We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good quality/price ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have been stopping several times in this hotel and I found it in a very convenient centric place of Caceres with nice an confortable rooms and with an easy accessible parking. There is a lift reaching the street level and you should watch you step there because some steps can be dangerous at night

Room Tip: all rooms I occupied were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hank1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan T, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Don Manuel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear customer,

We appreciate you have published your comments on Tripadvisor website. We are very happy you had a nice time at Cáceres and you enjoyed yourself at our Hotel. It is very important to us knowing our customers are confortable.

I hope you will come back to visit the city, and you will stay again with us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great location. That's it. Room was like a sauna, and even with the thermostat at 10 it was still incredibly hot. Clearly air conditioning needs work. Internet access in room....none, signal did not reach. Bathroom not clean. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 725Mam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDonManuel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Don Manuel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,

Gracias por dar su opinión sobre nuestro hotel. Sentimos mucho que pasaran calor en la habitación, es muy posible que hubiera algo mal posicionado en los controles del A/C. Nuestra recepción trabaja 24h y estamos siempre dispuestos a ayudar a nuestros huespedes en lo que necesiten, posiblemente podríamos haber solucionado el problema. Con respecto al acceso a internet, hay una red de antenas que cubren todo el hotel y nos consta que funcionan, como le indicaba antes, en recepción seguro que hubiéramos solucionado el problema.

Reiteramos las disculpas porque su estancia no fuera del todo satisfactoria.

Si vuelven a la ciudad y confían de nuevo en nosotros, le aseguro que será mucho mejor.

Un afectuoso saludo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the hotel. When we arrived the hotel did not have our reservation that we made with an on-line company. The management quickly fixed the problem to our total satisfaction. The hotel is modern, spotlessly clean, inside parking and has very helpful service. It was a short stay, It is a great value, and we would certainly repeat a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DesertTravellers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDonManuel, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Don Manuel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear client,

We appreciate you have published your comments on Tripadvisor. We are very happy you had a nice time at Cáceres and you enjoyed yourself at our Hotel. It is very important to us knowing our customers are confortable.

I hope you will come back to visit the city, and you will stay again with us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gustavo Andres M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Juan T, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Don Manuel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel has been been completely rebuilt with modern facilities and underground parking and yet is fully in keeping with the old traditional buildings of Caceres. The room and bathroom were pleasant and well equipped but we had two problems. The room was suffocatingly hot and there was no way of cooling the room. We were told that the heating is switched on in early October and there are no thermostats in the rooms. The only option we then had was to open the windows but unfortunately there was a lot of noisy late night pedestrian traffic. Not very satisfactory!
The other problem was that the only pillows provided are long hard bolsters the full width of the bed. When we asked for a normal soft pillow we were offered another one of the same. Very strange!
In other respects the hotel is fine; nice breakfast, free wi-fi in the bedroom, safe parking and the location is great to walk to the Plaza Major and the heritage area

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxdown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan T, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Don Manuel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear guest,

We appreciate you have posted your comments at the website. We are sorry since our pillows weren't confortable for you. We take note and we will try to offer different kinds of them in the future.
It is a pleasure for us you enjoy our city and we are waiting forward for your back.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel. As usual in Spanish business-class hotels, it was difficult to get a double bed (although we eventually managed). Spanish businessmen always travel unaccompanied, apparently, so double beds in Spain are few and far between (I suspect this may be different in budget hotels). Their satellite dish was not working, so we couldn't get any English-speaking TV -only Spanish channels, which we couldn't understand well. I asked for a discount because of it and the receptionist smiled and said no as if implying I was not serious! I couldn't have been more serious, of course. Otherwise, the reception staff consistently came across as arrogant to the point of verging on abusive. One needs to understand it is one the best hotels in town and the staff probably interpret this as meaning they should treat their guests with contempt, or maybe they are the old butler's school so they try to be deliberately pompous and stiff. This absolutely excludes the spa attendant, an extremely friendly lady who is however an outside contractor and not hotel staff at all (you can't even add her bill to your account). Another complaint is the design of the showers is such that it is impossible not to splash water all over the bathroom -we ran out of towels trying to mop the pool on the bathroom floor. Good breakfast buffet although in a windowless room (the Spanish apparently have yet to realise it's nice to eat and look at the landscape at the same time). We would have liked freshly-pressed orange juice instead of the obviously reconstituted one we got. Sleek minimalistic décor in stark disagreement with Cáceres very traditional architecture and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan T, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Don Manuel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear guest

I appreciate to receive feedback from your stay, since it allows us to detect improvement areas and drive those initiatives required to keep quality standards and customer satisfaction.
As per your kind structural suggestions, I will be pleased to properly convey them for future remodelling, in case it arose the chance to meet your cultural and architectural remarks.

I regret to stress our rates are determined by legal official requirements, therefore receptionist staff will always professionally and consistently comply with applicable policies to deal with any haggling proposal, as I hope you will understand gathered your familiarity with local facilities and customs from your personal appreciations.

We are always grateful to be given the chance to improve our customers´ experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The old town of Cáceres is definitely worth a visit, all in cream stonework and beautifully restored. There are a number of bars and restaurants in the Plaza Mayor; we had dinner in one but it was nothing special.
The hotel is right next to the old town, has a car park (€12.50 per day, also with public use), and was excellent – modern, clean, attractive, with very helpful staff. Breakfast was good and not too expensive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClearViewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caceres hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Caceres V Centenario
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
#4 of 38 in Caceres
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de Arenales
0.9 mi away
Extremadura Hotel
Extremadura Hotel
#10 of 38 in Caceres
650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Caceres
Parador de Caceres
#3 of 38 in Caceres
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Don Manuel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Don Manuel

Address: Calle San Justo 15, 10003 Caceres, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Price Range: $69 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Don Manuel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Don Manuel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing