We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”
Review of Las Palomas Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Palomas Hostal
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed here 2 nights, but left after the first night.
This hostal is low cost, so we expected a low cost room, but still a clean room.
We had to sleep in a filthy old bed : linnen had numerous stains, there was just an old smell on the whole floor.
Avoid this hotel !

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aischillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2009

Hostal Palomas is a clean, safe hostal with private rooms at a great price in Jerez. My single room was freshly painted, well lit and had a spacious private bathroom. There is no AC but the rooms have fans and even in the heat of July summer (90-100) this is believe-it-or-not sufficient to keep the room tolerably cool. You can also buy water and sodas in the lobby and the hostal has a homey feel about it.

The free wireless if you have your own laptop is a huge plus as well!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgrabyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

OK location halfway between the train/bus station and the old town, all the sights are easily reachable on foot. Good price. Large rooms with high ceilings, fully equipped bathrooms. The street below is quiet, and we were lucky to have no noisy groups inside the hostal itself. On the whole, the previous review gives a fair description of the place. To my taste, it lacked somewhat in style and atmosphere, and the room looked a bit barren, but there were no definite drawbacks to put my finger on.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Having decided to stay the night in Jerez, I then had to decide whether to pay the average going rate of about 45 to 50 for a basic single room, or to risk not getting any sleep and choose a Pension or Hostal. I researched the situation and found this Hostal was very well placed just up the road from the Theatre & Post office and withing a few minutes walk of the shopping area and restaurants. With some trepidation, I booked a single room and got a rate of 25 Euros for the night. I thought that this was too good a bargain to miss so when I arrived I asked Monica at the reception desk (who spoke good English) if perhaps the double room with large bed would be more comfortable for my stay. I was thinking of sometimes when a single bed feels just too small. I was offered a Double for 35 euros and asked to see it. Room 120 was on the first floor (the Hostal has 3 floors plus a sun deck roof area) and had windows overlooking a passage, and the main bedroom window overlooked the central courtyard area and had a wooden slatted blind. I was immediately impressed with the size of the room and the height - I did not feel ´cramped´at all. The bathroom was very clean and came with all the necessities and had a small corner shower. The bed linen was fine and so I took the room and managed a very peaceful sleep. Another plus point at this Hostal was a fridge in the central lobby which stocked water and beer plus soft drinks, and you could ask for a hot drink. Breakfast is no problem in a place like Jerez which has a wide selection.
Would I stay at Las Palomas again ? Certainly world.
The building itself is styled on a typical ´riad´style found in Morocco where the rooms face onto the central courtyard although in the case of this Hostal, there was no centrally positioned water feature. The only possible downside of this type of building is that you can experience noise as there are echoes, however, my sleep was peaceful as I mentioned.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Stefano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: con baño individual bastante amplia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dpsmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerez De La Frontera hotels
0.1 mi away
Itaca Hotel Jerez
Itaca Hotel Jerez
#14 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Blanca
Hotel Dona Blanca
#15 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#5 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
Ibis Jerez de la Frontera
#8 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Exe Guadalete
Hotel Exe Guadalete
#13 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palomas Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Hostal

Address: Calle Higuera 17, 11402 Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Jerez De La Frontera
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Jerez De La Frontera
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Las Palomas Hostal 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Palomas Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing