We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location”
Review of Don Tapa

Don Tapa
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Restaurant is on edge of Plaza de Arenal, ideal for tourists varied menu. Service very attentive, we ordered a nice salad our main courses arrived soon after, a fine Dorada and Veal steak. Wines nice more expensive than expected.Generaaly a good experience we had more expensive options but there were plenty of cheaper options.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 258 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I, plus our grandson plus his girlfriend went to el mirador Del arenal which is a newly opened restaurant cum bar..it is the sister restaurant if don tapa.
One of our group needs gluten free food. Her problem was assisted by staff who could not have done any better..they helped her a lot.
Food was very good.
We will be back before we return hom

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank TreharneRoad39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019

We arrived in Jerez after a long day of travels. Checked in at a hotel and went to look for dinner. We are from the United States, and my daughter was wanting pizza after a long day in Morocco. Anyway, the restaurant was fun, had a great variety of food, and had the best waiter ever named Alex. He was super nice; did his best at speaking English, getting anything we asked for, etc. Nice guy! And all of the wait staff were super friendly.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scenic294900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

Nice place just off the main square. Lots of choice on the menu including a variety of tapas. The portions were good and the prices very reasonable. We ate here several times and enjoyed various dishes including chicken croquettes (a generous sharer), moussaka, grilled chicken breast and hamburgers. Although we didn’t have them, the pizzas and paellas were probably bought in/frozen but other dishes were certainly freshly cooked on the premises. We sat outside on the terrace which was always nicely busy with a broad international clientele including locals. As the terrace was covered it was warm even on a chilly evening. We had a ‘welcome’ dry sherry one time and a sweet one with the bill on others, don’t actually like sherry so we were surprised to find the Pedro Ximenez so yummy! The waiters were friendly and welcoming and the service was good although a bit too quick at times with our main courses being put on the table before we’d finished our starter, very strange! It’s a bit ‘touristy’ and not the place for anyone wanting a ‘fine dining’ experience but definitely the place if you want a good meal that’s excellent value for money. We loved it!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jaygee559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019

We went in when walking by and didn't really feel like looking for something else to eat.
The outside terrace looked very cozy and nice, but it was too cold for us that evening to sit outside, so we went to go inside.
Inside it looked kind of sad, with a big fridge behind our table and just three tables inside.

They have a big menu with different things, but a lot of it didn't really seem appealing to us.
After recommendation of the waiter we decided to both go for the roasted chicken.
So sitting inside with a sort of open kitchen, we could hear a lot of what was going on and we heard the microwaves going off a lot. This was not really a good sign for us.
We really think the chicken was just warmed in the microwave and the fries that went with it were not really that special either.
Taste was fine, but felt more like school cafeteria food than nice restaurant food. We have a feeling that a lot here is done in the microwaves you could see on display here.

Still giving it a three star rating because of the service. The waiters were speaking good English, tried to think with us and were generally paying attention to the tables.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Daisy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Tapa also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Don Tapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing