We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience not as good as I would have hoped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Quarto D'Altino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked two family rooms for two nights before our cruise holiday departing from Venice. I had read the positive Tripadvisor reviews and thought the large rooms for a relative low price combined with the complimentary shuttle bus would be a good bargain.

Location:
The first mistake I made was assuming the shuttle bus would also apply to Treviso airport, which it does not. The shuttle bus was only provided for Marco Polo airport. Which I only found out after booking the hotel. When emailing the hotel customer service whether they would be able to arrange something else, a good alternative, the answer was no and they gave me a number of a taxi company which was honestly not the answer I had hoped for. With that answer I decided to arrange my own transfer through suntransfers.com which worked out fine in the end.
The hotel is located in a quant little suburban village with nothing but nice homes and 1 town center with a supermarket and a couple of restaurants (I would recommend Da Bruno for nice homely pasta for a decent price and good service). The railway station is just behind the hotel, which is only 2 stops to Venice.

Welcome: Arriving at the hotel the reception felt cold and not that welcoming. The receptionist behind the desk was doing her job with hardly a smile.

Rooms: the rooms and beds are quite large, especially by Italian/Venice standards. Additional beds were arranged which were also fine. The rest of the interior was okay but already showing a tired look, which also applies for the public areas. The bathroom was of a good size, however the shower did not have enough water pressure for a decent shower. Our view from the room was facing the railroad, not a very attractive view.

Breakfast: was included and had a good basic spread.

Conclusion: although the rooms are large for an economical price, I would not choose this hotel when returning to Venice. Quarto D'Altino is a nice sleepy village, but with nothing else to do.

If the service and accommodation had been better then this would indeed be a good alternative for a family visiting Venice. Unfortunately it wasn't which is a shame as I would have hoped it would be just that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KYAtAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear KYAtAdam,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a comprehensive review. I am happy that you found our room accommodations comfortable enough during your stay. I apologize if you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the service received from our front desk staff and if you found our location inaccessible. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance in the future to host you again.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel was booked through Norweigen Cruise lines as part of a package. The positives on the hotel are:
Nice hotel
Great breakfast included with the cruise package
Located in a nice, small village in the country side
near airport with free ariport shuttle - make reservations a day ahead
Right next to train service to Venice
Negatives:
Expensive food - check trip advisor for several restaurants within walking distance that are good

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danesin_Fulvio, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Greg M

I would like to really thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Venice East.

I was delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and found the hotel , facilities and most importantly the service to your liking. Our goal is to always provide a great experience.

Regarding the meal prices, I would like to inform you that there are available in our retaurant light meal menues at a very good value..

I have have shared your kind words to all the team here at the hotel and I hope you will visit us again in the near future.



With Kind regards.

Fulvio Danesin, General Manager
Crowne Plaza Venice East

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza three nights prior to our European cruise. The hotel was very close to the airport which was nice after the long flight from Minnesota. I booked a room that included the buffet and was glad we did. The only negative comment I can make about this hotel is the cost of the buffet. The food was good and filling, but not worth $25 Euro per person.(Close to $35 US) I would definently book a room that includes it, unless the "pay in advance" rate was less than $50 Euro of the included breakfast rate.

ALL employees were very professional and friendly. The front desk staff naturally spoke the best english, but we were able to communicate with everyone for the things we needed.

The rate we paid was easily a third the cost of a comparable hotel in Venice. With the train station right next to the hotel, this becomes a very reasonably priced way to see Venice. The front desk clerks explained the process of getting to Venice and back to the hotel very effectively. The train ride is $6 Euro each way and takes about 30 minutes. My suggestion would be to not take the train that leaves in the 7:30 to 8:30 AM range as it is VERY full with people going to work. At other times there were plenty of seats.

The Crowne Plaza made the start of our vacation very relaxing. We would stay here again, if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allgoodonesgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great location outside City Centre with nearby walking distance great restaurant (Ristorante izzeria Vecio Decimo) ! Free breakfast was wide variety and good! Free internet that made it great to connect with others. Train station was just a walk away and only 30 minutes to City Centre for 5.70 euros roundtrip...pp. Great price hotel and free airport pickup and dropoff. What can I say more..

Room Tip: suite...nice large room with king size bed and lots of room to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlowtlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Positives: Room size is very good, with a large bathroom. From an American perspective, the room size is in line with a typical hotel room in the United States. Storage in the room is good, and it has a safe for storing valuables. The twin beds in our room were very comfortable - we had no trouble getting a good night's sleep. Sound proofing between rooms is very good - we didn't hear any noise from neighbors. The breakfast provided by the hotel is of good quality, with a broad selection of food available. The train station is located directly behind the hotel, so access is both fast and easy. The train ride into Venice takes roughly 30 minutes, and it is relatively easy to buy tickets and find your way to the correct platform for the return trip (this was our first visit to Venice). The hotel offers free shuttle service to the airport, which was a big benefit.

Negatives: Cleanliness of the carpeting and lack of help from the front desk staff. Based on North American standards, the carpeting in the hallways is filthy - it either needs a deep cleaning or replacement. We had multiple concerns with the desk staff. First, there was a transit strike scheduled for the evening of our visit, and we didn't hear anything from the hotel staff, even after we asked for the train schedule. I would have expected the hotel staff to alert us to the strike, and to make plans to avoid being trapped overnight in Venice. Second, at the time we checked it we also asked to be added to the airport shuttle schedule for the next morning. We were told they were too busy to do it at that time, only to find out later that it took them 30 seconds to complete the task. Third, we found that, even if you are on the shuttle schedule, there's no effort made to give priority to people who signed up in advance versus people who just show up and expect to be transported to the airport. We had a big rush of people for the 8:50am shuttle, only about half of whom had made prior arrangements. It was a "whoever pushes hardest gets on the shuttle" situation versus calling the room numbers of the people who would be given seats.

Summary: Overall, our visit to the Crowne Plaza was just fine for a one-night visit. Despite the weakness of the staff at the front desk and somewhat run-down appearance, the hotel is comfortable. My best wishes to the the owners as they continue to improve.

For a one-night visit, the Crowne Plaza was just fine.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front of the hotel - on the street - and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A lovely hotel, bright and modern. Rooms were well appointed with comfy beds and good bathrooms. We ate breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and both were excellent. The staff are pleasant and eager to please. There was a cafe a short walk down the road if we had preferred. The railway station is literally behind the hotel and a 2 minute walk away. Tickets can be purchased at reception and cost about 5 - 6 euros return into Venice. Don't forget to validate your ticket at the machine on the platform. The hotel is only about 15 minutes from Marco Polo airport and offers a free shuttle. However, our plane arrived late so we missed the shuttle we had booked. We looked out for the next one but couldn't see anyone, and clearly no-one looked out for us. We ended up getting public transport (bus and train) which was a trek with luggage - the bus drivers do not assist with luggage, and neither the stations nor the trains have easy access! We booked the shuttle to take us back to the airport and when we asked where to wait the staff looked a little perplexed and went off to make a phone call. We got the distinct impression that the bus had left without us even though we were well on time. It came back to collect us but they clearly had not checked the names of the passengers! Apart from that glitch, it is an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the railway side may be noisy;not sure as ours was on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovegeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

although this hotel is very " North American" in style, it does offer some advantages. The room offer very good sound privacy which can be a problem in European hotels. Although though it is a train ride into the city of Venice, the station is right outside the hotel as very easy to access and inexpensive transportation. We would stay here again. The only down fall is the restraunt is expensive and of average quaility

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quarto D'Altino
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Airvenice
Best Western Hotel Airvenice
#5 of 6 in Quarto D'Altino
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Borgo Ca dei Sospiri
Borgo Ca dei Sospiri
#1 of 6 in Quarto D'Altino
427 reviews
1 mi away
Park Hotel Junior
Park Hotel Junior
#3 of 6 in Quarto D'Altino
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Venice
Residence Venice
#4 of 6 in Quarto D'Altino
151 reviews
8 mi away
Novotel Venezia Mestre
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,169 reviews
9 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino

Address: Viale della Resistenza 18/20, 30020, Quarto D'Altino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Quarto D'Altino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quarto D'Altino
#3 Family Hotel in Quarto D'Altino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quarto D'Altino
Price Range: $75 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino hotel, with its comfortable and fashionable rooms, is ideally located at just 20 minutes by train from the magic of Venice and provides easy access via A4 motorway to Venice Marco Polo airport (12km) and Treviso (17km). All 152 rooms offer high speed internet access and interactive TVs. In addition to our spacious Executive rooms, the hotel offers Family and Accessible rooms. You can unwind in our smart Minigym and relax in our L'Invito restaurant and bar where authentic cuisine blends perfectly with innovative and creative dishes. The Crowne Plaza Venice East Quarto d'Altino is equipped with state-of-the-art conference technology and service, making it the ideal choice for business meetings, conferences and seminars (6 meeting rooms, all with natural daylight from 10 to 250 people).Wi-fi service provided throughout the hotel. Ample free car parking and garage provided on site. The CP Venice East-Quarto d'Altino has been consecutively awarded Best Hotel 2005 and Torchbearer 2006 amongst 600 IHG hotels in the EMEA region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d'Altino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto d`Altino Hotel Quarto d`Altino
Crowne Plaza Quarto d Altino
Holiday Inn Venice East
Crowne Plaza Venice East-Quarto D'Altino Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing