We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice would do it again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Foligno
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed twice would do it again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel near the center of town. Nice rooms, clean, multilingual and friendly staff. Good restaurant run by same folks next door. Near the main piazza in town and centrally located to parks and shops. About a 15 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soupruls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    86
    24
    1
    4
See reviews for
37
46
4
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel Italia is in the very best location in Foligno- Piazza Matteotti joins the Piazza della Republica with its magnificent Duomo and civic buildings. The staff of the hotel are friendly and efficient. My double room on the third floor was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was also generous in size, and the shower was the best in many Italian hotels that I have stayed in in recent weeks. I had a sunny balcony too- what more could you want? After drinks in the Piazza, our evening meal in the hotel restaurant next door was simple but well prepared and enjoyable. The continental breakfast was pretty standard.

Room Tip: It always pays to look at a room before accepting it ; mine was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Hotel Italia is a clean no nonsense hotel. Our room was clean and spacious. The bathroom clean as well. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast adequate for Italian hotels. All together this was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natanTel_Aviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Missouri
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week during a Road Scholar tour. The location is excellent, convenient to the town and the train station.

We were given Room 302 which is a two bedroom unit with a small terrace. The unit was spacious, but because only one of the rooms had storage (a wall rack for hanging items and a large "antique" chest of drawers it lacked the privacy one would expect with two rooms. One room had a bed similar to queen-sized in the states. That room had French doors that accessed to small terrace, a built-in counter of about 8 feet, and a small refrigerator beneath it. The person occupying this room stated the bed would not be comfortable for two because the mattress was soft and two would probably roll together. The 2nd room had a twin-sized bed which had a small trundle beneath it. This room contained all the storage for the unit. The bathroom was large by European standards with a decent sized shower.

The unit was very clean when we arrived. It was cleaned daily and we were also provided clean towels daily. The beds were changed midway through our stay.

The desk staff was very helpful during our stay, providing directions, suggestions, and even fixing my camera! All of the hotel desk staff spoke very good English.

Internet Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby area. There is a computer available for guest use.

The restaurant associated with the hotel is fantastic. A breakfast is provided daily which is quite large compared to other breakfasts we experienced in Italy. There were always freshly baked items, croissants of various types, cereals, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, breads, sliced meats and cheese. One was also given one coffee drink as a part of the breakfast. Juices were dispensed by a machine. Our group ate one lunch and seven dinners at the restaurant. Although we did not have a choice in our meal selections, each one was more outstanding than the last. Also the house red wine was very drinkable.

I am rating this hotel as very good, based upon the over-sized unit we had. If we had a more standard sized unit, I would probably rate it as average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westmotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Italia for a week while on a Road Scholar trip and I highly recommend it. Foligno is a great location for exploring Umbria and has several interesting sites such as Palazzo Trinci. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff is very nice and helpful. The site is just a block from the main square. The restaurant is excellent and they serve a large (for Italy) buffet breakfast with all the pastries made there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kas1757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

I spent a weekend at the Hotel Italia in Foligno, and I recommend it for a pleasant stop while visiting Umbria and Tuscany. Foligno is a small but interesting city, worth visiting for amazing works of art, such as the Liberal Arts room painted by Gentile da Fabriano in Palazzo Trinci. The hotel has been recently renovated and our room was ample and full of light. The staff was helpful and kind and you are literally just a few steps away from the main square with its lovely cafès. I was there during La Quintana, weekend. It'a a jousting tournament very widely advertised but quite touristy. If you manage to avoide it, the rooms are much cheaper and your experience will still be rewarding (and dfinitely quieter).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast was acceptable, but rather uninspiring. They could do much better.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank raf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foligno hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Foligno
0.3 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Le Mura
0.3 mi away
Relais Metelli
Relais Metelli
#2 of 17 in Foligno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Valentini Inn
Hotel Valentini Inn
#12 of 17 in Foligno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel & Resort Le Colombare
Hotel & Resort Le Colombare
#1 of 1 in Sant'Eraclio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 12, 06034, Foligno, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Foligno
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Foligno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing