We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in the old historic quarter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Albarragena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Albarragena
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Torrox, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location in the old historic quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Interesting hotel which was originally a grand private house. It is well situated with all main attractions within easy walking.
We were originally allocated a smoking room and asked for a change. This happened quickly and we were upgraded into a large spacious room with a massive bathroom.
If you are driving it is difficult to find the hotel as the satellite navigation wants to directs you up a pedestrian walkway. We gave that up and parked on the public carpark and walked to the hotel which took about 10 minutes (5 minutes once we knew the way). The hotel subsidise the parking which only costs 9 euros per day. Make sure you get your parking ticket stamped at the hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel is situated on a quiet street so all rooms are quiet. If you are non smokers specify this when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    55
    30
    16
    7
See reviews for
55
64
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

At a walking distance from the historical city centre this elegant hotel offers clean rooms with enough space inside at a convenient price, breakfast and wi-fi connection included.
The person at the reception was very friendly and helpful.
Rooms with terrance give extra suitable space in summer and a good view of the surroundings.
The availability of parking space nearby might be reduced.

Room Tip: Terrance is an appreciable plus for the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllRoundTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

What a farce! What a lie! True that the hotel is an old romantic building furnished with antiques, BUT what about where it counts - its facilities? The hotel promises parking facilities "at a location near-by". Well, it's 1km away - first try to find it and then try walking back to the hotel... To be fair, an employee (unsolicited) offered to accompany me to the parking lot and walked me back to the hotel. We booked the room on the premise that it would have a balcony with views of the city. We were given a room with a small window overlooking an ugly courtyard. When we complained the manager thought he'd excuse himself by trying to persuade us that "availability depends!" When I insisted, he changed our room to one with a small balcony overlooking rooftops! Hardly a remedy. Look at all their advertisements: they promise the availability of free WiFi. What nonsense! First network could not connect. A second network made available after we complained, did not work either. Unbelievable! With no WiFi I thought I'd watch TV. Fat chance! All 55 chanels are in Spanish! That's probably a world first! And if that isn't enough, none are news channels. If pillows are important to you to help you sleep, forget it! Here what you get is one elongated narrow pillow stretching the width of the bed. Can you imaginee having to share the same pillow? I hear you saying that surely you'd except to find spare pillows in the wardrobe. Forget it! I read a few reviews describing the hotel to be clean! But haven't these guys used the hotel's towels? Their towels have seen better days, believe me! Without exception, all towels come in grey colour - when they are meant to be white. The owners advertise that their rooms are soundproof. What nonsense! The last straw that really ruined our stay was the rowdiness coming from the streets below until very late at night. And to top all, when you're anxious to leave the hotel in the morning, you're served the lousiest, poorest breakfast one can imagine. What a nightmarish experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SalvinoMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caceres hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

we were there in june. great weather with cool air at night. this is a nice hotel with very helpful stuff showing everywhere we could visit in down.
wifi can't be access to certain rooms. but, it's nice to stay in the public area where is very cosy with elegant decorations.
as it is located in the center of the city, only residential cars can enter this area. but if you come with a car and would like to unload the luggages, you can ask the police to open the gate (at the entrance of the street, there's small machine)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

If your in Caceres and looking for a good restaurant, consider this place
If you go through reception and out to the the terrace at the back they have a tapa's bar
It is fantastic - my wife needs a Gluten Free diet and when the waiter spoke to the kitchen they sent out all the Tapa's without bread and then gave her a baguette which was gluten free
We have been touring Spain for 5 weeks and it was the best service and best meal that we have had

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank curzonparkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Nice hotel situated very close to the old town. Large rooms. Nice staff. Reasonable buffet breakfast. Dogs welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belbroughton, UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Lovely 'Town house' hotel in traffic free area of town. Excellent and friendly greeting and superb room (209) with balcony overlooking old city. Very well situated being only a short walk from a city gate and from the Plaza Mayor. Very good buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 209 had balcony overlooking old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caceres hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
#4 of 38 in Caceres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
#8 of 38 in Caceres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Caceres V Centenario
0.6 mi away
Extremadura Hotel
Extremadura Hotel
#10 of 38 in Caceres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos Caceres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albarragena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albarragena

Property: Hotel Albarragena
Address: Calle Pizarro 10, 10003 Caceres, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albarragena 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A late eighteenth century manor house, refurbished and retaining the original appearance and rooms of the house, resulting in a intimate and welcoming establishment ; featuring 18 rooms, a restaurant for 120 diners, a "taperia" for 100, a gourmet regional food menu, accompanied by excellent local wines, terrace garden, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, lounge and a small library. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing