We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Extremadura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extremadura Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Reviewed September 13, 2013

As we were very tired from our journey, we entered Caceres to find where to sleep along the Autovia de La Plata. In fact we chose this hotel because it was the first one we found. The entry was surprising by its unusual large dimensions, however, we were much pleased with the wood-rich rooms and the 50's style, and the quality of the materials of the bathroom. The low prices included a correct breakfast buffet. The parking is also wide, and the personal very pleasant. Unfortunately we had to leave on the morning because of our commitments. So we decided to return to Caceres in another trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoriscoTetuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Extremadura Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 642 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here while travelling around Spain with our dog. We knew the hotel accepted pets so we just turned up for a room, which we find is the best way of doing it and you can view the rooms available. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Car park was extra but secure. We wandered into town in the early evening and could not believe the amount of people. We found out the next morning that once a year The Virgin Mary is brought down from the mountains into the Cathedral and people from all around the area come to visit the Cathedral. Plenty of bars and good restaurants in the Caceres main square and it seemed nearly everyone spoke some English. Best thing of all, but not from my husband's point of view, the shops are open pretty late!!
When we go back to Spain, Caceres will be a must to visit again. Our dog seemed to like it there as well as the hotel town seemed very dog friendly, especially when the waiters in bars bring her a bowl of water before our glass of wine.....
Would also definitely recommend the Extremadura Hotel although we cannot comment on their food as we did eat there at all.

Room Tip: Ask for their best room available
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel on our journey to Huelva to catch a ferry to Tenerife, we were very happy with the service and the fact that we could have our little dog with us in the room unusual for a 4 star Hotel in Spain. Hotel was easy to find with the help of sat nav, we were very tired having driven down from the Spanish/French border and had a great night sleep. Breakfast was excellent with a huge variety of hot and cold dishes, we will have no hesitation in staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tenerifian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way down to Portugal and on our return. We needed secure parking and somewhere which accepted pets. The room was clean and comfortable. On the way down, as the restaurant didn't open until 8.30 pm we choose to eat in the "cafeteria" which was not very good. On our return we ate at lunchtime en route, and made do with tapas at the bar opposite, in the evening. The breakfast was superbe, catering for all tastes. Staff were very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchwanderer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our second visit to this hotel having stayed here 10 years ago enroute to the Algarve.

It's fine, good parking underground, essentail when your fully loaded and don't want to unpack everything for one night. The staff are friendly and mostly speak English.

We didn't like the restaurant on our last visit so on the advise of an earlier tripadvisor we tried Rafa's across the road.

Nice place, menu all in Spanish but very helpful waiter who went all out to help. Very lively bar area when the footballs on. We liked it

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtoZers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel was fine, as described the other reviews - clean, spacious, comfortable and 15 minutes stroll from the historic centre of Cáceres. My only gripe was that one of the reasons we chose it was because it had a swimming pool; it was 34ºC outside, and a nice dip would have been wonderful after all that sightseeing, but the pool was closed for the winter!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomorecamping4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

On our way to the South of Spain we visited Cáceres and were looking for a nice hotel with private parking (fully packed car + 2 bikes at the back), that is why we choose Hotel Extremadura.
The friendly staff, spacious rooms, good buffet breakfast and very reasonable price for a 4-star hotel largely makes up for the lack of atmosphere of this hotel (the reception area looks and feels like a mausoleum). Within a 10-15 minutes easy walk you are in the old city centre, no problem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PnONL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caceres hotels
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Caceres V Centenario
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
#8 of 38 in Caceres
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
#4 of 38 in Caceres
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#21 of 38 in Caceres
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parador de Caceres
Parador de Caceres
#3 of 38 in Caceres
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extremadura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extremadura Hotel

Address: Avenida Virgen de Guadalupe 28, 10001 Caceres, Spain (Formerly Hotel Extremadura)
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Caceres
#8 Family Hotel in Caceres
Price Range: $78 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Extremadura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Extremadura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extremadura Hotel cáceres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing