We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour without tapas” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodegas Tio Pepe

Bodegas Tio Pepe
London - UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tour without tapas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

The tour is good, informative and beautiful grounds that you are shown around. The tour including tasting of 2 sherry's and tapas was 16 euros. The main citricism is the fact that during the tasting they just pour you 2 glasses of different sherry's and leave you to it, but no one talked through the different flavours etc. also the tapas selection was poor. Cheap flavourless cheese and plain ham, not like Serrano jamon. To sum up, go for the tour as the place I beAutiful, but do the cheapest tour you can then get some real tapas down the road.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank RicardoKarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    523
    215
    87
    74
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mebourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Visit was interesting. We paid more to try another couple of sherrys. Thankfully we didn't pay more for the tapas as they looked positively mingy and boring.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Metroviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Bodegas Tio Pepe was a great couple of hours spent in Jerez.Our day started in Seville with a twenty minute walk to the station,a light breakfast at one of the smart cafes inside the station and then onto the 9.45am train to Jerez De La Frontera.
A comfortable ride of just over an hour on a beautifully clean train took us to Jerez where after a 15 minute walk we reached the town center and the tourist information site.armed with lots of local info we made our way to the bodegas arriving just in time to get on the 12 o'clock English tour.
The tour consisted of a short film outlining the history of Gonzalez Byas followed by a guided tour on foot and by train of the important parts of site explaining our sherry is made and our it is different to wine.This was followed by the tasting of sherry and tapas the amount of sherry you try depends on the price you paid.I opted for tasting two sorts of sherry of which I preferred the fino (dry and smooth served well chilled).
After our trip to Gonzalez Byas we explored Jerez further and enjoyed a great late lunch in the center of town.A leisurely walk back to the station in time to catch the train back to Seville. A great day out

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank meljl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice tour in family bodega”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Though it's probably one of the biggest producing sherry houses, it is still fun to visit this bodega. I Find it rather expensive (12 euros for 2 tasting glasses + tour) but I still had a good time.

Helpful?
Thank clairenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Charming tour with little train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is located right in the centre of Jerez and is an extensive site so it is great that for part of the tour you get to travel in a little train. Part of the tour consists of a video presentation shown in one of the bodegas and the rest involves visits to the various parts of the plant. You learn some interesting facts about sherry production and end with the tasting and shop. I don't really feel it was worth the extra to add the tapas to the price for the tour. Some cheesse and ham. The web site makes it sound a little more exotic than it is but I enjoyed the visit and the shop did offer some reasonably priced products. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodegas Tio Pepe also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Bodegas Tio Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing