We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing City- Great Hotel in A beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing City- Great Hotel in A beautiful location”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of old town. Close to restaurants,shopping and beautiful historic sites. The Plaza Mayor, where the hotel is located, can be loud on some nights and the wireless is spotty. The city is so beautiful and it's people so friendly that you won't want to stay in the room on your computer. Did I mention that the sun was out every day during my stay in December?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowsub1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    260
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
117
344
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Have just spent 2 nights at the Casa Don Fernando and can´t imagine a better stay in Cáceres. The hotel itself is beautifully accoutred, reception staff very helpful & friendly, the location fabulous (right on the Plaza Mayor), the rooms lovely (super comfy bed and a bathroom bigger than some of my former apartments), and a wonderful breakfast buffet (much appreciated the freshly-made coffee apposed to coffee machines). Much has been said about the inconvenience of its parking (it´s less than 5 minutes between the parking lot and the hotel), but here´s the thing: you can´t have a car-less pedestrian plaza *and* complain that you can´t park in front of the hotel.

I honestly believe that its website does not do the hotel justice. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThisCatsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Hi we have stayed in this hotel in the beautiful city of caseres . We booked the hotel as a three star . This just is not good enough for such a lovely hotel .the rooms where more than4star .the breakfast was amazing .the hotel is right on the main square in the old city . Just one little problem we had to park in a city carpark as you can't get to the hotel by car .this is the only complaint and the rooms and service more than makes up for this . Wonderful .cant say any more

Room Tip: Just enjoy what a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johntitanic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent just one night here, in a second floor room facing the square.The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and well-supplied. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The view from our room was quite nice, though we had to keep it shuttered during the day to avoid the heat of the sun, as well as at night to provide sound insulation--restaurants on the square stay open well past midnight. So in the end it's a trade off. If you're a light sleeper you might consider traveling with ear plugs!

Room Tip: A view of the square is quite nice, but it comes at a price: restaurants stay open well past midnigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right on the old Plaza Mayor so you can't park there. We had trouble finding it. Look for their partner parking garage first after calling the hotel to find out the location, then plan on hauling your bags a few blocks. Personnel were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, and they will cook you bacon and eggs on request. I was very disappointed that the wifi wasn't working correctly, though. We stayed two nights and finally they got it fixed the second day. The town itself is seldom visited but has a wonderful historic area and a couple of primo restaurants.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 700Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very we'll placed in the old town square with lots of restaurants bars etc close by. The hotel was modern boutique style and very very good. Room was lovely with very good shower room. Breakfast was excellent. Parking was non existent so make sure you set the GPS for the car park. We were on a bike and still had to park in the car park.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great location overlooking the Plaza Mayor with a view from our room of the old buildings of both the Plaza and the old town behind it. The hotel has been modernised and our large, air-conditioned, bedroom and spacious modern bathroom came as a slight surprise given the exterior. This is a tall and narrow building so public areas are limited but there is a neat modern breakfast room in a space set below ground level. A lift gives access to the upper floors and wifi is free. The cold buffet breakfast provided good quality meats, cheeses, preserves and the like.

The service could not have been better. The reception staff were efficient and, more importantly, helpful. The service in the breakfast room was amiable and also efficient. Parking isn't straightforward because of the hotel's location in the old town. You get a reduced rate in the public car parks and pay at the hotel but there is an uphill trek of several hundred yards on returning to the car so don't take a heavy case. The Plaza is surrounded by bars and restaurants so we thought the room might be noisy but a combination of windows and shutters meant we heard nothing and slept well.

Overall we loved the hotel. The combination of a striking location with a stylish facility and helpful service is a winning one. Of course this isn't a luxury hotel and the facilities are limited in range and scale but as a touring stopover it was just right for us and we left highly satisfied.

Room Tip: For the evocative view try to get a room overlooking the Plaza Mayor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lancashireexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caceres hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
#8 of 38 in Caceres
963 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Caceres V Centenario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parador de Caceres
Parador de Caceres
#3 of 38 in Caceres
691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos Caceres
3.4 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de Arenales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Don Fernando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Don Fernando

Property: Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Address: Plaza Mayor 30, 10003 Caceres, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Don Fernando 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plaza Mayor in the historic centre of Caceres, Hotel Casa Don Fernando features elegant rooms with air conditioning, satellite TV and a balcony. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout.The house has been renovated to offer stylish facilities, including the library and a tapas bar, serving regional specialities.Plasencia, Trujillo and Merida can be reached in 40 minutes’ by car.Hotel Rooms: 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casa Don Fernando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing