We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay - Terrific Location”
Review of Chhatra Sagar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chhatra Sagar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pali
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Stay - Terrific Location”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful, tranquil place in March 2013. Recommended by our tour operator it could not have been a more peaceful location The family and their staff provide an exceptionally high level of hospitality and service. The accommodation in the "tents" is luxurious to say the least. The food is of a very high standard and the family who own the camp take a very positive and personal interest in ensuring that the guests are exceptionally well looked after.
We particularly recommend the guided walk around the reservoir where numerous birds can be spotted as well as antelope and wild boar.
Waking up early in the morning, opening the door of your tent, you a see a fantastic panorama of landscape and wildlife, an unforgettable experience! In many ways one of, if not, the highlight of our trip.
When my wife was taken ill, our hosts could not have been more supportive in helping care for her, not least the provision of a stiff gin and tonic punctually at 6pm that evening!!!! and an additional night stay.
We will definitely return there should we return to India, next time for at least a week!!!
Thank you

Room Tip: All the tents are to the same exceptionally high standard. Sorry there is no fitness centre or swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
110
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Was lucky to spend 2 nights with my kids here - the agent booked the place, never heard of it before.
Set in the middle between Jodhpur and Udaipur, do make a pit stop here.
The owners and caretakers (Raj and Nandi) are wonderful hosts. You sleep in tents, get to see wildlife from close up (antelopes, wild boar, hundreds of different birds) and do not hear a single car horn!
Our package included an afternoon nature walk, sundowners on a nearby hill and a tour of the nearby farm and village - all a must do.

Room Tip: All rooms are in tents, you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigadoon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This will be a peaceful respite from a busy tour in India, and especially of interest to birdwatchers. The setting on the reservoir is beautiful, and very serene. Although it was priced similarly to luxury properties where we stayed in India - such as the historic Lake Palace, or The Serai at Jaisalmer (the latter also a tented camp), it is a more rustic experience altogether. The tents are comfortable, but ours at least, did have some issues with maintenance and servicing. They are also closer together than it might seem from the website pictures (unless you are up on the hill). We didn’t experience any sleep disturbances however – the other guests must have been as tired as we were from the daily activities. (Even loud noises during the night from the nearby village did not keep us awake.) It is the included activities which set Chhatra Sagar apart. The evening walk up the hill for sundowners, the morning visit to the village and the two-hour bird-watching walk in the afternoon - all were quite different to what we experienced elsewhere. All were interesting and much enjoyed. Meals are included and are simple but tasty, with a lot of variety. Breakfasts are served at the table (no buffet) with eggs cooked to order, and some toast and pastries as well as an unusual but pleasant pomegranate, yoghurt, honey - and cornflakes - mix. Tea, coffee, juice. Lunches and dinners were served at the table from large pots, with five different curries and rice at each meal, plus breads, soup and dessert. All very good, and I think that they hardly repeated a dish. Chickpea flour dumplings and eggplant in a tamarind sauce were standout dishes for us. Second helpings, and more, were encouraged. Local, organic ingredients. You can buy alcohol, and the prices were reasonable (unlike all the luxury hotels). WiFi connection was available occasionally – and for free. No tipping policy. We both enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it as a way to see something different on your India tour, especially the village visit and meeting some of the people there. It is a low-key sort of experience overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Can't recommend this wonderful little bit of paradise enough. The family who run Chhatra Sagar are utterly charming and incredibly knowledgeable. We felt privileged to be able to share their world for a few days. Harsh, Nandi and their cousin Raj are the most hospitable, discreet and well educated hosts you could hope for. Their love of their home and surrounding communities is apparent and evidenced walking round the farmland and village with the reverence the local people show them.
One of the funniest walking safaris we've done with Nandi and his assassination squad comprising a Great Dane and three terriers who found the antelope and hedgehog before we did! Loads of stunning birds, wild boar and a Golden Jackal.
The tent was absolutely beautiful and as Harsh had very sweetly given us one on the hill for my husbands 50th we had the most stunning views all round. We telephoned our daughters as the sun was setting with a bottle of vodka and tonic watching the little family of wild boar snuffling around getting ready for bed below us, another jackal running past and lots of peacocks landing in the trees. Needless to say the girls were green with envy as we gave them a running commentary! Another wonderful surprise was the meal served just for the two of us by our tent with twinkling tea lights everywhere, champagne, superb food and a delicious birthday cake. The vodka, champagne and cake were complimentary! Such service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 754sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a wonderful experience. Beautiful , serene location. Lovely luxurious tents. Fabulous food. Fantastic hosts. Away from the maddning crowds, a look at rural, agricultural India. Incredible bird watching as well as other wild life....but only in the distance.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina10803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

If only our itinerary had allowed for another day here..
With luxury tents strung along a dam wall with extensive views across the reservoir and surrounding countryside. Our tent was set apart on a hill with 360deg views (but only ask for this if you are fit enough to walk up 60+ steps!
We looked down on antelope and peacocks and G & T sundowner served on the terrace.
A very interesting Nature Walk the first evening gave sight of huge variety of birdlife within the grounds, with our guide being one of the charming owners.
Meals were served under cover, but with sides open for best views of the reservoir.
Each dish was explained in detail. the food was delicious, using local produce, some of which we saw growing in the fields of the nearby village which we also visited.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyjudederbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I can only echo what others have said - a wonderful place. Comfortable luxurious tents, delicious food (the best of our entire stay), perfect hosts, idyllic setting. l can't think of anything I'd want to change!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelquestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pali
68.2 mi away
Chanoud Garh
Chanoud Garh
#1 of 6 in Pali
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vrindavan
Hotel Vrindavan
#3 of 6 in Pali
2 reviews
49.8 mi away
Hotel Mint Inn
Hotel Mint Inn
#6 of 6 in Pali
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Hotel Raj Mahal Beawar
Hotel Raj Mahal Beawar
#1 of 1 in Beawar
5 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lakshman Sagar
Lakshman Sagar
#1 of 16 in Pali
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rawla Bagh - Nimaj
Rawla Bagh - Nimaj
#3 of 16 in Pali
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chhatra Sagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chhatra Sagar

Property: Chhatra Sagar
Address: District . Pali-Marwar, Pali 306303, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Pali District > Pali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chhatra Sagar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tents have always been an important part of Rajput lifestyle. Constant campaigns in far flung lands meant long stays in tents under inhospitable conditions. Tents were the only luxury available and soon these “homes away from home” evolved into mobile, mini-palaces.Chhatra Sagar captures the essence of this romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chhatra Sagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chhatra Sagar Hotel Pali
Chhatra Sagar Rajasthan
Chhatra Sagar Hotel Rajasthan
Chhatra Sagar Pali, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing