We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel, but not a 5 star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jerez & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Jerez & Spa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A nice hotel, but not a 5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel was a nice way to blow off steam and relax but I think that i will have to agree with many people about its star status. The outdoor pool was absolutely amazing added to that, the room exited onto a patio with direct access to the pool. The front desk staff at check in was quite friendly and for the most part there was no language barriers. The downsides that I saw were the fitness area was sweltering hot, with the most minimal equipment. I would have expected much more out of a 5 star hotel but got what I would have expected from a 2 star. The service in the hotel bar was far from desirable, including waiting 20 minutes at the bar for a drink while there was only 1 other person sitting there at the bar. Overall, I think the hotel was nice but I think its downfalls definitely make it at the most a 3 star. *giving a 4 rating purely for the pool and the room not counting the service... they truly were amazing*

Room Tip: poolside balcony rooms on ground level, Best rooms in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cryptonic84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    211
    97
    32
    12
See reviews for
90
228
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here in early June, so the hotel was relatively quiet, the 5 of us there all got a sun lounger everyday right by the pool, which is an Oasis! The staff were very friendly, and the food and drinks available were lovely also. The hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from the town centre but the buses and taxis were only a couple of euro.
The rooms decor is slightly dated, but the beds are comfy and the balconies on the garden view room we had was very nice.
Me and the boyfriend have just booked to go away again in 8 weeks, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Garden view room, lovely view and if you are on the lower floor you have access to the garden off yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoniaClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
444 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. The lobby is dated! The breakfast is complete rip off. The wireless is useless. The front desk are pretentious and arrogant. The worst part of our stay was the smell of the room. We requested a non smoking room and when we arrived at the first room they assigned us i barely walked into the room and was hit with the overwhelming smell of cigarette smoke as if someone was smoking right in front of me. I quickly asked to moved to another non smoking room and even though it was not as bad as the first room it was still disgusting. I asked if they had rooms that people had not smoked in sometime within the last month and the desk clerk told me that even though they are assigned as non smoking rooms there was nothing that they could do about someone smoking in the rooms. My only statement was how do the majority of other 4 and 5 star hotels enforce it.

Do not stay here unless you have to visit this city and every other hotel is sold out. Our clothes and luggage smelled of smoke for at least two days. Thank god we were able to have our clothes washed a couple days later.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mindful_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

"nice hotel" but only 4 star in my opinion, had to stay here following a cancelled flight recently when iberia were on strike, rooms very noisy, walls thin for sure, sparsely decorated, handle of patio broken, toiletries few and far between,dinner was very nice but not 5 star, service average, didnt stand out as 5 star maybe all this was only because iberia were paying for it, however i feel this shouldn't matter at all.
Im afraid if i was given a choice of 5 star places i would choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW ENGLAND
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here just last week. It was a business/pleasure trip and so we didn't spend much time during the day in the Hotel.

Our room was a standard room. We didn't use the Spa so I can't comment but the beds were amongst the most comfortable I've slept in for quite some time. For breakfast there was the usual selection of continental and cooked food. The cooked food was kept warm very well - in some hotels this is a problem.

The staff were most accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The air conditioning/heating seemed a little stuck in our room and was on the cold side but not enough to complain.

The grounds of the hotel are quite lovely and the swimming pool in warmer times looks most inviting.

The location of the hotel is in the garden district in the Northern part of the city and not really walking distance into the centre of Jerez. A taxi was around 8 euros and I did see buses, but we didn't use them.

My only criticism is they need to upgrade the internet access in a BIG way. The WIFI is free but even at 1am was pretty useless and reminded me of 'dial up' days. There is no connectivity via a cable in the rooms so WIFI is all you have.

However, WIFI aside, a solid 4 star (UK standard) Hotel with most pleasant staff in beautiful surroundings - I would stay again definitely.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room overlooking the tennis court and it was fine. I suppose in Summer rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Huntley_Jacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
235 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed as a large corporate group and were treated by the staff so poorly most of us complained. The bartender each night (not just one) ignored most of us(and we were civil!)and only seemed to help the ladies a little faster. The dining area was absolutely no different. Careful what you order--they will forget something that was supposed to be on the plate. The location was not ideal if you were without transport and the only saving grace was the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to watch the amazing dancing horses of the Royal Andalucian Riding School. The hotel was ideally situated close to the school.
Unfortunately it is about a 20 minute walk into the old town of Jerez,and with all the great tapas and sherry to drink you don 't want to take your car.
The rooms were clean and large if a bit frayed around the edges.
The heating was overpowering in the room and with no real controls.The weather was stormy and muggy so even opening the windows we could not cool the room down.
The staff were very good, and the bar area had a good atmosphere.
Dinner was nice but a bit expensive,some friends had got a special deal with half-board which saved them about £100.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsanudo, Director General at Hotel Jerez & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your feed back that I share with hotel team we apreciate very much for sure will help us to improve our services and facilities.
Some tips for other travelers, at hotel front door you can get a direct bus to city center and to the horse show and back single fare 1,10 € enjoy sherry wine and tapas and forget car troubles, we have very spacious car park free and safe ( further information will be provided at front desk)
Please visit our web site to find out special deals and exclusive offers.

Thank you very much, we look forward to wellcome you back soon.

Best regards

Juan Sañudo
GM
Hotel Jerez and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.6 mi away
Hipotels Sherry Park
Hipotels Sherry Park
#3 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#4 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Jerez
Hotel Villa Jerez
#6 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Avenida Jerez
NH Avenida Jerez
#11 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
Sercotel Asta Regia Jerez Hotel
#5 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jerez & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jerez & Spa

Property: Hotel Jerez & Spa
Address: Avenida Alcalde Alvaro Domecq 35, 11407 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#6 Business Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
#9 Family Hotel in Jerez De La Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jerez & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with restaurant serving Andalucian cuisine; pool surrounded by orange trees; located in attractive residential area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jerez & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jerez Jerez De La Frontera
Hotel Jerez And Spa
Jerez Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing