We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Center of Town, Great Accommodations, Superb Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Center of Town, Great Accommodations, Superb Service”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

It was an amazing experience; Could not be better located, right across the Churriguera Port, room with balcony overlooking the plaza and port, very nice bathroom with tub.
Service as Spaniards say " se cocina aparte " , The reception staff gave us umbrellas, the best recommendations for tapas and pinxtos, hoew to get in and out of Caceres, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sattexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    250
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
112
333
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Overall very nice,and excellent value,but there were two niggles.Firstly,we were told we could take our car to the hotel to unload before putting it in the public car park,which proved very difficult as the police bollard was up,and the youth at the reception desk could not have been more disinterested or less helpful,leaving us to get help from the very nice owner of a restaurant in the same street.

The only other problem was that our room overlooked a side alley,and on Saturday night we were kept awake by a street party until 4am.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensioner309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Casa Don Fernando has a great, central location and helpful, friendly staff. We had a lovely, large double room with 2 private balconies over-looking the main square. There was quite a bit of noise from the bars and restaurants in the square but in my opinion the view more than makes up for it (and we specifically asked for a room over-looking the main square). As others have mentioned, the hotel has a deal with a local car-park although we were able to find on-street parking everyday.

Caceres is a great base as it's larger than many of the neighbouring towns and so has more options for restaurants, bars etc. Within Caceres, the hotel has a great location and offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a family owned spot. Every staff I met was courteous and helpful, helping me find laundry services, a supermarket, and internet access. The rooms are modern - ours had a mini fridge and small balcony and great free WiFi access - and good sized. The buffet breakfast was more than adequate, and the dining room is quite pretty, with a neat wine cellar visible from most tables. I have been touring in Europe for three months and have stayed in at least 20 hotels. This one is by far the best.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsp279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Casa Don Fernando is located on the Plaza Mayor in the heart of Caceres, a great location next to the old town ... only drawback is the lack of a parking but the hotel has a deal with a public parking close by (walking distance, just a couple hundred yards away). Inside the hotel has been totally renovated and has a nice cool look, combining the old with the new, well done. Overall great value for the money ... and the location can't be beat!

Room Tip: The family room easily sleeps three people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVancollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Set in the Plaza Mayor, the Don Fernando is ideally located. Lucky for us, as we walked in unplanned without a reservation. The hotel is clean and smart, with a modern decor. The front of house staff are courteous, friendly and helpful. We paid EUR 65 for two people including tax and a good breakfast. The rooms have air conditioning and spacious, well equipped bathrooms with an excellent shower (so important!). Wifi is provided for free. Our room had a fantastic view over the square to the Old Town and despite this, there were no problems with noise. They offer parking for 9euros a night, although we easily found a space on street anyhow. I would definitely stay again, an excellent choice in a charming and interesting town. 

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TK1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Wandering around Caceres this afternoon, eventually managed to find the magnificent Plaza Mayor and, thinking it would be out of our price range, decided to call in and see if they had a room. Yes they did, and the price was well below what I expected - it really does look like a classy 4 star but the prices are well below this. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the rooms well appointed and equipped, and the bathrooms huge. Wonderfully situated slap bang in the middle of the Plaza Mayor, this place is amazing value !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caceres hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
#8 of 38 in Caceres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Caceres V Centenario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parador de Caceres
Parador de Caceres
#3 of 38 in Caceres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de Arenales
0.8 mi away
Extremadura Hotel
Extremadura Hotel
#10 of 38 in Caceres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Don Fernando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Don Fernando

Property: Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Address: Plaza Mayor 30, 10003 Caceres, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Don Fernando 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plaza Mayor in the historic centre of Caceres, Hotel Casa Don Fernando features elegant rooms with air conditioning, satellite TV and a balcony. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout.The house has been renovated to offer stylish facilities, including the library and a tapas bar, serving regional specialities.Plasencia, Trujillo and Merida can be reached in 40 minutes’ by car.Hotel Rooms: 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casa Don Fernando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing