We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, good hotel”
Review of Extremadura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extremadura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, good hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The staff can make or break a hotel reputation and the employees here certainly make the place memorable and it expresses quality. The hotel is as you would hope in the rooms, although the trend to avoid tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms is a point to consider for future ideas. The hotel itself is bare almost, and it does not give any ambiance to the reception and large 'waiting area'. Hence the staff need to make up for the dreary reception area.
The food was excellent and was chosen off the menu and adjusted to suit without any quibbles. The wines are good and the bar is bright and friendly. The value was fine but for us, the staff made the stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try to get near the lifts for the access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyshogun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    340
    118
    17
    14
See reviews for
153
275
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zaragoza
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I would dearly like to know how a hotel decides the price for pets to stay. Most establishments charge a nominal amount which seems to be between €5-€10. Before staying in this hotel in Extremadura, and after having stayed in more than 60 hotels around Europe with our dog, we had never paid more than €9 a night for the pleasure of our pet's company. Here however, the charge rose to €19. Unfortunately we had reserved the stay with Booking.com and the information was limited to "Pets allowed: charges may be applicable" so we didn't discover the cost until it was too late to cancel. I'm sorry but the only way to put it is that I feel conned, cheated. We made a formal written complaint at the hotel but we know where that will get us.

It's a shame because Caceres is a fabulous place and well worth a visit, just don't stay at the Sercotel Extremadura if you have a dog.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

As we were very tired from our journey, we entered Caceres to find where to sleep along the Autovia de La Plata. In fact we chose this hotel because it was the first one we found. The entry was surprising by its unusual large dimensions, however, we were much pleased with the wood-rich rooms and the 50's style, and the quality of the materials of the bathroom. The low prices included a correct breakfast buffet. The parking is also wide, and the personal very pleasant. Unfortunately we had to leave on the morning because of our commitments. So we decided to return to Caceres in another trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoriscoTetuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here while travelling around Spain with our dog. We knew the hotel accepted pets so we just turned up for a room, which we find is the best way of doing it and you can view the rooms available. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Car park was extra but secure. We wandered into town in the early evening and could not believe the amount of people. We found out the next morning that once a year The Virgin Mary is brought down from the mountains into the Cathedral and people from all around the area come to visit the Cathedral. Plenty of bars and good restaurants in the Caceres main square and it seemed nearly everyone spoke some English. Best thing of all, but not from my husband's point of view, the shops are open pretty late!!
When we go back to Spain, Caceres will be a must to visit again. Our dog seemed to like it there as well as the hotel town seemed very dog friendly, especially when the waiters in bars bring her a bowl of water before our glass of wine.....
Would also definitely recommend the Extremadura Hotel although we cannot comment on their food as we did eat there at all.

Room Tip: Ask for their best room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel on our journey to Huelva to catch a ferry to Tenerife, we were very happy with the service and the fact that we could have our little dog with us in the room unusual for a 4 star Hotel in Spain. Hotel was easy to find with the help of sat nav, we were very tired having driven down from the Spanish/French border and had a great night sleep. Breakfast was excellent with a huge variety of hot and cold dishes, we will have no hesitation in staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tenerifian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way down to Portugal and on our return. We needed secure parking and somewhere which accepted pets. The room was clean and comfortable. On the way down, as the restaurant didn't open until 8.30 pm we choose to eat in the "cafeteria" which was not very good. On our return we ate at lunchtime en route, and made do with tapas at the bar opposite, in the evening. The breakfast was superbe, catering for all tastes. Staff were very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchwanderer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton,England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our second visit to this hotel having stayed here 10 years ago enroute to the Algarve.

It's fine, good parking underground, essentail when your fully loaded and don't want to unpack everything for one night. The staff are friendly and mostly speak English.

We didn't like the restaurant on our last visit so on the advise of an earlier tripadvisor we tried Rafa's across the road.

Nice place, menu all in Spanish but very helpful waiter who went all out to help. Very lively bar area when the footballs on. We liked it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtoZers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caceres hotels
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Caceres V Centenario
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
#4 of 38 in Caceres
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
#8 of 38 in Caceres
946 reviews
0.7 mi away
AH Agora Caceres
AH Agora Caceres
#11 of 38 in Caceres
260 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de Arenales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extremadura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extremadura Hotel

Property: Extremadura Hotel
Address: Avenida Virgen de Guadalupe 28, 10001 Caceres, Spain (Formerly Hotel Extremadura)
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Caceres
#8 Family Hotel in Caceres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Extremadura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Extremadura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extremadura Hotel cáceres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing