We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A brilliant stay in a beautiful place”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Saint Hilaire des Loges, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Allathan
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A brilliant stay in a beautiful place”
Reviewed February 18, 2018 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Chateau Le Retail in September 2016 during our motorbike trip through France.
The welcome we received was first class and we were surprised to find out that our hosts both ride motorbikes too. The house and gites were absolutely beautiful and finished to a very high standard. Doug and Pauline were very friendly and attentive hosts. They invited us for dinner in the main house where we had fantastic food with lots of wine and great company. We will definitely be back. A brilliant stay with a lovely couple in a beautiful place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words! Motorbiking in France is definitely a little drier than in Scotland and we would be delighted if you could join us again, irrelevant of the weather :). I'm also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our local Vendeen aperitif too, we've not had any bad reports yet! Hopefully we'll see you again shortly. Kind regards, Pauline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous stay in the French countryside”
Reviewed February 12, 2018 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Chateau Le Retail in July 2016. The welcome we received from Pauline and Doug was first class. Nothing was too much trouble and the setting is truly stunning. We cant wait to return again and enjoy another fabulous holiday

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2018
We were delighted to have you as our very first guests, hopefully next time you can stay for longer, relax and take some time out. Thank you so much! Kind regards, Pauline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlS1774
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best accomodation with friendly and enthusiastic hosts”
Reviewed February 12, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation is well set out for both individuals and families with space to feel at home. Within the local area there are lots to do and see, be it walking, biking or just enjoying the way of life in a rural area. The towns and cities locally offer great scenic trips for days out, with local tourist places within an hours drive. Puy du feu is a must to visit offering unique shows to all the family.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2018
Hi Karl, I'd delighted that you enjoyed Puy du Fou, it's one of our favourites! Thank you for your kind words and super review, it's very much appreciated and we do hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Pauline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew b
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Christmas Stay”
Reviewed February 11, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just a thanks for Doug and Pauling for hosting over Christmas. Wonderful cosy place, warm fires and lovely company.

A visit to the local village cafe for a cheery beer before Christmas Dinner was great but led to my imminent demise . . .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2018
You are very welcome!! Anytime!! Karen and Paul do amazing mince pies and speciality beers at Christmas time, it's a great little place and highly recommended! https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g1869742-d1905967-Reviews-CAFE_COUR_du_MIRACLE-Vouvant_Vendee_Pays_de_la_Loire.html
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desandkir...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed February 11, 2018 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 days. The gites are finished to a very high standard and offer everything and more that you would need for a self catering holiday. Pauline and Doug were extremely knowledgable about the area and offered us lots of ideas on places to visit or just to go off and have a quiet picnic. The area has lots to do for families and is a haven for cycling and walking (and horse riding if you're into that).
I would highly recommend a holiday in this area and especially these gites.
We'll definitely be back for a longer visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2018
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we can't wait to see you all again, there's so much more you didn't get the chance to visit and enjoy. It was our pleasure to help. Kind regards, Pauline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairngorm...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was so good, I keep returning ...”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is an amazing chateau in a beautifully quiet part of rural France. Armed with a road bike, there is hundreds of miles of quiet undulating roads where you are more likely to meet a cow in the field rather than a passing car. The gite's are finished to a very high standard and Pauline is an amazing host. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2018
Hi! Thank you very much for singing our praises, it is indeed a wonderful part of the country and a perfect base for many activities, including numerous tourist attractions. Cycling always takes me so long... I can't help stopping at the lovely local restaurants/bars for refreshments! See you soon again I hope! Pauline x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S
Herning, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic gites in a great part of the country”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This gite is fantastic, exceptionally high quality of furnishing. There is a lovely BBQ area out the back to sit and enjoy the evening sunshine. Pauline the host is very helpful with lots of information about what to do in the local area. Ideally located to visit the Vendee area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2018
Thank you for your great review! We try to be familiar with all of the local activity and attractions. We really want our guests to have a super time, whether it is visiting and partaking in many or alternatively, just relaxing and enjoying the peaceful life of rural France. Kind regards, Pauline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing