We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!”
Review of El Gallo Azul

El Gallo Azul
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gallo_Azul
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We ate upstairs in the dining room rather than in the smoky outside area. Pleasant atmosphere, quick service. After we ordered we were brought a delicious complimentary appetizer. Our orders followed quickly afterward: the salmorejo and gazpacho both flavorful, then heavenly duck breast and chicken dishes. We enjoyed it very much.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cadbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    83
    34
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milan
Level Contributor
212 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“tried it (twice)”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

great location, but if you are alone they do not appear to be interested in helping you
sat done twice and left with out ordering..

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srm_56347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service, amiable staff”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We were hungry in the off hour, about 5:00, when everything else was closed and they waited on us readily with a few excellent tapas after which one of the waiters sold me some excellent sherry, recommending only what was unique to Jerez and providing samples on them all until I knew exactly what I wanted. Normally I don't appreciate being marketed to but the excellent service and atmosphere made it irresistible. I would definitely go again and spend far too much again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joven_Joven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I don't think I had the same experience as everyone else here. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't good either. The tapas were try-hard, the waiters not attentive and the table a bit grubby. After reading good reviews we had high expectations, but they weren't met. They most recommended tapas being an egg stuffed with prawns. Having had an amazing one in Rhonda we were looking forward to this. but it was merely a hard boiled egg with a large but ordinary prawn stuck in it!! It was very odd. There are far better places to eat in Jerez, go exploring, particularly a little further along to Taberna Casa Del Volapie. They aren't on here yet, but the food was unique, yet authentic and delicious, just what we were expecting from Gallo Azul.

Good points - it is in a lovely building and very handy for main shopping street.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The stand out bar in jerez”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I believe this place is something of a Jerez institution, and even just looking at it you can see why.
An art deco style, traditional bar, fronting onto a plaza. The food here was excellent, obviously the standard tapas was on display but what was really impressive was the original items that i tried, all seemingly produced "in house".
Staff were quick, competent and friendly as well.
If visiting Jerez you can do a lot worse than to stop here!

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theabbotpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gallo Azul also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to El Gallo Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing