We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT GO THERE”
Review of Villa Rilke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Rilke
Ranked #8 of 8 Duino B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Manuela and Tomaso, owner of the B&B, practice over-booking. We went there in July 2013. we booked in March 2013, for 7 days. We have 2 daughters of 6 and 8 years old. The day we arrived, Manuela explained us that there was an horrible problem of WC waste water evacuation (!) in our room, that her husband is not here until tomorrow, nobody could repair, etc... She proposed to us another room in an hotel, for 2 days, without swimming pool for the same price. She proposed also a "room" for employees underground (in cellar). As our daughters were so disappointed not having a swimming pool, we preferred staying in the employee room, as it should be only for 2 nights. This was an awfully night: room was dirty, my youngest daughter was afraid to sleep underground. The morning, at the breakfast (even the breakfast was awful, no fresh food), we understood that all the story were lies. Our room was occupied by another family. We get a discussion with Manuela who recognized the overbooking and gave us our deposit back. We left immediately this place with these lying people.
We often went to B&B, never had any problem, always wonderful people to meet. It's a shame that such people can practice this activity.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank ka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 56 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Got a call 2 days prior to my trip, the air con was broken, so sorry no rooms for you, but if you like you can stay in another place not in Duino! I booked in October to be sure we could get a room there, but I guess that was not good enough... anyway, the good man promised to call me, didn't, I called him back and he seemed quite annoyed so cut my losses and booked somewhere else.... disappointing

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank Eugenio_aus_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Villa Rilke is literally the best private hotel ever. I've stayed here already the second time. Comfortable and clean rooms, tasty food, good service, a swimming pool and even books to read as well as very nice and kind owners - everything here is just fantastic. It's a perfect place to come with a family, as a couple or even alone. The athmosphere is very friendly and special here. Thank you very much Tommaso and Manuela!

Room Tip: There is a beautiful large room on the first floor with a terrasse and the kitchen - it's just p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great private accommodation in a nice property in Duino. Very friendly welcoming and hosting by Deshan and Anna, who have been exceptionally kind and caring (rare to find these days!). You can expect a very thoughtful, helpful and warm atmosphere. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was the first stop on our trip through Italy and Croatia; and it proved to be a very nice accommodation right in the middle of Duino and very close to Trieste. We had a nice room (#2) with a huge terrace looking out over the pool, the villa grounds and the town of Duino. The pool provided great refreshment after the very warm days touring the surrounding area. We never met the actual owners, but our needs were professionally attended to by the Sri Lankan couple managing the place. Two points of criticism: as other guests have noted in their reviews, the breakfast is on the meager side. This is partially an "Italian" thing, but could nonetheless be improved. Also, we had a three-bed accommodation; but the third bed was really not large enough for our growing 15 year-old son, and he spent a couple of less than restful nights on that midget's mattress. In summary: we would definitely return, but we would ask for an adult-size bed for the third person in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarnungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in Villa Rilke with children and would not go back again. The family room we were given was not suitable for the ages of children we had (childrens' beds in a loft up a steep ladder) although the ages had been given at time of booking. No alternative bedding could be provided.

The breakfast was below average; poor coffee, cereal, bread and jam. The staff were helpful and friendly, but the proprietor quite rude.

In the room, we found it hard to sleep with the very loud A/C and fridge.

The only saving grace was the nice pool, which we enjoyed during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habba_batata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Just returned from Villa Rilke after having spent 4 nights with friends there. Booking was easy, owner was communicative. When using a GPS make sure you enter the coordinates as the house numbers are pretty awkward so it took some time for us to find it. We have rented two rooms, one room was pretty unspacious but still pretty good for a couple who we werent :) The other room had a pretty huge terrace, and more space in the sleeping room too. Both rooms were kept very clean, thanks to the very friendly house hosts : Anna and Dino. We have asked for an extra bed which was returned after the first night as it is not very comfortable for an adult, its more like for a teenager. The breakfast was pretty nice, so no need to complain. We have enjoyed the nice garden and the pool, too. Overall it is a very nice place to spend a few days at, there is only one thing to complain about : the wifi network is kind of unreliable. But thats nothing to worry about, unless you go there for business.

Room Tip: a good place if you are looking for a place in Duino
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bl4ze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duino hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gruber
Hotel Villa Gruber
#4 of 8 in Duino
31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora Duino
Hotel Aurora Duino
#1 of 9 in Duino
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Al Pescatore Contento
Al Pescatore Contento
#6 of 8 in Duino
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ai Sette Nani
Ai Sette Nani
#5 of 9 in Duino
56 reviews
4.4 mi away
B&B Duino Stella Maris
2.2 mi away
Rosy's Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rilke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rilke

Address: Localita Duino 75/e, 34011, Duino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Duino
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Duino
Price Range: $53 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Rilke is located in a quite and green belt/area and offers to its guests a high quality service. The atmosphere is magic because of the sea and the castle of Duino. It’s a very special guest house because it offers several additional services like the swimming pool, the yacht and motorboat excursion (only upon booking) sports and trekking excursions suggested and followed by Tommaso. We invite you to visit the whole web-site in order to discover all the services and opportunities of this small but special Bed & Breakfas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Rilke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rilke Duino, Province Of Trieste, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing