We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely campsite, highly recommended!”
Review of I Pini Family Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
I Pini Family Park
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Glad I didn't look at reviews before we went as some of them are not so good. We went to I Pini in May half term, withThomson Al Fresco in a mobile home.Four of us, 2 adults, offpring age 18 and 12. We chose the site because of its proximity to Rome. Flew Ryan Air, no problems and on time. Weather was superb, hot and sunny the majority of the time. We hired a car although the site do run trips and will run you to the station where you get a train to Rome. They also run a trip to Rome, 7.30 am to 7.30pm when we looked. The site is on its own really in the countryside. We did go into the nearest town, about 5 - 10 mins by car but couldn't find a centre or anywhere to eat..this might be an idea the campsite could take up..reccomendations and a map of the nearby town.

So...good points
Location..countryside, lots of trees., peaceful
Staff very helpful and friendly. On the day we arrived we had had no lunch and were starving but although the restaurant at the site was shut (had school parties in) they still let us eat, as long as we had the same as the schools, pasta/meatballs/chips, which we did. There was a mix up with the linen we had hired but again they sorted it out straight away and gave us extra blanket when we were cold. Maintaenance was very quick tooo when one of our taps leaked.
Van was well equiped, although bit crammed in. Decking was a plus.
Restaurant was nice, food reasonbl;ey priced. Bit of aschool dinner hall feeling as lots of long tables but some smaller ones. Service was ok too. Ate there a few times, and had a takeaway from there
Shop, well stocked, friendly staff, reasonable priced. HUGE barrel of local wine , you could sample and then fill up 2 1/2 litre bottles very cheaply . Choice of two white and two red. Lovely cheese counter, fresh bread delivered daily, also books on shelves you could swap with books you no longer wanted.
Owners..very friendly and helpful
Pool..wonderful.The bigger pool was shallow, soft and padded (!) Lovely slide. Theo other pool was rectangular and for swimmers really.Very clean. Never crowded,although I though half term was quite peak time. Choice of LOADS of sun loungers, quiet atmosphere. May be a different story in summer though.
Toilets and washblock clean too

Points which may be a problem/negative for some people
The Thomson vans are very crammed in , although a lot cheaper than Eurocamp. The site does have its own vans and various other companies operate there too. Te Eurocamp vans are mostly up in the shade in the trees on the edge. The tents are near the pool. Our van was near the pool, and we soon got used to the proximity of other vans as have been on other sites with Eurocamp where we have been very close to other units..its luck of the draw re pitches.
Paths are quite uneven round the site, tree roots have bumped them up although not too bad.
No notices to say how air con worked etc..altho this is Thomsons area not I Pini. there is no Thomson rep on site.
For us there wasn't much to do in the evening, although again we have found this before on Eurocamp sites. Depends what you like to do ohn holiday and we knew this wouldn't be a holiday where we were strolling down to the nearby town and choosing a restaurant to dine in. There was no entertainment, although we were perhaps early in the season
Rather large insects/hornets...take insect spray! Not a lot of them but they were around.

all in all we really enjoyed our holiday, it combined peacefulness with visits to Rome. A week was enough for us though, we had done all we wanted to do and chilled out as much as we wanted to. I would return though if I wanted to visit Rome again as it's nice to get away from the busy city.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank febe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 354 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

If you are shocked by accommodation prices for Rome then I Pini is for you. It offers a cheap but decent alternative for the serious visitor who is eager to experience Rome. If you are a first time visitor to Italy, or Europe as a whole, I Pini gives you the opportunity to experience the country side as well.

Somehow I struggeled to find information on how to get there from the airport, thre are several oprtions on this links: http://www.ecvacanze.it/en/ipinifamilypark/directions

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosipili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at I Pini several years ago, but only for a couple of nights at the end of a holiday in Tuscany and Umbria, we had always wanted to return for a longer stay...and we weren't disappointed.
We used Elle Vacanze for our first visit, but this time we stayed with Thompson 'Al Fresco' in a 'Vivaldi' mobile home which was excellent value. Be aware that there are no Thompson reps onsite unlike the other companies....Eurocamp....rent a tent..etc
We found the site very clean and well run with very helpful staff in the reception as well as the restaurant and shop. However the shop was obviously 'running down' it's stock as it was toward the end of the season as there was a poor selection of fresh meats and cheeses...pre packed prosciutto cotto...and no mozzarella! on the plus side they do have 4 large stainless steel containers with a choice of wines, 2 white and 2 red....fill up your plastic bottles for around 4 euros per litre!!....and very drinkable!
If the shop doesn't have what you want there are supermarkets within easy reach...if you have a car....and if you don't have a car never fear, the site operates a free transfer to Fiano Romano where there is a small 'carrefour' supermarket near the drop-off point.
The pool area is great, especially the new 'lagoon' pool, which is absolutely ideal for the very young...as well as those a little older! around the pool area there is plenty of space and plenty of sunbeds!....might be busier in July/August. Tthere is a small but quite expensive snack bar. Oh there is a lifeguard...but he seemed to spend most of his time propping up the bar!
The restaurant is a nice place to relax, with plenty of tables outside ....and inside, should you encounter a sudden downpour as we did! During high season there is entertainment for children of all ages on a stage next to the seating area.
We thouroughlly enjoyed our stay at I Pini and will return again in the very near future
Sylvia and Mike Troughton (UK)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beetle274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed in a permanent tent at this camp site. It was very basic, clean and comfortable. We expected it to be noisy and busy as many young people stay here whilst backpacking. However there were also plenty of families and we knew our children would enjoy staying here rather than a hotel. They played in the pool, playground and overall we all had an enjoyable stay. I did pack earplugs which I did use. The staff at reception were absolutely fantastic, friendly and helpful. I couldn't say the same for the lady at the information desk or the girl serving at the supermarket, they were the exact opposite.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brisbanefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We always opt for smaller parks, as we have small children, and this is by far the best site we have visited. It was the prefect size for the kids to explore, and the pool was large and shallow, which made it safe for small children. In fact it was a hit with older children too. The animation gang worked hard to entertain the children. The mobile home was lovely (Eurocamp) and it a secluded spot, which suited us well. The site was very clean and friendly. You do need a car, and there are lots of beautiful open countryside around and we had a great time exploring the area. We intend to return next year for longer!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cs_macewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This small, young family site is well mentained and located close to Rome. It is kept tidy, there are 2 pools one large for the kids and the smaller for the adults.These have life guards patrolling. There is a small poolside shop / bar which keeps ice-cream, drinks and snacks. There is a well stocked supermarket, a good bar and a restaurant offering a wide selection of dishes at decent prices. English is spoken by most staff who are friendly and helpful. There are 5 staff who keep the kids amused most of the day both around the pool and at night near the bar. There is also aqua aerobics for all. a rellly pleasant relaxing stay at this site.

A coach is organised each day to transport those who wish to see Rome. This drops you off at around 10am and collects you at 6pm, leaving you plenty of time to explore on your own. There is a hop-on hop-off bus tour near the drop off point which we thought was more extensive than the one offered on site and slightly cheaper. These open topped buses go round most of the major sites or drops you off close to sites which are pedestrianised. This is good value and saves the feet, and you get a taped commentry as you go round Rome. We bought a 2 day pass which is better vaue and you will need at least 2 days to do it right. Bring plenty to drink as you will pay crazy prices in Rome for drink of any kind. With the heat the mosquetos tend to be active bring spray, for the entire holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KeenCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed for one week in July in a Eurocamp mobile home, chalet 17. We had a wooden veranda at the front which was lovely to sit in and shelter from the sweltering heat (36C) Luckily an electric fan was installed in the living room area.

The site itself is very nice, but quite small. The supermarket on site has just about everything that you need at reasonable prices. They have 4 stainless steel vats containing different wines; you can select a bottle and fill it up yourself. They also have bottled wines! We had a large fridge freezer which was handy for the delicious icecream that the supermarket stocks.

The windows of the mobile home had protective screens to counter insects, but despite wearing lots of mosquito repellent I got bitten lots of times.

We did not have a TV so if you are bringing children, you may consider bringing CDs for them. The CD player is also an ipod/iphone docking station.

The on-site entertainment for children was very good, "young friends" did a dancing show each night for the children which was very popular.

The on-site restaurant was very good indeed, lovely pastas, pizzas and wine at very reasonable prices and very good service.

We used the site as a base to travel on to the amalfi coast by car and go to pompeii. The site offers excursions, but since we had our own car we went ourselves. The road network from the site is very good. The A1 leads on to the A3 which takes you to Pompeii South right next the the ancient site, with car parking at 10 euros per day. The trip took about 3 hours. Continuing on the A3 to Salerno, leads to the Amalfi Coast Road, which is not for the faint-hearted, especialy at weekends when it is very busy. As an experienced driver, I was pretty frazzled by the time I reached our B&B in Atrani.

I would probably return to this site, but would go in Spring or Autumn when the temperatures are more comfortable.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
5  Thank sandra_flitwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiano Romano
21.8 mi away
Camping Tiber
Camping Tiber
#102 of 1,182 in Rome
285 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
Best Western Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Fiano Romano
454 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Relax Roma Nord
Hotel Relax Roma Nord
#2 of 5 in Fiano Romano
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#3 of 5 in Fiano Romano
173 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palace Inn
Palace Inn
#4 of 5 in Fiano Romano
74 reviews
2 mi away
La Locanda del Tevere
La Locanda del Tevere
#2 of 10 in Fiano Romano
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Pini Family Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Pini Family Park

Address: Via delle Sassette 28, 00065 Fiano Romano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiano Romano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Fiano Romano
Price Range: $28 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — I Pini Family Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Pini Family Park: camping, nature, Rome, comfort and relaxation... All within your family's reach. Have you ever thought of spending a holiday in Rome while at the same time relaxing, immersed in the greenery, surrounded by all kinds of comforts and with total safety for the kids? For all of this - I Pini Family Park. Stretch out by the pools, which are designed in every detail for your children's safety, in the evocative landscape of the Roman hills... And when you like, in a few minutes you can be walking among the beauties of Rome. The perfect holiday for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your I Pini Family Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Pini Family Park Hotel Fiano Romano
I Pini Family Park Rome/Fiano Romano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing