We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari Surprise”
Review of Zoo Safari

Zoo Safari
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Fasano
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Safari Surprise”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were not intending to go in the Safari side for two reasons; monkeys on our hire car and our experience of safari's in the UK - animals bored brainless in the distance hidden under trees.

It opens at 9.30am in summer, and we arrived first thing for the coolest part of the day. It wasn't clear where to park if you only want to do the amusement park area, all cars were queuing so we joined them (as one does), at the kiosk we didn't have a choice not to do the safari so we held our breath and went in (83 Euros). In the first section there were herds of deer, a mixture of goats and very small ponies. Most of which were coming up to windows expecting food - nuts were for sale outside the park. It was all lovely; up close and personal. The car behind had food so we happily watched the goats go up on two legs to reach the window knocking their front hooves against the paintwork. We went into the lion enclosure and there were plenty, lying quite close to the cars and walking around generally. Same with the tiger enclosure, who were separate to the lions.

The giraffes were beautiful. The best bit was near the end of the drive thru' where zebras, hippos, wild horses, goats all shared an area. There were two zebras having a biting session on each other and they started running around chasing each other, next thing all the zebras and wild horses were having stampede's around the park area darting in and around the cars - it was very exciting.

Afterwards we paid a further 2 Euros to park and walked into the amusement side. The safari ticket said we were entitled to six free rides but quickly realised that this was only for the sections which involved looking at more animals and reptiles. We went on the Log Flume which the kids absolutely loved and was only an additional 2E each. Also saw the dolphin show for 10 Euros for adults and 8 Euros for kids between 1m and 1.4m in height, free under 1m. The children loved it but I am not comfortable seeing dolphins in captivity flipping, diving, jumping and squawking for our enjoyment.

Food was as you would imagine, abismal. Take a picnic if you can. You can leave the park and go back in as long as you keep your tickets with you. Cars in the car park are shaded by rows and rows of solar panels.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CantSingforToffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,193
    1,038
    386
    124
    111
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A good day out”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The fun fair was fun and the zoo pretty well done except for the older polar bear area etc. lots of lions and the like all of whom looked healthy? But I'm not an animal welfare expert. We spent a good six hrs here and the kids enjoyed themselves.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Princesslucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An OKAY experience until I saw the polar bears!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Being an Italian-American and having family in the Puglia region, we visited this zoo while on vacation in July of 2012. I was having a fairly nice time visiting this zoo until I made the mistake of visiting the Polar Bear exhibit at the end of our day.

We went to this park on an extremely hot day with temps near or above 100. The first part of the zoo is a drive-thru experience in which you remain in your car and are very up close to many ferocious animals. Most of the animals were laying around motionless due to the scorching heat but I didn't feel they were being mistreated since many of these animals came from Africa or Asia where extreme heat is typical. There were trees for shade and pools of water for them to escape from the heat. The funnest part of this experience were the giraffes. They were quite friendly! We were able to roll down our car windows and feed them by hand and got some great photos.

After we were done with the drive-thru area of the park we parked in a nearby lot and saw the rest of the zoo by foot. Mixed in throughout the zoo are many amusement park rides that cost extra. If you have kids, be prepared for them to be begging to go on a few rides. The zoo by foot part was fine until we visited the polar bear area at the very end of our stay. This experience spoiled my visit and left me wishing I had not seen it-2 comatose polar bears laying in an algae-infested pool of water. These poor animals did not seem to have an indoor shelter whatsover to escape to when it is hot outdoors. The pools must not have any sort of filtration system at all thus the reason for the poor water quality-just a pool of standing water which did not appear to have been changed in a long long time. The bears coats were filthy from the water which was of a dark-green nearly black color. The seals were in the same water conditions as well. It was so so sad to see! Upon leaving the exhibit I sarcastically asked a security guard how often the water is changed. His answer was every 2 days. I guess he is paid to say this. There is no way that water was changed every 2 days! This is animal cruelty and the zoo should close this exhibit if they do not upgrade the living arrangements of these polar bears and seals and an attempt is made to duplicate their natural habitat.

Overall I don't recommend this zoo if you are an animal-lover and used to seeing animals in better living conditions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank dianediv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martina franca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A good place to visit, but some work needs doing !”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a great place to bring a car full of un-ruly kids or adults, with a few kilos of sliced carrots to feed the giraffes, who really do put their heads inside your car ! The goats will scratch the sides though, if you let them, so be very wary on the way in. Avoid August, with long queues and rushed contact with the main attractions. But, all in all, its a must and a great all-rounder, with food, drinks and carnival to round off a very full day.
On the down side, the goats need a compound and the bears and camels need more space and the bears need a small wood to hide in and play. Most of the animals need at least three times the space provided and the owners have a large olive farm beside the park, so space is not the issue. Maybe the regional authorities need to get in on the act ?? More space and meaningful diversions for the animals please !!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank honest_traveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The drive through park was GREAT!!! The best experience for our three year old daughter. She really enjoyed feeding the animals. Just make sure that you bring some fruits to feed them.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda6944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Safari also viewed

Fasano, Province of Brindisi
Castellana Grotte, Province of Bari
 
Fasano, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Zoo Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing