We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are regulars at this family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Carbona

La Carbona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A food and wine experience in a corner grocer . Where savor fine cuisine and earth with the widest range of wines and brandies of Jerez wines of our stock
locumtoco
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We are regulars at this family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

There are always several dishes on the menu that we want to taste, giving us excuses to come back again and again.
Anna, one of the owners whose son Javier is the chef, always greets us with a smile and gives excellent recommendations. The menu is varied with traditional dishes with a twist, great deserts, and and an excellent wine selection.
The restaurant, an old bodega, is well suited for large parties as well as for an intimate dinner.
An extra plus: while taking home leftovers is not (yet) common in Spain, Anna will offer to pack up what we are unable to finish at the table.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank locumtoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    210
    56
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Uncooked fish served with a frown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived around 10pm on a Friday night and it was almost empty. First waitress who served us was fantastic as I asked about the different sherries and she brought all of them for me to try. She even brought the bottles to the table. My friends ordered the steak with fois gras and the monkfish. Steak was done to perfection but monkfish was undercooked and way too salty. We told another waitress the monkfish was clearly not cooked and she frowned at us, took the plate and left. The same piece of fish was brought back 10mins later cooked. We had no idea what they did to it. Microwaved it? By then it was way overcooked... And still salty. The girl made no apology and simply looked like she wanted to go home. So the first half with the sherry tasting was great. Second half was disappointing. Would not return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Col W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

A meal here was booked on our behalf and on arrival we were made welcome with a free sherry. Good substantial meal so make sure you are hungry before your arrive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
487 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“One-star food at Bibendum prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

LA CARBONA

Fine fresh ingredients, classical and imaginative cooking, and unbeatable value are the signature themes of this huge barn that despite its vast interior exudes warmth and good companionship, emphasised by an enormous flat round iron fire fuelled by wood logs placed, not as usual to one extreme, but right in the very centre. The dominance of huge tables over those for a mere couple suggests that most diners come in large parties to celebrate as well as to eat and drink, but as a sign of our economic climate, the restaurant held barely one-third of its potential clientele on the Saturday night of our visit. Consequently, we do not know whether the splendid service we received was the norm or just good fortune.

We were greeted by a large plate of potato salad to share while we scanned the menu and wine list. It was simply wonderful, turning the modest tuber into a cornucopia of flavour by the addition of magical herbs, oils, and goodness knows what other ingredients. And this was precisely how our Prix Fixe 4-Course Menu with each course accompanied by a copa of different sherries continued ---- the whole lot for a mere 32 euros per head.

It began with a choice of 4 starters ------- a warm dish of shrimp and artichoke for my wife (Palo Cortado Sherry), and salmon tartare for myself (Fino Sherry). Thereafter, democracy gave way to dictatorship without choice: Corvina (Maigre in French) superbly grilled and lovingly tucked in on top of a bed of beautifully flavoured green linguine ( Amontillado); grilled T-bone steak sliced into one-bite pieces and accompanied by the finest French fries we have ever tasted (Oloroso); and a local cinnamon cake with coffee ice-cream (Pedro Ximenez) to round out a banquet of memories as well as mere food. The sherry degustation worked well for me, but was on the heavier side for my wife. My guess is that the management is smart and flexible enough to permit other possibilities for those anxious to savour this delicious food combination. In any case, the choices on the regular menu and wine-list are very wide and remarkably inexpensive. It is an indictment of Spain’s Michelin inspectors that they give this restaurant offering 1-star cuisine at Bibendum prices a grudging recommendation, while awarding 3 stars to several that serve minuscule portions of over-decorated morsels of this and that on huge empty platters for the price of a room at the Ritz. A post-prandial visit to the WC suggested that they may have a point: only one toilet for each sex, and the Gents lacked soap, paper towels, and the hand-dryer was out of order. This situation persisted two days later when we returned for lunch, although it must be added that the food was every bit as fine as on the first occasion. Still, this led me to withhold a 5th star. Finally, this is one of the few establishments in the city where free WiFi is available.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank davidgoldberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, Scotland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lunch with work colleagues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

25 of us appeared for a Saturday lunch party. After drinks in the bar area we sat down for the meal. We shared the starters, the mini sausages and chips, followed by individual main meals. The staff were very attentive, and I doubt if wine glasses got empty before being replenished. Everyone enjoyed their meal, followed by shared sweet course, and coffee plus brandy.
As the ambience has been described in previous reports, I shall not repeat it here.

Overall a very enjoyable lunch, and I no hesitation in recommending this establishment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 98JHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carbona also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to La Carbona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing