We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy week 2013 GREAT HOTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hipotels Sherry Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

WE could not have asked fo a better hotel in Jerez de La Frontera. It is walking distance from most everything. IT has free parking, Wi-fi in the rooms, Very upscale nice rooms. The best breakfast in Spain. If you visit Jerez try to eat at Gaitan. You can walk there. They have a personal wine cellar you can visit. he rooms prices are very affordable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizCMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hipotels Hotel Sherry Park for 3 nights in March and it was a very underwhelming experience. The main reason for visiting Jerez was due to the fact that we had to visit a friend at the Flight Training School at the airport. As we had to use a car everyday, free parking was the main requirement when selecting hotels.

We normally stay at 5 star hotels, however due to the lack of 5 star hotels in Jerez, we decided on the Sherry Park as there was free parking available.

The hotel itself is located about 15 minutes walk away from the old town, so it is not completely central. Parking meant more to us than convenience so we were fine with that.

We knew from reading reviews here on Tripadvisor that the Sherry Park was not going to be a Four Seasons, but it still let us down a bit. There are so many “Excellent”-rated reviews on this site that I do not understand. This is a very basic 4 star hotel, probably closer to 3 stars. If you have stayed at decent 4 and 5 star hotels before, this hotel is going to let you down.

The lobby and the common areas are decent and the hotel has both indoor and outdoor pools which is great. The rooms however are a different matter… They are tiny, dark, stuffed with too much furniture and old dirty carpets. They do not have double beds, but instead two single beds have been pushed together. There’s nothing nicer than the 2 beds suddenly separating in the middle of the night leaving a big gap between us… The room does not come with a coffee/tea maker, which I thought was standard even for 3 star hotels. Don’t even get me started on the elevators, which we nicknamed the “deathtrap” as they are ancient and you never quite knew if you would make it out alive.

The bathrooms are alright, nothing fancy but clean and fairly new. The towels however are flimsy and have been washed one too many times, and the amenities are crap. Make sure you bring your own products if you are fussy like us. The hotel provides a hairdryer in every room.

On a positive note, besides the free parking the hotel did have free in room WIFI and a balcony which is great if you are a smoker. However, if it rains you will get wet on the balcony as there are leaks in the ceiling. The staff was also fairly nice and their English was acceptable.

As mentioned here on Tripadvisor, the hotel is overrun with tour groups consisting of elderly travelers that make quite a ruckus down in the bar/restaurant at night. They all seem to enjoy this hotel thoroughly (perhaps they are the ones awarding this hotel “Excellent”-ratings on the site??).

We had breakfast once at the hotel for EUR 10 and it was very average-ish. You can order eggs of your choice from the egg station, although my scrambled eggs were cooked to oblivion. The chef will use the same hot plate to make eggs, bacon, pancakes – you name it! It all adds to the flavor I guess, but too bad if you are a Muslim. The breakfast also included various cold cuts, fruits, breads, pastries, juices which were ok.

Our expectations were not very high and they were unfortunately not quite met by the hotel. It was alright for us as a place to sleep at night, and most importantly it had free parking. However I do have a feeling that this hotel is probably of a high standard in Jerez but I would never give this hotel an “Excellent”-rating on Tripadvisor!

A little tip if you have a car and have time, take a drive to Faro, Portugal which is about 3 hours away on the Algarve Coast. What a nice city!

Room Tip: All rooms are crappy but try to get one facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KennyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is advertised as 5 minutes from the centre of Jerez - only if you have a car!
The coffee in the dining room was undrinkable.
In the bar, the choice of wine was " white, red or rose" from Rene Barbier. No proper wine list was offered or suggested. These were not to our taste.
Mini bar only had soft drinks and 2 beers.
Overall, not up to 4 star status to my mind.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FolkestoneFoxylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent a few days in this hotel. The rooms are standard, clean, quiet. Breakfast was good. I did not use the restaurant. It is pleasant to spend some time in a hotel bar to have a glass of wine or beer. The staff is friendly and mostly helpful. The only disadvantage is just few of them speaks other language than Spanish.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkarlikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here with a couple of friends for a week's golfing in Feb 2013. The hotel looks impressive and is conveniently located an easy stroll from the town centre. Also it has plenty of parking which is free for guests (unlike some other city centre hotels). The staff were friendly and efficient without exception. My room was clean and comfortable and not at all cramped, with a balcony and overlooking the pool. The only downsides were that my room had clearly been occupied previously by a smoker (is that stilll allowed in Spain?), the lack of tea/coffee facilities in the room (but not untypical of Spain) and some very loud and slightly drunken guests returning from a festival at 3.30am one night.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking teh pool which was very good and away from any traffic noise. Ask if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Sherry Park is not just another large corporate hotel. There is great individuality, service and value for money.
The buffet breakfast is great, the on site restaurant is also very good and the location is great if you are driving a car.
A 10 minute walk takes you into the start of the main shopping street in Jerez, plus you are even closer to the horses.
All in all a lovely relaxing place to spend a few days. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-L-Haki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is very nice with a nice bar area, outdoor tables for breakfast and lunch and a nice and clean pool with plenty of lounges around. The room itself was nice as well, the only thing is that it was quite small, smaller than I expected for a town like Jerez where land should be cheaper, but we did not spend too much time in there. The balcony was also a nice area to have breakfast. The location of the hotel was a bit far from the center of the town, but there was a nightclub on the corner and the hotel can call a taxi for you. The service at the hotel was pretty good and when I told them it was for my boyfriend's birthday ad ordered a bottle of champagne to be waiting for us, they threw in a free fruit basket. In all we would definitely stay here again if we ever visit Jerez again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firestarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.4 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#5 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
989 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#7 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#2 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eurostars Asta Regia
Eurostars Asta Regia
#6 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Avenida Jerez
NH Avenida Jerez
#10 of 31 in Jerez De La Frontera
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Sherry Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Sherry Park

Address: Avenida Alcalde Alvaro Domecq 11, 11407 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range: $62 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Sherry Park 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HIPOTELS Sherry Park, a 4-star hotel for holidays or business trips in Jerez de la Frontera, Cádiz with a pool and special discounts for golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hipotels Sherry Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing