We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent private accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Rilke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Rilke
Ranked #8 of 8 Duino B&B and Inns
Szombathely, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent private accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great private accommodation in a nice property in Duino. Very friendly welcoming and hosting by Deshan and Anna, who have been exceptionally kind and caring (rare to find these days!). You can expect a very thoughtful, helpful and warm atmosphere. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    6
    5
    10
See reviews for
22
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was the first stop on our trip through Italy and Croatia; and it proved to be a very nice accommodation right in the middle of Duino and very close to Trieste. We had a nice room (#2) with a huge terrace looking out over the pool, the villa grounds and the town of Duino. The pool provided great refreshment after the very warm days touring the surrounding area. We never met the actual owners, but our needs were professionally attended to by the Sri Lankan couple managing the place. Two points of criticism: as other guests have noted in their reviews, the breakfast is on the meager side. This is partially an "Italian" thing, but could nonetheless be improved. Also, we had a three-bed accommodation; but the third bed was really not large enough for our growing 15 year-old son, and he spent a couple of less than restful nights on that midget's mattress. In summary: we would definitely return, but we would ask for an adult-size bed for the third person in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarnungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in Villa Rilke with children and would not go back again. The family room we were given was not suitable for the ages of children we had (childrens' beds in a loft up a steep ladder) although the ages had been given at time of booking. No alternative bedding could be provided.

The breakfast was below average; poor coffee, cereal, bread and jam. The staff were helpful and friendly, but the proprietor quite rude.

In the room, we found it hard to sleep with the very loud A/C and fridge.

The only saving grace was the nice pool, which we enjoyed during the day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank habba_batata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duino hotels

Hungary, EUROPE
Level Contributor
348 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Just returned from Villa Rilke after having spent 4 nights with friends there. Booking was easy, owner was communicative. When using a GPS make sure you enter the coordinates as the house numbers are pretty awkward so it took some time for us to find it. We have rented two rooms, one room was pretty unspacious but still pretty good for a couple who we werent :) The other room had a pretty huge terrace, and more space in the sleeping room too. Both rooms were kept very clean, thanks to the very friendly house hosts : Anna and Dino. We have asked for an extra bed which was returned after the first night as it is not very comfortable for an adult, its more like for a teenager. The breakfast was pretty nice, so no need to complain. We have enjoyed the nice garden and the pool, too. Overall it is a very nice place to spend a few days at, there is only one thing to complain about : the wifi network is kind of unreliable. But thats nothing to worry about, unless you go there for business.

Room Tip: a good place if you are looking for a place in Duino
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bl4ze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

we stay at villa rilke 15th til 17 july and it was a very plesent stay and relax,,nice and clean rooms and fit for our budget and nice place to come back.and we will be back next summer as well.

ellen van den berg ,,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeselgem
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed for 1 week in Villa Rilke with our family (2 kids, 7 & 9y old). We loved our room: mezzanine for the kids, quite large kitchenette, fridge + terrace where we could eat with 4, clean rooms,.... We loved the swimming pool (with springboard), we loved the reception by Anna & Dean. We visited ao Ljubljana, Trieste & Udine
Why not 5 stars? breakfast was a bit monotonous for a one-week stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oeselgemnees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Our stay was made all the better by friendly, caring staff and the owner was a pleasure to deal with!
A & P

Room Tip: We had a lovely double room, en suite and a large private balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pirtonpensioners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duino
1.0 mi away
Ai Sette Nani
Ai Sette Nani
#6 of 9 in Duino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Aurora Garni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Duino Stella Maris
0.4 mi away
Al Pescatore Contento
Al Pescatore Contento
#5 of 8 in Duino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rosy's Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rilke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rilke

Property: Villa Rilke
Address: Localita Duino 75/e, 34011, Duino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Duino
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Duino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Rilke is located in a quite and green belt/area and offers to its guests a high quality service. The atmosphere is magic because of the sea and the castle of Duino. It’s a very special guest house because it offers several additional services like the swimming pool, the yacht and motorboat excursion (only upon booking) sports and trekking excursions suggested and followed by Tommaso. We invite you to visit the whole web-site in order to discover all the services and opportunities of this small but special Bed & Breakfas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Villa Rilke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rilke Duino, Province Of Trieste, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing