcazar Jerez and found it very interesting. The guide was well informed and spoke good English. You have to book a time to go and there are not to many people so you get an uninterrupted view. It was a beautiful day so the visibility was excellent. There were other things to look at in the building, portraits and a very interesting display of old pharmaceutical equipment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrishCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Brief but fun”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

You have to book a time to go to see the Camera Oscura because it's operated by one of the staff who uses it to point out places of interest around the Alcazar in Jerez. While you're waiting to go in there are interesting cabinets featuring antique medical and pharmaceutical equipment.

Overall it's interesting but don't lose any sleep if you don't manage to get to it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank musketeer1645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camara Oscura Alcazar Jerez de la Frontera also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Camara Oscura Alcazar Jerez de la Frontera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing