We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chhatra Sagar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chhatra Sagar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pali
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

After our four and a half hour drive from Jaipur, to arrive here was bliss. Our tent well decorated, comfortable with nearly all the comforts of home. Could really do with a kettle & tea making facilities. After a relaxing sleep punctuated by jacket howling, our breakfast was great. The view is like something out of Africa , antelope, birds of every species, fish, and lots of pelicans! Our hosts couldn't have been more hospitable. There are well recommended farm tours to go on in the morning, and not to be missed bird spotting walk in the evening. Or you can just relax and let the Chhatra ambiance envelope you! Two days is a good length of stay, enough to charge your batteries for the next part of your Indian adventure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamRose2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
108
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

How wonderful it was to arrive at this peaceful tented camp on the top of the dam overlooking the water below. Whilst we were given a welcome drink we spotted a stunning turquoise kingfisher on the rail next to us. The tented rooms are lovely & beautifully decorated and the beds comfortable. The food we were given was absolutely delicious (we voted it the best of the holiday) and we all found it to be a very relaxing place away from the hustle & bustle of the traffic, hooting lorries & the towns. You can go on a tour of the local village which we did in the morning where we saw the delightful children in the village school & which we enjoyed and then in the afternoon you can choose from two walks offered. I went on the bird walk which l loved as the guIde is passionate & very knowledgable about the birds. We saw an eagle owl, barn owl & two pairs of spotted owls as well as numerous other birds - altogether a wonderful afternoons excursion. Try to stay a minimum of two nights in this magical place as it is a marvellous experience which you will love.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fido0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Yes it's expensive, but save up for it and factor it into your trip to Rajasthan. It's a wonderful place in so many ways.

From start to finish it was all marvellous. The lovely tent ambience, the crisp white sheets, the beautiful hand block print fabrics in the tents, the incredible view over the bird attracting lake, the great food, the hot water bottles waiting in your bed at night, the gin and tonic by the outside bonfire, the other interesting guests, the bed tea in the morning, the view out the tent door over the lake, the owlets nesting in the tree near the breakfast room...

I loved the activities. The tour to the village with Raj was just so very enlightening. They have been doing it daily for a long time. the villagers never really miss a beat - no one asks you for a photo or money, they just get on with their life so you get a real insight into what life in an Indian rural community is like. We visited the school and the potter, the chilli pickers, and the fallow fields. We learnt a lot about life there. It was great for my teenage children to see this.

The second activity was the bird walk in the afternoon. All the staff here seem to be family members, or local villagers. This family has owned and managed this land for hundreds of years. We went with a brother-in-law and one of the staff - dressed in his bright turban and white kurtar. we saw so many different birds through the high powered quality binoculars and the telescope which was set up for us at various vantage points. these guys are very good at spotting birds. We were accompanied by the two dogs - the great dane and the wirey little one - great company. We thoroughly enjoyed our stroll round the lake and through the bush, and we ticked off around 45 species of birds.

The only tiny problem we had was the man in the next tent on his mobile phone til well into the night keeping a couple of us awake. He was the guide of another couple staying there and must have had business to do but he was very loud.

Chhatra Sagar is a very special place and a really beautiful break from forts, palaces and crowds in the towns of Rajasthan. You will need a driver because it's not on the train track - but this is easy to organise. You need two nights here which will cost you around $1000 a double all inclusive ( even the gin and tonic). Exorbitant but it's definitely worth it.

Room Tip: All the tents are the same. we had the third and fourth ones along and they have a little sitting ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louloubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur City, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

How I start to describe how phenomenally beautiful the property is...it's to be there to believe it.....the prompt and courteous staff which takes care of every thing rest.
I loved the hot bag warmers in the quilts when they turn down in the eve for a good night sleep...
The food the eve bonfire set up....is the perfect way to celebrate the holiday....we were there to celebrate our anniversary and thanks to raj ( the owner) and Himadri...his beautiful wife to make it the most memorable one for us....I wish to be there again and again..
The sun down at the terrace wid champagne to celebrate will always be remembered...each gesture was brilliant...and thanks to make it a perfect holiday

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chandana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The owner of this beautiful place Mr, Harsh" welcomed us and really gave us unforgettable moments. Since I am in travel business and this place was in our list to visit and discover for our future clients. We found it outstanding relaxing place, beautiful service, friendly crew, specially our guide for the nature walk Mr. Kalu is really a cool guy. We have seen some wild animals, many different migratory birds in water dam gave us peace of mind. In a hectic schedule of Rajasthan cultural trips, visiting so many forts and palaces this could be the best place to have a fresh breath and relax for couple of nights. Being an travel profession I would highly recommend this beautiful place.
Soon I will update some beautiful pictures of my trip to "Chhatra Sagar".
Thanks to Mr. Harsh for our personal care and warm welcome!!!!

Room Tip: For best view choose the tents situated on the mountain cliff. Only two tents are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IncrediblerealindiaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is an exotic tented experience out in the country overlooking a lake. This is a true experience because it is so different and unusual. The individual tents are similar to the expensive ones in African safaris. Ours had two comfy beds, lovely rugs, huge bath with rock walls and a group of deck chairs and tables outside to sit and enjoy reading or the view. There were space heaters I. Tents and it was cozy. All face the lake. The area of the tents is perfectly groomed. The area near the restaurant is a large open space with many comfortable chairs and lounges and is bounded by a stone wall towards the lake. The restaurant is a very large tent open at one end (in the winter as we found, you need a coat, but they do have heaters in there too so it is not unpleasant). At night they build large pit fires in the open space and pull up the chairs and tables and serve wine, tea or drinks. Quite charming. The whole camp is lit by hundreds of candles outside everywhere. At dusk you can observe wildlife coming to the lake to drink. There are many birds too. We were on our own itinerary (private tour) so did not go out with hotel staff but many of the visitors did so I know there are opportunities that can be arranged at the hotel. This is a rural area so one goes here to enjoy being outside but pampered. A couple of nights here should do. It is expensive but worth it on several levels of memory making!

Room Tip: This is a limited space location and tents are in a row but is I would choose a tent halfway down f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivermom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This place is located in the middle of the nature with beautiful scenic view. The accommodation in the tents are very comfortable and all the tents are facing the lake. The staff is very courteous and prompt, Raj the owner himself makes sure that they provide everything you want to make the trip one of the most memorable experience.

I would recommend this beautiful place to everyone, away from the hustle bustle of the city life and live the life king-size with warm hospitality.

Room Tip: There is an amazing Sunset facing tent try and get that
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhiyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pali
68.2 mi away
Chanoud Garh
Chanoud Garh
#1 of 6 in Pali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Raj Mahal Beawar
Hotel Raj Mahal Beawar
#1 of 1 in Beawar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bijay Niwas Palace
Bijay Niwas Palace
#13 of 47 in Ajmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Lakshman Sagar
Lakshman Sagar
#1 of 16 in Pali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
76.3 mi away
JAWAI
JAWAI
#1 of 36 in Pali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramathra Fort
Ramathra Fort
#1 of 3 in Karauli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chhatra Sagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chhatra Sagar

Property: Chhatra Sagar
Address: District . Pali-Marwar, Pali 306303, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Pali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chhatra Sagar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tents have always been an important part of Rajput lifestyle. Constant campaigns in far flung lands meant long stays in tents under inhospitable conditions. Tents were the only luxury available and soon these “homes away from home” evolved into mobile, mini-palaces.Chhatra Sagar captures the essence of this romance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chhatra Sagar Hotel Pali
Chhatra Sagar Rajasthan
Chhatra Sagar Hotel Rajasthan
Chhatra Sagar Pali, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing