We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a Paradox.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Meson La Cueva

Meson La Cueva
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A bit of a Paradox.....”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

A largish restaurant very close to the Jerez Circuit. This weekend there is a major motorbike event at the circuit, andas we passed the hotel it seemed to be being used by some of the teams, maybe that was a recommendation, maybe!
I phoned to book a table as it might be busy. Arriving about 20:00 wewerethe second couple in the restaurant, to early for Spain. On entering we saw advertised an 18Eur menu and I decided to try that but was told it was off because of the racing nearby, reconsidering the camerero indicated he might be able to allow us to use the menu. I found the menu to be most acceptable but my wife found that solomillo or merluza were not to her taste, so this led to one from the a la carte and one from the menu del dia.
Ensalada to share to start, was very good, fresh and tasty. And my merluza was excellent as was the sizzling gambas that my wife had all accompanied with Solear.
So where is the paradox? The meal from the a la carte was quite expensive but the menu of the day was good value for money.
In summary the food was tasty, very friendly service from Juan an quite an enjoyable evening meal in pleasant surroundings, but at a price.
And the moral, avoid at major event times

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caravanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    11
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
361 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went there over the years many times, because we liked the ambience and it is a convenient location. However lately the food quality and the personal attention has diminished, a great pity!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbmeyersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very Spanish”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a very Spanish restaurant, traditional and quirky, which is great for me.
But if you visit with anything other than a warm heart and a smile on your face, I fear you will be disappointed.
If you want a leisurely dinner, and are prepared to interact with the waiters, however bad your Spanish, you will have a great time.
The Iberian ham starter is excellent, as are the deep fried anchovies.
My wife's fillet steak one night, and a leg of lamb the next, were perfect, but my lamb chops were less so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GOURMET4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We ate in the Restaurant. Food was good...service was quick and the waiters were very attentive. We enjoyed some lovely wine chosen with the help of the waiters.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WendyK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“good but expensive”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Traditional Spanish restaurant with a good atmosphere. Reasonably friendly staff who were very attentive. Food was good but quite expensive for what we ate. Suggest careful inspection of the menu before ordering.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson La Cueva also viewed

Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
Jerez De La Frontera, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Meson La Cueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing