We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

. We went to fulfill my long time desire to visit The beautiful city of Caseres beautiful city and my anticipation was not disappointed. The hotel was magnificent and all the staff were so very friendly and kind. The room was just what we needed - very relaxing and the large bowl of fruit a bonus. A wonderfully modern interior packed into a lovely old building.
Then there was the food! Breakfasts were wonderful, served in the patio if you wished, but the evening meal was a revelation of tastes and textures - flavor that just kept exploding like firework around my taste buds. Wonderful!
Our visit was made even better by our send off - early by Spanish standards as we had a long drive when we were served a light breakfast and presented with a 'goodie bag' for the journey as we had missed breakfast..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose p, Propietario at Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thanks for your lovely words,we are really glad to hear that you have been so happy in our home,
its the reason we work for.
We hope to see you again¡¡


Jose polo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 337 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

From the moment you walk in til the moment you leave, the staff make you feel special. The hotels owners, one of whom is the chef are always on hand to chat and make sure everything is perfect. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and not at all stuffy which you might expect from a 5 star establishment with a Michelin starred restaurant. The architecture of the hotel is stunning and attention to detail amazing. You can see the pride that the staff take in the hotel and I can't recommend it highly enough. A truly special experience

Room Tip: We stayed in 201 with wonderful views. It is next to the terrace with its loungers and plunge pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose p, Propietario at Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We are very happy to hear that you found a special place to stay as that is our goal every day. Thanks for your comments and for your stay with us. Jose Polo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel Atrio is an incredible hotel - the friendliness of the staff will always be prominent in my memories of our stay here; the welcome we received when we arrived in the middle of the night (at 3.30am) was fantastic and it's a great touch that the owners come to meet and greet all of the guests individually. The rooms are very comfortable, the decor very modern/minimalist, the hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the old town and the architecture of the place is definitely to be admired. But by far the best part was the food: we have been to many excellent restaurants in Spain and we have decided that our dinner here was the best we've had - I am lost for words to describe how great it was, and the attentiveness of staff combined with the great design of the restaurant makes you feel as if you're being treated to your own special experience in the privacy of your personal dining room. The wine cellar too, defies words. It's not cheap, but it's well worth it. We will definitely be returning in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badger885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose p, Propietario at Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thanks for to write so beautiful about us,you look to be in love with Atrio and this is very important for all of us,we send you many kisses.

Jose Polo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just back from 2 weeks in Spain. We stayed in some fantastic places, but Atrio really topped the list. I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel. The hotel is in the old city, which restricts traffic and is a little tough to find (at least for me!). I called the hotel and they literally stayed on the phone as they guided me there. Service was impeccable from beginning to end. The rooms are spacious and contemporary, and ours had a stunning view of the old city. There are two plunge pools on the roof, and when we visited, we had them to ourselves. Again, stunning views. Staff appeared with water and an offer to bring whatever else we wanted. Dinner there was one of the best I've had -- gave French Laundry a run for its money. The service and place were also phenomenal. The tour of the spectacular wine cellar is a very nice touch. Upon departure, as we were looking at the museum quality art in the lobby, I asked if a book they had out was available anywhere. Within minutes, they had one for me. It really doesn't get much better. Caceres is a beautiful city (with a great art foundation) and is absolutely worth a visit. I look forward to returning to Atrio.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose p, Propietario at Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We would like to thank you for your kind words and love that you enjoyed at ATRIO but also that you enjoyed Cáceres, and Helga de Alvear Contemporanean Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I have become great fans of Relais & Chateaux properties and this is no exception. The service, the attention to detail and the food were second to none...but let's get into some details:

The property
The building is located in the old city center. From the outside it retains the classical look and feel of the old buildings around it (although the construction is relatively new) but the interiors are very modern and sleek. The style is minimalist with wooden panels all over. There is a patio between the kitchen and the main restaurant where one can have breakfast surrounded by peace and plants. Overall the building is a beautiful example of modern Spanish architecture. There are a couple of pools on the roof-top terrace that overlook the old town. Very nice!

Service
It is hard to put in words what the service is like here. On the one hand the attention to detail is that of a high-end 5 star hotel but on the other, the warmth and care that everyone has towards their guests makes it feel like a lot more than a hotel. You want to come back not just because of the hotel (and the food) but you also want to come back and see Toño and his people because they treat you as family...an amazing place. Some examples; when we arrived Toño that was in the hotel greeted us like old friends: he asked about us, took us to a tour of the cellar when we said we were into wine, shared with us his own story and just chatted and gave us tips about the city (very far from the star-like attitude that you get from other 2-star chefs), my wife was 6-months pregnant so they offered us the hotel car (at no charge) to take us to a nearby place where we needed to meet some friends so that we didn't need to walk, they gave us water and goodies when we left (so that we were well equipped for the trip), they ironed my wife's dress in 15 minutes because we needed to get ready for an event (and this is a small boutique hote so that was surely an effort)...and they always knew who we were and our story. Really attentive, excellent service.

The rooms
The rooms were very nice. Modern and with everything you need. Free Internet (although with somewhat patchy coverage), great shower and separate bath, large very comfortable bed and great toiletries (hotel brand but good). Overall what you would expect from a great 5-star...

The breakfast
I won't talk about the restaurant (separate review) but the breakfast is worthy of a 2-star restaurant. As in the restaurant where you get a tasting menu here you get a teasing breakfast with many little things (an egg with "crumbles": a traditional plate, a creme caramel, pastries, bread and home-made jams and butter, little cheese and ham sandwiches, all very tastefully prepared. Am not sure you can order "a la carte" but the standard breakfast was very nice.

Overall
Amazing experience worthwhile repeating. Despite being a world heritage site Caceres is not on the main Spanish "places to visit" list...but just to see this place and eat in the restaurant I would highly recommend the detour. We will go and visit Toño sometime soon! :)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cvidela4791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose p, Gerente at Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you thank you for your time and your kind words about ATRIO and its team. We really work every day for making people happyness and are very glad we succeeded with you. Jose Polo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

what a great spot ... its a fortune, but for a once in a lifetime thing , its amazing. Do book dinner and spend 3 hours on the tasting menu its so worth it. The owners are there and totally hands on and you can tell they really love to make people happy with their location and food. We took over the small pool the day we arrived and had a blast ! They were so nice and helpful to us and gave us hugs when we left and it was just so nice to have such a great experience at such a special place !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWBrooklynNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose p, Propietario at Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We are very glad to hear you had a great time with us and enjoyed our Roof Terrace and. Thank you for your time and kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a Sunday while driving to south coast.
Make no mistake, the rooms and most hotel aspects are quite superb - possibly the best boutique hotel I've ever stayed in.
But forgive me, there are flaws. The bar area is impersonal and akin to a waiting room. Other than the celebrated (read v expensive) restaurant, food choice is a walk in to town or to a neighbouring restaurant.
I am a huge fan of great design and architecture, which is why we chose to stay (well, that and the Relais & Chateaux distinction), but we weren't 'up for' the gastronomic extravaganza that is their fayre. Some will disagree and others will understand my meaning.
Jose-Luis was very kind to give us a personal tour of his cellar - surely one if the best in the world - and to touch a 200 year old bottle of wine in such an incredible setting was spine tingling.
Adriana (think?) on the front desk was so helpful and we were really made to feel valued guests.
The only real minus's come from access, bar and the need for a light menu.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose p, Propietario at Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Many thanks for your kind words about us. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the design and architecture. Please, do not hesitate if you come back to ATRIO or any other of the Relais properties to ask for light menu as we will be pleased to offer you something which can suit your preferences. Jose Polo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caceres hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Caceres V Centenario
0.0 mi away
Parador de Caceres
Parador de Caceres
#3 of 38 in Caceres
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de Arenales
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
#8 of 38 in Caceres
1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
#4 of 38 in Caceres
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux

Address: Plaza San Mateo 1, 10003 Caceres, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Price Range: $347 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing