We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming country retreat with real character.”
Review of Borgo San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borgo San Marco
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Fasano
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at Borgo San Marco for a week during Witsun half term. The place was fully occupied and probably half of the rooms were occupied by families with very young children, but with so much indoor and outdoor space around the property to relax in, this never caused any disturbance. This is a great place either for couples or young families. The pool area was well designed, although unseasonably cool weather meant we only used it a couple of times.
We had three evening meals in the hotel, including on our first night when we didn't arrive until 10.30pm and service had otherwise finished. The food was very traditional and simple, but really well prepared - and plenty of it. There was no choice - not even in the large jug of red wine that accompanied each of our meals - which was fine by us but may cause some people a problem, but a menu is posted each day so you know what to expect.
The location is ideal for visiting the many nearby hill towns, most of which are within a half hour drive.
My only minor criticism would be that there was no variation at all in the breakfast choices offered each day of our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the outside residences which comprised a kitchenette/sitting area, a bedroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank row-vers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionBSM, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank You for taking the time to post a review following Your recent stay with us.
You've mentioned many positive attributes from your recent stay, from the hospitality to the beatiful setting, from the food to the big outside pool.
We'll do our best to have more variation in the breakfast choices, as you've kindly suggested.
I am pleased to hear that all factors had an effect on your experience, and hopefully you will have the opprtunity to return to the Borgo San Marco again in the future.
Thanks again!

Kind Regards
Mavi P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 143 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Eight days at Borgo San Marco followed the bustle of Salerno/Amalfi/Pompeii and the ancient sophistication of Matera. This place was the highlight and my abiding memory of the trip.
First impressions were of rustic hospitality but not quite what I'd expected in some way. But the longer you spend in the place - walking the old flagstones in the courtyards, exploring secret walled gardens growing vines, oranges, lemons, limes and other fruit, and strolling through olive groves to discover early frescoes in cave dwellings - the longer you spend, the stronger the enchantment grows.
It's not a modern hotel, though all mod cons are here. Nor is it perfect - our bed was rather hard and the menu could have been a little more varied. But it's rare for me to want to stay at a hotel for the sake of the hotel itself.
Thank you Borgo San Marco for contributing so memorably to our enjoyment of southern Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveFromIsleOfWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionBSM, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest

I am incredibly grateful for your kind words about our masseria, thank you for staying with us!
We promise to never rest on our laurels and do our very best to continue exceeding your future expectations.

Thank you again for making us your “home away from home” and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Borgo San Marco.

Best wishes
Mavi Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We went to Borgo San Marco off season, thinking it would be a peaceful and quiet stay. My husband, 4 month old son and I stayed in one of their large suites in the tower. Minimalist room, broken heater, hole in the bathroom wall... What a disappointment compared to the pictures on their website!
When we arrived at the hotel, no one was even there to check us in. When we saw the owner (M. Amati) he didn't even come say hello to us. When we wanted coffee or a drink, we couldn't find anyone to serve us. At check out, we found out that they wanted to charge us for towels (have you ever heard of such a thing?!). Since they never mentioned this when we booked our room, we contested it. Their response: "The manager just wanted to try". When we finally talked to M. Amati, he was arrogant and rude.
Staying at Borgo San Marco is like going to one of those trendy urban restaurants where they have no time to serve you and when they finally do they smirk and brush you off.
If you're looking for a peaceful family get away, this is not the place to stay.
This part of Puglia is a beautiful region and worth the visit. Try instead these two masseria we've stayed at and warmly recommend: Masseria Beneficio (near Ceglie Messapica) and Masseria Montenapoleone (5 min away).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionBSM, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all many thanks to Your comments about Your stay at the Borgo. Unfortunately, sometimes it may happen that our guests don't tell all the truth: just to remind You, You and Your lovely family, such as Your wedding planner, were guests here at Borgo exceptionally in winter time (that means, in a period in which we usually remain closed - only because You felt in love with our massseria and You chose it as the ideal setting of Your wedding (finally, it was performed elsewhere You asked for huge discounts we were not agreed with). Currently, reading all the disappointed comments about us, we've all the same question: why did You choose it if You won't like it all? Despite Your experience, on behalf of all the staff (whose smile is always appreciated) please accept our most sincere whishes even on behalf of Mr. Amati, who has neither received the pleasure to met You then. And during Your next visit, You'll check that the towels in the room have always been free of any charge (a small supplements is required for the pool towels, but it's quite impossible to enjoy our lovely outside pool in winter at 12°).

Kindest Regards
Mavi Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights mid way thru a 2 week trip around Puglia with the kids - three young ones below the age of six. The Borgo itself is a lovely renovation - truly beautiful with its white walls set against the blue skies and all very nicely designed and structured. The rooms (we had a tower room) are spacious and cool. With kids the tower room was excellently spaced out with room for the kids in the first room and then a cot in the second room. The swimming pool area is lovely - a nice walk in pool on a less conventional design which was very nice to relax in. The staff were all excellent - one of the things that stuck me about puglia was just how friendly people are - Mavi on reception was very helpful and extremely cheerful as were the ladies who looked after the breakfast and rooms. Food was well done and for kids quite helpful in timing a 6.30 dinner when everything around is closed. A recent change to a buffet style for the adults at 8pm needs to be reversed - firstly it takes at least one sitting to realize that all the food is already out and hence you need to move quick before its gone (never a relaxing way to eat) and secondly the food inevitably goes cold after a while. The deal itself at 30 euro pp isn't too bad with the location plus wine included but it is let down by this buffet approach. In such a beautiful place and with half a carafe of wine down your don't / can't go anywhere else hence you don't really want to have to rush dinner! It is the only thing stopping me from giving this a 5 star eating.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princesslucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is my first experience of a property like this and also my first visit to Puglia! i am so impressed with the level of service and also the simplicity of the place that makes it a real oasis of peace and quiet....... great location to base yourself from when visiting the region

Room Tip: Ask for ones with private Jacuzzi!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidnhornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReceptionBSM, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks a million for taking time to write something about Your stay at the Borgo.

I am particularly pleased that you noted the friendliness and helpfulness of our team, which I think is crucially important in our efforts to build long term relationships with our guests.

I hope your overall experience will see you return to us again and I personally look forward to welcoming you back to the Borgo San Marco.


Kind regards
Mavi Potenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We just got back and had a fantastic week ! Our bedroom was lovely, fantastic atmosphere, great food and very enjoyable staff. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed at the hotel during the first week of October and found it was an ideal place for a few days peace and quiet. It is in a good location for exploring Puglia.
Our suite was comfortable with an enormous roof terrace overlooking the courtyard and gardens. Despite the bathroom being large and having a full size bath, only a small shower tray had been fitted with a fabric curtain which stuck to you when showering. When using the shower there was no shelf space for toiletries, soap etc.There was plenty of space to have provided a wet room style shower, or one with a larger tray and a proper shower enclosure and glass door.
Staff were helpful and friendly, and the dog Alessandro was cute.
Food in the restaurant was good quality and there was plenty of it served with carafes of local wine. Breakfasts were relaxed taken on the shaded patio.
The gardens and olive groves were a delight and the pool area very relaxing. One word of warning though, do not go for a walk in the olive grove/jogging track or sit by the pool at dusk unless you have used plenty of mosquito repellant. I found out to my discomfort that there are plenty around even in October!
All in all, a great place to stay with plenty of character.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fasano
2.7 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Masseria Torre Maizza
Masseria Torre Maizza
#1 of 6 in Savelletri
587 reviews
1.9 mi away
Masseria Torre Coccaro
Masseria Torre Coccaro
#3 of 6 in Savelletri
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Relais Histo'
Relais Histo'
#2 of 14 in Taranto
977 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casale del Murgese
Casale del Murgese
#5 of 6 in Savelletri
185 reviews
8.9 mi away
Il Melograno
Il Melograno
#5 of 14 in Monopoli
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo San Marco

Address: Contrada Sant'Angelo 33, 72015, Fasano, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Fasano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fasano
Price Range: $146 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo San Marco is located near the beach in Fasano and close to San Domenico Golf Club and Zoo Safari Fasano. Borgo San Marco's restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. A bar/lounge is open for drinks. Room service is available during limited hours. The property serves a complimentary breakfast. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool, a health club, a spa tub, a 24-hour fitness facility, and a steam room. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas and the property has an Internet point. Wedding services, tour/ticket assistance, translation services, and tour assistance are available. Self parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include a rooftop terrace, a library, and a concierge desk. 16 air-conditioned guestrooms at Borgo San Marco feature fireplaces and minibars. Balconies or patios offer sea, pool, or courtyard views. Beds come with pillowtop mattresses, down comforters, down blankets, and premium bedding. All rooms include separate living rooms. Kitchens include cooking facilities. Bathrooms feature bathtubs or showers with jetted bathtubs and handheld showerheads. They also offer bidets, bathrobes, and complimentary toiletries. Wired high-speed and wireless Internet access is complimentary. In addition to complimentary newspapers and safes, guestrooms offer cordless phones. 32-inch high-definition televisions have satellite channels, DVD/VCRs, and complimentary TV Internet access. Guests may request a turndown service, refrigerators, and microwaves. Housekeeping is available daily. Guestrooms are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Borgo San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo San Marco Fasano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing