We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday & hotel”
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Antares
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Letojanni
Devizes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday & hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Having returned just 5 days ago from our first holiday in Sicily and an absolutely wonderful 10 day "all-inclusive" stay at the Antares Hotel I felt compelled to share our experience. The hotel is excellent and we cannot fault anything. The food was was fantastic with many choices and brand drinks. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially entertainment staff "Leandro and Hamsir". Leandro's morning and afternoon "water gym" classes and dance lessons were definitely one of the highlights of my day! Getting around was easy too - public buses just outside hotel to Taormina, Isola Bella & Castalmola (definitely all worth the trip and not expensive). Rooms all air conditioned and beds very comfortable. As others have said there is not a lot do in Letojanni itself but if you like the beach and are all-inclusive stay you can get free sun beds at Tropicana Restaurant (watch out for jelly fish though!). So if you are looking for a great family holiday to simply relax, chill, eat good food, drink good wine and enjoy the evening entertainment & music this is the place. We definitely hope to return here again in the future - thank you xx

Room Tip: All rooms here have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    262
    139
    83
    55
See reviews for
285
260
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed at the Olimpo at the beginning of July on an all inclusive basis. I cannot fault the hotel in any way it was exceptionally clean and the food was of a high standard. We travelled with Thomson and I had read a critical review regarding excursions. However my partner and I were keen to visit Mt Etna so we joined an excursion via the Thomson rep and thoroughly enjoyed the whole day. The trip was well organised, the guide was informative, entertaining and took excellent care of everyone. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hthrty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for a week all inclusive and found the hotel very pleasant, clean and relaxing. There's not a lot to do in Letojanni so we took the bus into Taormina several times in the evening which is only about a 10 minute ride and 3 euros return. The bus runs about once an hour but it is a public bus and so there can be delays, it's a shame that the hotel doesn't run its own shuttle which might be a bit more reliable.

The hotel is on a steep hillside, like Taormina and the rest of this area, so you are dependent on lifts. You take one lift from the bus stop up to reception and then another lift up to one part of the hotel or a sort of cross between a lift and a funicular railway to another part of the hotel. The lifts can get a bit congested at meal times but we never had to wait too long.

The food was OK, but not spectacular, interestingly for Italy they only served pizza once during the whole week, but this maybe because there is an a la carte pizza restaurant on-site that is excluded from the all inclusive. My partner is vegetarian and she was OK, but the labelling on the food was very poor so that I had to act as a taster for her. If you have some allergies or food intolerances it might be hard to be sure what you are getting, I think the hotel could improve in this area.

At breakfast there was one of those zumex orange squeezing machines which was great, we had fresh orange every day. However the coffee machine was not that great which was disappointing for Italy. Ice cream was available every lunch and dinner, which was excellent but it was the same 5 or 6 flavours every day and annoyingly they seemed to wait until almost all the ice cream had gone before they refilled them which meant often there might only be one or 2 flavours available, unless you kept an eye on when they had just refreshed it.

Our room was fine, clean, quiet and comfortable, the only niggle I had was the sachets of shower gel and shampoo which were practically indestructible. There was no way I could open them with wet hands and even trying to open them beforehand was an epic struggle. The hotel really should get a different supplier or use bottles instead.

The highlight for us was the entertainment team, especially Leandro. They conducted early morning stretching/Yoga, aquagym and evening entertainment as well as circulating amongst the guests and checking everyone was OK. They were all friendly, smiling and helpful despite doing long days and working in high heat. Leandro, especially was very good at adapting whatever he was doing to the needs of the guests he was with and making sure he included everyone in whatever he was doing, I hope the hotel value him for the star that he is.

Room Tip: If you stay in the lower part of the hotel you have more choice of lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stayed at the Olimpo Antares, which is the top of a complex of hotels cascading down the hillside.

The hotel staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful and with very good English.

The room was spacious and clean, with a very comfortable bed and effective, quiet air conditioning. But there were no hangers in the room, the TV was very small and the tiny safe required a huge 50 Euro deposit for the key. The bathroom actually had a bathtub - though no taps in it (it had to be filled from the shower).

The pool area is lovely and it was always possible to find a sunbed - though only just. It was not well signposted and therefore a little difficult to find.

The buffet breakfast and dinner were very varied, though a bit mass-catered at times. Fish nights are good though, and I recommend the risotto dishes.

Being at the top of the hill gave good views all the way to Taormina. The whole bay and the hotel can be seen from the back of the Greek theatre in Taormina.

But to get to the resort / beach meant two lifts - the first a funicular style down the hillside. And when you get there there isn't much there. Shops in Letojanni are all but non-existent.

The beach is unspectacular, but at least it's not covered in sunbeds and the views are good.

When you reach the beach turn left - you're right on the edge on Letojanni and all of this resort is to the left (though another begins to the right). There are some nice looking beach bars / restaurants

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoneBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Located on a steep hill above Letojanni, this hotel is somewhat dated. The bedrooms are adequate and clean and the buffet style food at breakfast and lunch in the downstairs restaurant is of average faire. The hotel is split into two communal areas. The lower one is not as good as the top one. both have a bar, restaurant and outdoor swimming pool. The higher level one is bigger and better. Staff are reasonably friendly their service is OK. There is a cable car arrangement to enable you to get from one to the other. it was noisy in the evening and particularly so when a children's football team arrived.There is a lift that takes you through the rock to the town level. However there is very little to do there - just a few beach bars and an average shale grey beach. it is quite near to Taormina accessed by taxi or bus. But you'd be better off staying there or at Gardini Naxos.

Room Tip: Get one at the highest level on the northern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScenerySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hello dear tourists :)

This year I "got" an opportunity ... some acquaintances have given up their stay in Taormina at the Hotel Antares Olimpo-and left with
meanumber wife

From the first glance I liked the location of hotels, arranged in a side-story mountain. Chamber (number1210) was literally huge, with a secondary camera designed for children and an enormous terrace, but common to the entire floor.

As the hotel was structured, I think all the rooms overlook the sea and the resort of Taormina.

Regarding cleanliness I have nothing to reproach, that the girls who dealt with were very helpful, room is provided in addition to the classic features (fridge, tv, air-cooled type fan heated ceiling) and a kettle and coffee soluble free by the hotel. Pretty should.

The meal was more than the rich, and at least half the menu was different every day and the breakfast what to say ... started with champagne (if wanted) every day. They had a machine that made fresh orange tomatoes (and was visibly so), but it was unfortunately only available in 2-3 days. Otherwise coffee particles and other types (as was Italy), juices and salads, pasta ... a delight.

The evening had a different specific every night (romana evening, evening Sicilian evening ... etc) that not missing pasta, 5-6 in area specific types referenced in the day.

For those who hate to move and will idle all day, this hotel has a drawback: access to the restaurant, the pool, the beach is made using elevators including one that seemed extraordinary to me, looking at the funicular located outside the building and panoramic view. Well, I liked this experience.

Pools have at least three: one in-door and two exterior nice bars, terraces as cover ... rooms with fitness and spa area. I just saw the gym and it was quite equipped.

From the station you can easily reach the town Letojanni in just 1-2 hours in Messina Catania and Siracusa if you want (you have to ask it's complicated transfer required). In Taormina or train arrive in 20-30 minutes or a local race every hour.

For the person who had fun entertainment at the pools and bars, the evening could dance, and the surprise was in Sicilian night when a band of 4-5 people sang and delighted us with their traditional songs and dances.

I recommend this one location, which is very quiet and airy.

pleasant holiday

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mircea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of a wonderful tour of Sicily. We had stayed at several hotels by the time we arrived at the Hotel Antares/Antares and this was by far the worst. The rooms are ok -nothing special .The shower gel is in small which are difficult to open and there is not enough quantity . The reception area is massive but quite unattractive . It takes some time to work out where you are as the layout of the interrelated hotels is not straightforward.
The service by reception was unhelpful and indifferent. You have to pay for wifi which can only be used in the lobby. You even have to pay for towels to use at the swimming pool.
Given that the swimming pool area is very nice and the service was very good and there are kettles in the rooms!
All in all a big disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whizzkid_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letojanni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olimpo
Hotel Olimpo
#1 of 11 in Letojanni
828 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#5 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
873 reviews
4.9 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
102.3 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
30.2 mi away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
110.5 mi away
Hotel Bel 3
Hotel Bel 3
#19 of 98 in Palermo
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Property: Hotel Antares
Address: Via G Chincherini, 98037 Letojanni, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Letojanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letojanni
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Letojanni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antares 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Letojanni
Hotel Antares Letojanni, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing