We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Jan 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White River House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toome
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Truly awful. The staff, when they eventually showed up, were friendly and attempted to take the bare look off this genuinely dreadful place. Not a hotel at all really, more a bar that got extended. Not clean, noisy, no heating in the room until requested, no hot water until requested. Avoid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Galdanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for White River House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 140 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Staff Christmas dinners can be a bit hit-and-miss, but I was impressed both by the newly refurbished warm decor of the reception & dining areas and by the food & service.

The food was hot, more than plentiful and better than the average Christmas pre-prepared reheated nosh that some other establishments serve up at this time of year.

The service was excellent: the servers were pleasant & obliging, managing to deliver the meals quickly & without fuss to a fairly large group.

Not overpriced either at £15 for starter, main course, pudding & tea/coffee (£5 extra for sirloin steak).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Zodiac_XL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I attended a friends wedding reception here. The food was delicious and the staff went out of their way to make everything perfect. They did a fantastic job. I stayed the night and the room was clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was lovely too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OwlCity99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Ill start with the bad.

The lighting in the bridal suite was very very poor, even in the bathroom!. There were flies yes dead flies on the two window sills. The room must not have been checked prior our arrival. The decor was quite dated but maybe this is the nature of the hotel. The bed and wardrobes looked really impressive as did the large TV. The jacuzzi bath wasn't bad at all either. The price of the room was £150 but got it for £100 instead. There were no other rooms available as there was a concert on down the road. Checkout was at 11, and breakfast stopped at ten. I had sausage bacon and eggs. Neither me nor my partner liked the bacon at all, we thought it was undercooked. very greasy and very salty. Thats just my experience and my opinions
Note, The staff were quite friendly, at least the ones i were talking to. Overall I couldn't recommend the hotel based on my bad experiences, flies, bacon, bad lighting, hard to open door etc.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Awful service, overcharged, they had sign outside saying 'kids eat for free', when I ask about it, they lied, said the offer didn't start to the next week!?

When I ask, 'why' leave the sign out this week, the waitress got flustered and said it only applied on certain times of the day and that 'we had just miss it'.

I ask for the manger, she left, then come back buy herself and said that 'two of the children' could eat for free.

When we got the bill we where still charged the full whack!!.

I insisted on seeing the management to complain, they where not only rude but outright insulting. I WILL NEVER SET FOOT IN THIS PLACE AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
5  Thank reggie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Called in on a Sunday afternoon for lunch and certainly was not disappointed.
Although it was Fathers Day and we didn't have a reservation, the staff quickly found us a table in the restaurant for the Sunday Carvery. It could easily be renamed The Belly Buster ! There was a fantastic selection of hot and cold starters - even ribs and cocktail sausages ! The carvery was so fresh and the chef didn't hold back on the portions - beef, pork, ham, turkey and a wide selection of veg. We managed to fit in a dessert - how could we not - the profiteroles were light and delicious and the other desserts also looked great. £11 for all that - a steal !
We enjoyed it so much we called in again midweek for lunch and that was even better. I had chicken supreme with champ - so full of flavour. My friend had lasagne and chips - again delicious. The chips were crispy outside and fluffy inside.We couldn't fit in a dessert, so we`ll have to go back again ! £10 for 2 courses - what a bargain !
Great place - wouldn't mind an overnight in the hotel it looks lovely !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we were at this hotel for 3nights in june for a family ocasion the rooms were lovely although a bit warm the staff were very helpful and polite and made our stay a pleasure we also used the bar and again the staff were very nice we hope to visit again at some point

Room Tip: room 202 has a sky light directly above the bed and could do with a blind on it as the sun comes in...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toome
9.4 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
891 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
9.6 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
327 reviews
13.2 mi away
Apparo
Apparo
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
146 reviews
9.2 mi away
Dunsilly Hotel
Dunsilly Hotel
#1 of 3 in Antrim
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White River House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White River House Hotel

Address: 20-22 Main Street | Toomebridge, Toome BT41 3TQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Toome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toome
Price Range: $114 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White River House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White River House Hotel is a locally run business, located on the banks of the River Bann in the village of Toomebridge, Co Antrim. The building itself dates back to the early 1900's. Catering for all sizes of weddings & functions, from an intimate 40 guests to the larger 250 guests. Facilities include two large function suites, 11 guest bedrooms, bar & the renowned Weavers restaurant. Directors Henry Doherty & Michael Lennon (Head Chef) strive to ensure the hotel meets the high standards their customers have come to expect. The attentive and wecloming staff will ensure that all your needs are catered for during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White River House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White River House Hotel Toome, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing