We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White River House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White River House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toome
Certificate of Excellence
Toome, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile


Went for sunday lunch with family on the 9th. Food was excellent and the price was very good. The staff were friendly and they gave use a warm welcome we will be happy to return for the carvary again. Many thanks.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wawawewa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    8
    12
    12
See reviews for
44
37
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Truly awful. The staff, when they eventually showed up, were friendly and attempted to take the bare look off this genuinely dreadful place. Not a hotel at all really, more a bar that got extended. Not clean, noisy, no heating in the room until requested, no hot water until requested. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Galdanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Staff Christmas dinners can be a bit hit-and-miss, but I was impressed both by the newly refurbished warm decor of the reception & dining areas and by the food & service.

The food was hot, more than plentiful and better than the average Christmas pre-prepared reheated nosh that some other establishments serve up at this time of year.

The service was excellent: the servers were pleasant & obliging, managing to deliver the meals quickly & without fuss to a fairly large group.

Not overpriced either at £15 for starter, main course, pudding & tea/coffee (£5 extra for sirloin steak).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Zodiac_XL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I attended a friends wedding reception here. The food was delicious and the staff went out of their way to make everything perfect. They did a fantastic job. I stayed the night and the room was clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was lovely too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlCity99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Ill start with the bad.

The lighting in the bridal suite was very very poor, even in the bathroom!. There were flies yes dead flies on the two window sills. The room must not have been checked prior our arrival. The decor was quite dated but maybe this is the nature of the hotel. The bed and wardrobes looked really impressive as did the large TV. The jacuzzi bath wasn't bad at all either. The price of the room was £150 but got it for £100 instead. There were no other rooms available as there was a concert on down the road. Checkout was at 11, and breakfast stopped at ten. I had sausage bacon and eggs. Neither me nor my partner liked the bacon at all, we thought it was undercooked. very greasy and very salty. Thats just my experience and my opinions
Note, The staff were quite friendly, at least the ones i were talking to. Overall I couldn't recommend the hotel based on my bad experiences, flies, bacon, bad lighting, hard to open door etc.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Awful service, overcharged, they had sign outside saying 'kids eat for free', when I ask about it, they lied, said the offer didn't start to the next week!?

When I ask, 'why' leave the sign out this week, the waitress got flustered and said it only applied on certain times of the day and that 'we had just miss it'.

I ask for the manger, she left, then come back buy herself and said that 'two of the children' could eat for free.

When we got the bill we where still charged the full whack!!.

I insisted on seeing the management to complain, they where not only rude but outright insulting. I WILL NEVER SET FOOT IN THIS PLACE AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reggie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Called in on a Sunday afternoon for lunch and certainly was not disappointed.
Although it was Fathers Day and we didn't have a reservation, the staff quickly found us a table in the restaurant for the Sunday Carvery. It could easily be renamed The Belly Buster ! There was a fantastic selection of hot and cold starters - even ribs and cocktail sausages ! The carvery was so fresh and the chef didn't hold back on the portions - beef, pork, ham, turkey and a wide selection of veg. We managed to fit in a dessert - how could we not - the profiteroles were light and delicious and the other desserts also looked great. £11 for all that - a steal !
We enjoyed it so much we called in again midweek for lunch and that was even better. I had chicken supreme with champ - so full of flavour. My friend had lasagne and chips - again delicious. The chips were crispy outside and fluffy inside.We couldn't fit in a dessert, so we`ll have to go back again ! £10 for 2 courses - what a bargain !
Great place - wouldn't mind an overnight in the hotel it looks lovely !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toome
9.4 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
9.6 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dunsilly Hotel
Dunsilly Hotel
#1 of 3 in Antrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antrim M2, JCT.1
11.7 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
13.2 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White River House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White River House Hotel

Property: White River House Hotel
Address: 20-22 Main Street | Toomebridge, Toome BT41 3TQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Toome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White River House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White River House Hotel is a locally run business, located on the banks of the River Bann in the village of Toomebridge, Co Antrim. The building itself dates back to the early 1900's. Catering for all sizes of weddings & functions, from an intimate 40 guests to the larger 250 guests. Facilities include two large function suites, 11 guest bedrooms, bar & the renowned Weavers restaurant. Directors Henry Doherty & Michael Lennon (Head Chef) strive to ensure the hotel meets the high standards their customers have come to expect. The attentive and wecloming staff will ensure that all your needs are catered for during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your White River House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White River House Hotel Toome, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing