We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

The House of Sandeman Jerez
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.97*
and up
City Sightseeing Jerez de la Frontera Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Sandeman's Visitors' Centre in Jerez, is located in the centre of the town, close to the Escuela Andaluza del Arte Ecuestre and the Atalaya Museusm. At Sandeman's our visitors will discover the secrets of sherry, a unique wine. We offer guided tours & tastings, have a shop and beautiful venues for events. Check opening hours at our web.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited here after the Spanish Horse centre as they are next door to each other. Our guide spoke very good English and we were a group of about 15 which was a perfect size. The tour was interesting but we didn't learn enough about how the grapes get as far as the barrels. The tasting was good - with 3 large sherries to taste. For the price the visit was good value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mhj1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    86
    28
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting insight into the world of sherry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We very much enjoyed the tour of the bodega and the accompanying tasting of three different sherries (you can add a selection of tapas/further sherries if required). Opting for the English tour, our guide was informative and answered the questions that our group had. We felt it would have been great, however, to see the actual 'sherry making' in progress and to see some more of Sandeman's operations in Jerez. We also bought a bottle of their vinagre (definitely worth it).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kritnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Obligatory Winery Tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Why else go to Jerez but to visit the local winteries (bodegas) and sample the sweet wines of the region, particularly sherry? Sandeman's is like the other large sherry producers in town and provides a standard tour and tasting several times per day. If you want to see rows of casks of sherry maturing and warehouses smelling good, this is one of the places to come. Pay your fee. Take the tour. Taste the wine. Next group ready? Production tourism!

Note: My comments are no different for the other bodegas in town. They only vary in the detail. Once you've done one, you've done them all.... unless, like me, you want to keep touring and tasting all afternoon!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenMarkCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't make a special trip, but visit if you're in Jerez”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived 8 minutes late for the tour and had to almost plead to be allowed to join it (we were told there were 20 minutes left and then a 30 minute tasting)
With hindsight it was probably a bad idea as by the time they gave us tickets, went to find our change and located the tour, there were only 10 minutes left. This was pointed out quite rudely by the guide when we quietly joined the back of the group of only six other guests.
Not to be put off, we enjoyed the remaining minutes before the tasting. We were told we would taste three types of sherry and the first was brought out. After 10 minutes or so, the guide re-appeared with the second tasting which she poured into the existing glasses having asked people to drink up. I'm no expert in sherry tasting but we have visited wine, port, whiskey and other vineyards/bodegas/distilleries all over the world. We could see the other tour groups were sitting with all three types (in three different glasses) to allow them to compare at their leisure. I asked for a clean glass as we had deliberately kept back some of the first sherry to do exactly that and was given a sullen look, but she did go and get us glasses and poured no. 2 into them. The third was then brought out, and poured into our first glasses before we had chance to object.
Not quite the experience we'd hoped for. We were also charged €4 for our small children who obviously didn't participate in the tasting which I thought slightly unfair. Maybe we shouldn't have tried to visit a bit late,but it was the last tour (2.15pm) and our only day in Jerez.
If you go, get there early.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ceri1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun, entertaining and educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ok, it's kind of of done up for tourists, but it was a lot of fun. If you're a hard core Sherry aficionado, you'll find it kind of hokey. But as a traveler with limited time and not blowing the budget, this was a no brainer. We went on a Thursday after the horse show next door and the tour began at 2:30. I can't remember if we paid e8,50 for the tour and three wine tastings, plus e7,50 for the Tapas or vise a versa. You don't have to purchase the extra Tapas, you can just do the tour and wine. If you wish to have more tastings, they offer that also. We took the tour in Spanish and Patricia was our guide. She was very informative and took her time walking with my very slow walking mother. We had three wine tastings that were excellent. The Tapas consisted of ham, cheese, olives and the wine. Did I mention they also gave us a Flamenco show during the wine tasting. That was fun. We had a good time and that's all that counts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikesugarsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House of Sandeman Jerez also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to The House of Sandeman Jerez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing