We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good pool & service - just a bit out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Exe Guadalete
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Stayed here for a break with my wife and to take in the MotGP. Very expensive that weekend but room rates much better after that. Pool area enclosed and really nice - not busy at all. Bar good but shuts pretty early. Breakfast not worth it (use the bar opposite) and restaurant not up to much - better food nearby and in town centre.

Bit of a walk to the town 25-30 minutes but if you want a cppol and free wireless then it's ok.

Really liked Jerez and would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisuHertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 399 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2008

We stayed for a week in October 2008 and, if we visit Jerez again we would probably stay at the Guadalete. As has already been said it's a little far from the centre of town to be really convenient but if you don't mind a 20-30 minute stroll then it's fine ( and there are two good reataurants- the Gaitan and the Mesa Redonda much closer).

Our main complaint was breakfast. At €12 it's not cheap and the 'hot' choices always seemed to be cold. The fresh orange juice machine always seemed to be playing up and the staff left the guests more or less to their own devices.

Other than that we didn't find much to complain about, friendly and efficient reception, comfortable bar, good room service, efficient air conditioning.

We were happy with our choice of hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-David-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

a nice hotel , we had a lovely room overlooking the lovely pool area, breakfast was ok and served till 11 am
we never ate in the restaurant,but just up the road 5 mins are a few nice restaurants for lunch etc and there is a supermarket here too
my only moan was . its a little far from the main town in reality 20 minutes i would say to the edge of the town,but i am lazy, up side is cabs are really quick and cheap
pool was a bit chilly for me but lovely and quiet and relaxing place
any more info please feel free to e-mail me scouse20@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Nothing really special about this hotel.

The pool area, as other reviews have said, is quite nice. But it's nothing spectacular. And, at least during our visit in September, was generally too cold and shaded to enjoy (despite the hot air temperature). Even the jacuzzi was cold. Plus, the pool area closed at 8pm, so it wasn't somewhere we could go to relax after a day in town or on the road.

Location is a bit of a hike from the central part of town, but not too bad (though, we're fairly young and enjoy walking). Parking and traffic in Jerez are a bit crazy, so it was worth the 15-20 minute walk for us.

Lots of little problems.
Despite what it says on signs throughout the hotel, there is actually no gym facility.
AC was sketchy.
Pillows were very thin. We were able to request additional ones, but then the housekeepers would keep taking them away.
Parking was a challenge, as there are very few spots in front of the hotel.
Food choices (and restaurant hours) were limited.
And so on and so on.

Not a horrible place, but enough small issues for me to go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bryancanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Our expectations weren't high when we booked rooms at £48 for the first weekend in August.
Stacks of good stuff to report - Just a short walk to see the famous horses and only 4 euros for a cab into the heart of town. Eay to find and park. Helpful staff (although few on the ground). Fabulous pool area a great respite from the heat of the afternoon. Bar/reception has lots of comfy seating and brand glasses the size of gold fish bowls!
Average stuff - Overall a little dated - but clean. Rooms not oversized but we asked for and got interconnecting. Lunch menu was basic but reasonable.
Poor - no views to speak of except for the pool and breakfast was really expensive so we ate out!
Overall - a fab choice for a summer stay especially if pool and parking are important.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karenborsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

very nice hotel ,bed room very good clean and airy ,good size bathroom
breakfast in a very pleasnt settetings ,good choice ,but a little over priced at 12 euros per person
swimming pool area cant find fault
only down side no tea /coffie facilitis in the bedroom ,and no complimentary water
once you get your bearings you are fairly near some bars ,supermarkets

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joey023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

This was a very nice hotel. The reception is grand and the reception staff extremely helpful and polite. Our room was very clean and cleaned every day (even if we left the room quite late), with good facilities - tv, mini-bar, hair-dryer etc. Although our aircon didn't work (we didn't query this and it was not needed, but I'm sure they would have assisted us if we'd asked). The restaurant for food and drink was very reasonably priced. And the breakfast had a very good variation...cereals, ham/
cheese, croissants, bacon/egg/sausage, fruit, fresh orange juice etc. The pool and garden area looked very nice although it was to cool to use at this time of year. The main centre was about 15mins walk away. Overall very pleased, and we paid a lot less for booking on-line (£46/nt) than the walk-in price (about £80/nt). Thank you - Loved Hotel and Jerez.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank we_like_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerez De La Frontera
0.3 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#4 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
1,005 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#5 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
931 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Hotel Jerez & Spa
#7 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
#8 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Avenida Jerez
NH Avenida Jerez
#10 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
523 reviews
24.8 mi away
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri Hotels
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri H...
#5 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exe Guadalete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe Guadalete

Address: Avenida Duque de Abrantes 84, 11407 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain (Formerly Hotel Guadalete)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range: $45 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe Guadalete 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Guadalete Exe is a hotel, as well as a business and events center, located in Jerez de la Frontera. It has a pool, a sun terrace and other options for rest and relaxation, along with a variety of restaurants. The hotel has meeting rooms, swimming pools, tropical gardens and a restaurant, and it is specialized in events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Exe Guadalete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalete Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing