We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the way and very quiet..zzzzzzzzzzzz(that's the mosquitos!)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hotel Silemi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel Silemi
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Letojanni
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Out of the way and very quiet..zzzzzzzzzzzz(that's the mosquitos!)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at the Park Hotel Silemi last week and found it a very clean hotel with staff very friendly and helpful. However, the weather was against us for 4 days of the week and we found ourselves at a loose end what to do with ourselves…if you want to rest and read ,then it’s an ideal retreat.
The excellent pool had just opened for the summer and we managed a swim just before rough seas closed it again tipping large amounts of black sea gravel into it ,it’s that close to the beach. The ‘pool man’ worked like a Trojan to get it re-opened and succeeded, well done!
The maids leave the (huge)rooms clean and tidy but look out for mosquitos! I was eaten alive even after I scoured the rooms for the little varmints!
The bad points of the hotel are that it’s a bit of a walk from town (Letojanni)and the breakfast could be better. The dining room could do with a serious uplift although the staff are helpful and will try to cater for what you want…sitting out on the terrace is very pleasant.
The bar is operated by a very cheerful ,helpful and friendly barman who does a very good G&T
The bus service to Taormina is nearby and punctual (not that often, though) and Taormina is worth a visit up in the hills and overlooking the sea…it’s just that 3 visits in a week were too many!

There are a few good places to eat in Letojanni ,we only tried places on the front. We found that ‘Victor’ was good, ‘Ninos’ good but expensive and ,not much choice,if you don‘t like fish. We found the best of all was ‘Caio Caio’ on the beach where the staff were friendly and the menu varied (I recommend the local sardines..two dishes ,one with pasta and the other (more expensive)fried in breadcrumbs)…with the roasted aubergines and a bottle of the excellent house wine (Caio Caio) red or white ,a €30 bill for two was very reasonable.
Letojanni is a pleasant enough place to visit with a couple of piazzas to sit in and watch the world go by ,just a shame that the locals can’t clear up after their many dogs, the walk down the front was spoiled by numerous piles of dog poo and pot holes in the pavement…some people even allow their dogs to do their business on the beach

Overall,we enjoyed our holiday but couldn’t stay in the hotel all day

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bugsy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    65
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
95
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Midlands, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

We booked our holiday through Direct Holidays and particularly wanted a Bed and Breakfast basis, since part of the enjoyment of our holidays is going out and about and trying local cuisine.
The Silemi is at the far end of the small town of Letojanni, right on its own beach and appears to be last in a row of semi-derelict “for sale” complexes. That said the hotel itself is well appointed and reached via the Autostrada Messina-Catania and well made local roads.
The reception area is inviting with plenty of seating and local newspapers and lending book library, and reception staff are multi-lingual and professional at all times.

Our first room was rear facing and overlooked the car park, towards the railway and autostrada, this was quite small - yet with a large bathroom with a huge shower. We requested and paid a supplement to upgrade and have a sea view, this room was much bigger yet with a smaller bathroom , and Jacuzzi shower. The balcony was huge. Both rooms however still had the European version of the ‘double bed’ – 2 singles placed together ! (dissapointing!)
Neither room possessed the listed bathrobes, as per the hotels website, but there were plentiful towels and a small fridge, initially the fridge was not working - however on speaking to the receptionist this was remedied promptly the following day. Air conditioning and safe deposit box was free and Satellite TV was available.

The hotel was immaculately clean and all staff were pleasant and courteous.
We used the beach on several occasions finding it pebbly but clean – beach shoes / jellies advised! and there were plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas. The pool was well cared for by the pool attendant and the snack bar was open throughout the day until 2330hrs providing alcohol , coffee and a very limited quite expensive menu : pizza 10 euro / salads 10 euro and toasted sandwiches 6 euro.

The main restaurant served lunches and dinner and we were advised that we could book a table if liked by giving the staff half an hour notice which we felt was reasonable – although we chose to eat out every evening.

Breakfasts were excellent : many varieties of cereals / fruit/ eggs / cold meats / breads and pastries , my only criticism would be that the boiling water to make tea was not boiling and thus attempts to make tea – using Twinings teabags provided and teapots provided, were very unsuccessful.

The walk to Letojanni takes about 15 mins and there is a short-cut through a small alleyway just at the top of the driveway. This takes you past several villas and is quite safe although frequented by local motorbikes and small cars. (most use horns to alert you) At the bottom of this walk is the local sewer which gets quiet smelly depending on what time of day and what direction the wind is blowing in!
Letojanni itself is a charming village which consists of local homes, cafes, bars and some restaurants along the promenade and the Piazza Durante surrounded by several bars is a lovely place to while away the hours and people watch! There is a smattering of supermarkets and local shops, and an Italian food takeaway which serves the most reasonably priced pizza we found anywhere (1.40 euro for a huge piece!).
Meal prices varied from inexpensive: pizza and salad to full on 5-course Italian meals: wine very reasonable good quality upwards of 4euros a carafe (good vino di casa) and beers varied from 2.50 euro a bottle to 4 euro on draught. Gelati and Granita were round about 3-5 euros – all the prices were I think influenced by the euros recent downslide.
The local bus to Taormina stops just outside the hotel on an hourly basis (tickets bought from the driver cost 2.60 euro or 5.20 return.) It stops at Via San Pancratzio in Taormina where it also picks up for the return journey. You can also pick up the local bus to Castelmola for 5 euros return here: ( 40 minute bus journey to a nice local hill village with fabulous views ) saving you a considerable amount on the organised trip there! (Thomas Cook wanted 27 euro per person for that one!!)
All in all we enjoyed our stay and will definitely return to Sicily although we will probably stay in another area to explore further.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

To be honest, this hotel has some great features.
-The rooms are very large (not typical for Italy),
-You have a private beach at the back of the hotel
-The outdoor pool is very kid friendly and is the perfect temperature.
-Rooms are clean and there is free parking.

What disappointed me was the soundproofing. You could hear absolutely everything in the rooms next door, especially from the washroom. It was so bad that you actually hear people’s conversation word for word. They really need to fix that problem.

The other thing that was disappointing was the staff. Some of them were very friendly, such as the bar man and the front desk clerk. However, the pool maintenance guy and some of the waiters were rude and uninviting.

Also, the hotel décor and furniture is dated and could use some updating. For a 4 star hotel I expected better.

The only reason I would not stay at this hotel again is for the soundproofing- just too noisy for me.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWDCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

We booked our holiday through Voyages Jules Verne. It was excellent value for money. The rooms were beautiful with balconies overlooking the pool and sea. Staff were fantastic, helpful, friendly and courteous. Food was good and varied, superb value for money. My Husband and I were accompanied by two friends, we have holidied together foe the last 10 years, it was the most inexpensive holiday we have had and one of the best value of our holidays. All the people we talked to during our stay were entirely pleased with the Hotel. The only possible down-side was that the beach was not sandy and uncomfortable to walk on which would make it unsuitable for families with children. Letojanni is rather unexciting, but nearby Taormina is a very attractive resort, although may be rathher busy in the height of summer. We also visited Mount Etna and Syracuse, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 42joan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

We went on this holiday with a 13 month old baby. It was not ideal for this aged child. The hotel excellent, food good although no option for children. The pool was good but no option for children. The hotel rooms were acceptable but didn't cater for young families. The balcony doors couldn't close from the outside due to no outside handle which prevented us from sitting on the balcony once our daughter had gone to bed. We had upgraded to the top room with seaview balacony but found we never used it. The air conditioning only worked in the room when the door was closed.

The hotel staff were excellent, the hotel was clean but old fashioned, had a very relaxed and laid back environment. Buses are available 50yards from the hotel.

The area is not pushchair friendly, as we found we had to walk down unlit sidestreets and narrow backalleys to get to a few bars and restuarants. The only other option barring a taxi was to walk on the beach.

Letojanni is a very small town with the all amenities you require, Toarmina was alot bigger, with plenty of shops but not that many family orientated restuarants.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimeeg2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

Was very disappointed by this hotel. Was expecting luxury as 4 star - however needs a new lease of life. At best a 2 star, as quite shabby.
Bedroom was adequate, bathroom let the room down. Shower cubicle was very flimsy, and the doors were plastic.
Hairdryer was completely useless, held together by numerous bands of brown packing tape.
Didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel, and for breakfast make sure you are there at least before 9am. Arrival at 9.30 meant there was nothing left and the staff weren't putting any fresh food out on the buffet.
The swimming pool was lovely, and the bar staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallymali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed at the Park Hotel Selimi for 7 days in September 08. Like many other reviewers the first impressions of the hotel were not too good due to the building sites right near by. However the interior was clean and welcoming and the staff were very helpful on arrival with a smile on their face at all times.

Our room itself was excellent. A rather large room with even larger balcony overlooking the sea and the mountains. The room had a TV with alot of italian and german channels as well as CNN and BBC world which was nice for keeping informed. There was also a small fridge or "mini bar" with a selection of drinks but we prefered to stock it with our own drinks and snacks etc, also plenty of wardrobe space and a comfortable bed. Aircon and Safe were included for free which was superb.

The bathroom was clean and well maintained with shower, hairdryer etc. Towels got changed on a daily and the maids did a very good job.

The hotel has a good sized pool with plenty of loungers etc and the beach was only a few steps away. The beach was slightly shingly but the waters were crystal clear with alot of fished to watch.

The hotels own restaurant serves a good but small selection of meals during lunch and dinner and a bar is open until late at night. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, a good choise of eggs, sausages, bread, marmelades, drinks etc

The local village resort of Letojanni was a short 10-15 minutes walk away which itself was rather nice trough a few small backstreets and then along the promade along the beach passing all the restaurnts and bars. The villages main Piazza is beautiful with lovely cafes and a beautiful church especially in the evenings.

All in all we had a wonderful time at the Park Hotel Selimi. We spent wonderful nights on our balcony or at the hotel bar, watching the sea and the ships go by with mainland italy in view in the distance and the lights of Letojanni twinkling in the dark.

The mornings were even more stunning waking up to the sound of the waves and the sun shinging trough the curtains was just beautiful. Sicily itself of course made the whole experience even better but for anyone looking for a good quality Hotel right by the sea with all the access to the main resorts of taormina within easy reach (there is a bus stop right outside the hotel), this is the one, and we will certainly be coming back :)

  • Liked — Location / View
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyNau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letojanni
1.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#3 of 11 in Letojanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Olimpo
Hotel Olimpo
#1 of 11 in Letojanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
3.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
5.9 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Vincenzo
Hotel San Vincenzo
#9 of 11 in Letojanni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Silemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Silemi

Property: Park Hotel Silemi
Address: Via Sillemi 28, 98037 Letojanni, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Letojanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Letojanni
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Letojanni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Silemi 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel Silemi is a quick 500-metre stroll from Letojanni's lively restaurant and bar area. Buses leave regularly from just outside the hotel for Taormina city centre, which is just 5km away. With a Mediterranean décor and balcony, all rooms at the Silemi come with air conditioning, a minibar and a satellite TV. Some feature a sea-view balcony. Wi-Fi is free in public areas. Park Hotel Silemi offers a free equipped outdoor pool and private beach, plus a restaurant with terrace overlooking the Taormina Gulf, open from June untill Sept.. It is 10 minutes' drive from ancient Taormina and just outside Letojanni. Parking is free. Park Hotel Silemi offers professional service and a peaceful, relaxing location with stunning views of Taormina Bay. There is a lounge and open-air snack bar too ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Silemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Letojanni
Park Hotel Silemi Letojanni, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing