We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only stay here if you have no other choice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Hotel Borromeo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Hotel Borromeo
hampshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Only stay here if you have no other choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is in a very quiet location but really, unless you have no other choice I'd stay elsewhere. When I stayed the hotel had few visible guests - deservedly so I'm afraid.

The room was nice enough, but I was woken in the middle of the night by the toilet randomly flushing, which it continued to do all night at intervals of 20-30 minutes. The man on reception at checkout was possibly the rudest I have ever encountered and breakfast is a meagre affair.

Never again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula24jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
7
8
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Fairly large hotel situated on the outskirts of Milan near Linate airport. The place was very quiet when I was there, not sure if it was the time of year, economy or something else. Typical hotel offerings – free parking round the back, reasonably good restaurant, quick and efficient check-in and check-out. Wifi available at a charge.

Rooms were clean and modern but a little plain and soulless. Never liked laminate flooring – I could hear every step from the lady in the room above. Also didn’t like the only window being a door leading to a tiny balcony – this faced out direct to the car park so was kept shut and provided little light.

Over the road is a large lake originally used for flying boats. However, a little tricky getting there by foot as you need walk down and cross a busy dual carriage way. By using the slip roads of the hotel and the hotel next door, plus some grass verge and being careful I managed to get there safely. Lots of people running/cycling in the park around the lake, couldn’t see anywhere to eat but at the far end in the distance there were some building that could have been cafes or similar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We have stayed in Country Hotel Borromeo for 3 nights in April, 2012. Overall experience - quite ok. The hotel is clean, it is located outside Milano, next to airport Linate and offers free shuttle service. If u are a tourist and the purpose of the trip is to see Milano, this might not be the best option as the taxi to town is about 35 euros, and there are no direct bus connections between the hotel and town.
Basically, read carefully the information about the location of the hotel before choosing it.
Regarding the services: room services is available, the hotel staff was very pleasant and nice. There is a restaurant in the hotel, food is ok. Breakfast is a bit poor i would say. Wifi - bigger problem. It is not free and u can get a good connection only at the reception of the hotel.
Room amenities, ok, but the showers are a bit weird. It takes a lot of effort to close the doors of the shower. This is a remark towards the hotel management.
Surroundings - very calming and beautiful. We enjoyed a coffee on the huge balcony of our room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EFVMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

My accommodations at a friend's house in Milan were not working out, and I was going to have to catch a very early morning flight at Linate on Wednesday, so on Easter Monday, my Italian friend picked me up and drove me to the airport area, where she said two hotels were showing vacancies. First we went to Holiday Inn, primarily because you usually know what you're getting, no matter where you are in the world. However, there was no one at their reservation desk, and the lobby was dark, dingy, and smelled of mold. It looked as if the last upgrade to the premises was in the 80s. After 5 minutes standing all alone at the check-in waiting to be acknowledged, a flustered woman finally popped her head out of the back office and told (not asked) me to wait, then went back to her phone calls. After another 5 minutes passed, we got back into the car and drove to the second hotel on our list, Country Hotel Borromeo. (I wonder how long it took Holiday Inn to notice that I wasn't there anymore?!)

This hotel appeared much cleaner, and newer, and there was a personable young lady at reception, who spoke English rather well, so I checked into this hotel. It had advertised WiFi, but you must pay 10 euro for 8 hours, and they give you a password. In this day and age, advertising yourself as catering to businesspeople but not offering free WiFi is really a negative point. Upgrade!

When I went to confirm their "free airport shuttle," I was informed that they start their airport runs at 7 AM. My flight was scheduled to depart at 6:55 AM, so I had to take a taxi (20 euro set price). They should have offered to pay for the taxi, but at least they had one waiting for me at 5:15 AM as I checked out.

The room was spacious, the bed was rather spartan but comfortable enough, although everything was decorated in a dull hunter green. The bathroom was the best thing about it. It was huge, modern, with a tub/shower combination that was well-designed, and had one of those warmer-thingies on the wall, so that I could hand-wash a few unmentionables and have a warm towel. Like! :-) The basket of toiletries was well-stocked, and I was pleased to discover a shower cap, which many hotels seem to have discontinued offering. The tub was one of those where you can actually recline all the way, so I took a book in and enjoyed a prolonged soak, with their wonderful bath salts.

I didn't use either the heat or the air conditioning, having arrived at a time when the temperature needed no adjustment, but I will say that the windows ought to have screens, because even in the first week of April, I was bitten by mosquitoes when I opened the windows for fresh air.

When I checked in, I noted that the entire place was as quiet as a morgue, and asked them how many guest rooms there were. They responded that there were 75, and that I was currently the only guest, although they were expecting others to begin to check in the following day. At least I knew I wouldn't be annoyed by any loud guests! To be sure, I never saw one other guest during my 2 days there.

This hotel is really not near anything except a lake at least a mile away, where you could take a stroll if you were so inclined. However, when I was there, it was raining on and off, so I elected to stay inside, and play online and read. Also, due to the holiday, the hotel's restaurant was closed, and wouldn't reopen until the next afternoon, so after my friend departed, there was absolutely nowhere to eat anything. I actually resorted to eating icky, expensive (3.5 euro for a small package of 4 cookies. 2 euro for a bottle of water) snacks from the minibar.

If you need a place to stay prior to your flight out of Linate, this hotel fits the bill. At about 100 euro per night, it's relatively inexpensive by Milan standards. However, to be worthy of the 4 stars it's promoted as, details such as the one plastic chair in the room, the total lack of any sofa or lounge/reading chairs, and charging for rather intermittent WiFi should be addressed. Also, there was no swimming pool, no exercise room, no spa, no gift shop, no way to order a massage or a pedicure or anything else I would have thought of to spend the better part of two days while stuck way out in the middle of nowhere with no car.

Honorable mention goes to Valentina at the front desk. She was genuine and personable, and an asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 256 right next to the elevators was a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexinasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

I know this hotel since many years, and it is one of my first choices when traveling in the Milan neighboroughs.
The rooms are located on two floors with long corridors, not very comfortable since they are very cold in winter and hot in summer. The reception people is kind and warm, and it is open 24h.
The rooms are cheaper than you can expect, poor bed, a bit noisy.
minibar is ok, no wireless available in the rooms. Cabled connection to Internet is very espensive. No free wifi neither in the public locations.
Relatively poor breakfast. Horrible coffe, don't even try to have one.
On the other hand, its location is very good. Just a few minutes from the Linate airport and from most of the big companies in Segrate (IBM, Microsoft, Mondadori, etc.).
Very difficult to get a taxi coming from the airport, so be prepared to long wait.

Room Tip: Ask for not smoking room in the main building at 2nd floor. Refuse the far rooms on the long corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrado C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night before a flight back home. It's only 10 mins from Milan-Linate airport which is great since they offer a free shuttle service. The hotel itself is a very strange layout, on a big circle. I was on 2nd floor where there is no wifi! Big no-no for a business traveler nowadays. There was a hard-wire connection which you had to pay 10Euros for 8 hrs - but steep and not convenient of usable if you want to use your i-device. You have to walk back to the reception to get the codes to get access.
Rooms had two single beds, which is a bit retro, and the tiny TV had virtually no english language channels and had barely inaudible volume.
Restaurant food was good, as was breakfast. Pretty minimal staffing - you could wait for 30mins before anyone came to serve you at the bar, and don't even think about eating dinner before they open at 7:30pm.

Room Tip: I think the ground floor has wifi - if you're lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loopjammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

It's a good thing they use the word 'country' in their name because you are pretty much in the country at this hotel. Although it is a full hour cab ride from the airport (~$160 USD, FYI. Take a shuttle or anything else into town and avoid a cab ride to your hotel if you can, taxis are outrageous especially to non-Italians...) make no mistake, you are not anywhere near Milan from this hotel, it's another 30 minutes to get there by bus. From this hotel you have to get the hotel shuttle (which stops running pretty early) or pay a cab to even get to the place to catch the bus to get into Milan, so it's a safe bet that you'll at least have to pay a cab to get back to the hotel from the bus station at night, which we did and it was $35 USD. Everything is super expensive in Italy, so sometimes you just have to do it, but I don't recommend this place for location. If you are going to Milan, stay in Milan is my advice. Breakfast was EU standard, staff was nice, rooms 'okay' but the rooms are so spread out that I had to drag my luggage through hallways for nearly 10 minutes (at a fast pace) checking in and out). In the city, dinner prices are crazy expensive but I can recommend a place that had great service, wonderful view, great food, and more reasonable prices than other places. I can't remember the name of the restaurant, but I am uploading a photo of the front of the Duomo that will let you know where it is. If you can see this view, you are at the right place. We dined al fresco and it was wonderful. You will get hit on by street vendors, but the wait staff at this place ferociously fights them off.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ask for a room with balcony view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imbethanntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peschiera Borromeo
0.8 mi away
NH Linate
NH Linate
#1 of 6 in Peschiera Borromeo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Milan Linate
Holiday Inn Milan Linate
#4 of 6 in Peschiera Borromeo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Milano Linate Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maxim Hotel
Maxim Hotel
#2 of 6 in Peschiera Borromeo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Air Hotel  Linate
Air Hotel Linate
#2 of 5 in Segrate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.2 mi away
Espressohotel
Espressohotel
#3 of 5 in Segrate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hotel Borromeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hotel Borromeo

Property: Country Hotel Borromeo
Address: Via Bruno Buozzi 4, 20068 Peschiera Borromeo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Milan > Peschiera Borromeo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Peschiera Borromeo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Hotel Borromeo 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Country Hotel Borromeo è un albergo 4 stelle polifunzionale ubicato a Peschiera Borromeo in zona Idroscalo, a pochi minuti dall’aeroporto di Linate.L’ hotel dispone di 75 camere tutte completamente ristrutturate nel 2007 e dotate dei massimi comfort.Il centro congressi dispone di 6 sale riunioni, attrezzate per accogliere meeting di piccola e media grandezza.Il nostro Ristorante “I Fontanili”, luogo ideale per pranzi, colazioni, cene di lavoro e banchetti, propone una cucina tipicamente mediterranea. Completano l’offerta il servizio navetta gratuito su richiesta e disponibilità da e per l’ aeroporto di Linate dalle 7 alle 23 e l’ ampio parcheggio gratuito interno.Country Hotel Borromeo is a multifunctional four star hotel providing quality accommodation for both the business and tourist traveler located only few minutes from Linate airport.Hotel has 75 rooms which have been lavishly refurbished in 2007 to offer the highest level of style, sophistication, luxury, comfort and convenience.The hotel has 6 large & small meeting rooms to cater for all types of conferences, business functions and small exhibitions.. Our restaurant “I Fontanili”is the ideal place to celebrate special events; from business congresses to weddings, this locally renowned gourmet restaurant offers an exciting menu which specialises in healthy first class Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Country Hotel Borromeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Milan
Country Hotel Borromeo Milan/Peschiera Borromeo, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing