We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Albatros
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Letojanni
Torquay
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location, clean friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed for one week at this hotel just across road from beach. Rooms very spacious and everything spotlessly clean + air conditioning. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were a bit disappointed on arriving at being given a room on the main street with no sea view, but in fact it was not that noisy and it was interesting to view the local streetlife below. There is a walk to the hotel down hill from where the buses drop guests, but it takes no more than 5 mins. The only downside was that the food was disappointing, in particular the continental breakfast (as mentioned in previous reviews) which could easily be improved with addition of some fresh fruit, yoghurts etc. However, there are plenty of bars/cafes along the seafront within a short walk so it is probably better to just book B&B. There are no bar prices so beware - if you wish for a drink it is better to go out to a local cafe or visit the supermarket over the road. Also, there is an 8 Euro charge per day to use the beach facilities (sunbeds, umbrella etc) but as it was getting towards the end of the season lower rates could be had elsewhere along the beach as all the beach cafes have their own stretch of beach, some with changing facilities as well as shower, toilets etc. The beach is gravelly and shelves quite steeply into the water so perhaps not so good for families with small children. The resort itself is fairly unspoilt and quiet as a seaside base and seems to be popular with locals at weekends. There is a pretty town square with cafes and often some musical entertainment in the evenings. It was nice to see locals of all ages out enjoying the warm evenings as well as the tourists. Letojanni is a good base to visit Mount Etna, Siracuse and Taormina (which is incredibly expensive but easily reached by local bus), but beware a trip to Agrigento is over 3 hrs drive away. Sicily is lovely & I think we would go back just for the ice-cream!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travelbunnydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    41
    38
    18
    6
See reviews for
23
57
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
woudrichem
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

We did like the stay and the service very much.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull.
Very close to Taormina, easy by bus.
Closeby a lot of nice little towns.
Closr to the highway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grapje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

Hotel Albatros is located practically on the beach (narrow street between) and about 500-800m of the center of Letojanni.
Rooms are very clean, beds and mads are ok, but the problem can be the balcony. For some rooms balconies are connected through some narrow path and even to the side entrance of hotel, which looked to be locked . Although there is no burglar crime on Sicily, it is better to seak for rooms with proper balcony. On the back side all balconies are ok, but in that part it can be a little bit noisy because of the street. Generally, you can get a good sleep here.

Breakfast is bad and always the same. At the other hand dinner is very good and I think that it is better to book HB instead of BB because there are no restaurants nearby but also in the hole Letojanni. Dinner is reserved at the breakfast, and you can choose of 2 or 3 choices. On the each menu you can choose fish, meet, pasta, or vegetables with desert (fruit, cake or ice cream). I recommend barbecued vegetables - it is perfect.

Beach is great, umbrellas are paying only in particular time of summer and that can be checked on the hotel site. Sea can be a little bit unpredictable because of a strong flow. We had great swim about six of ten days , but 2 days sea was to cold and 2 days full of medusas. You can use those days to explore the island because it is beautiful. Letojanni is a very cute place with old but nice houses, pretty church and cafes in the centre, but not so big. Nearby the hotel there is a bus station and about 20 minutes riding to the dreamland Taormina on the top hill. This is a biggest tourist attraction in Sicily but the hotels, food and shopping here are the most expensive in the area. In the bottom of the hill there is pretty tourist place Giardini Naxos with narrow streets but not so good beach. You can also rent a car for about 50-60 eur per day and agencies will drove it to the front of the hotel. 30 minutes car driving from the Letojanni is vulcano Etna, 40 minutes to the super Godfather hilly villages, and less than hour and half to the great town of Siracuza.

Sicily is like another planet, and Albatros can be a solid base for your island exploration or peaceful rest on the beach, but if you are expecting luxury, pools, additional accomodation etc, you should prepare much much more euros for some another hotel.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Majstor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

Having read all the other reviews we arrived with some foreboding however we were pleased with our large,clean, compfy room with views towards the sea. The hotel manager and staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed ending our evenings with coffee and/or liqueurs in the bar served by very pleasant young ladies. However, you should be aware that you may have to bring your luggage down from the main road yourself as the coaches will not come down to the front of the hotel as there are rail tracks to drive over. The breakfast is not exactly anything to look forward to in the morning. We recommend also to eat out in the evening as there are so many little bars and restaurants to try. Letojanni is a lovely place to visit and we had a wonderful time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrecklesSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2008

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Albatros Hotel, which I found to be very clean and reasonably well run. The manager was charming and most of the staff very efficient and friendly. The food was quite good for the class of hotel (I would mark it as a good 2 star rather than a 3 star). Unfortunately, my companion developed a rather nasty stomach bug and knee problems. Our representative organised a doctor who came within the hour at a cost of 100 euros plus 20 for medication which was really successful.

However, its not the place to go if you have any problems walking as even the reception area is on various different levels. The village does not allow tour buses to drop holiday makers off outside the hotel, but you can get the local bus from across the road which is very convenient (Taromina is only about 10 minuets away and well worth the visit)

On arrival we were dropped off at the railway crossing and had to walk the five hundred yards or so down the hill to the hotel. One of our party, who had trouble walking, managed to get a lift in the hotel car which was arranged by our representative. However, on our return trip during the night and in the rain, we had to hire a car to do numerous trips to the top of the hill with our cases.
I was a little alarmed when I realised that the hotel door could not be opened from the inside, without the use of a key by a member of the hotel staff - not sure what would have happened in the case of a fire!!

Although the position of the hotel is good and we had a lovely sea view the pebble beach was not safe for swimmers as upon entering the water you sank into lots of loose stones and then into about four feet of water. We were unfortunate with the weather and the sea was also very rough during our stay. I would not advise this hotel for families wanting a beach holiday. The restaurants and bars along the front were quite good but we found the few shops very expensive.

We did not go up to Mount Etna on the advice of our tour representative because we had not brought suitable shoes/clothing etc. only to find out later that these items were provided for 2 euros. This I found very frustrating as I would have certainly done this tour if I had been given the correct information.

  • Liked — very clean and reasonable standard
  • Disliked — no sky TV or reasonable bar area
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbeyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

200 mtr walk to Hotel from railway xing carrying suitcases, coaches too large to enter village.
No air conditioning even though advertised just radiator with fan behind blowing warm air, all rooms the same.
Evening meals very small portions, dont go half board, plenty of places to eat outside of Hotel.
Third of rooms do not have sea view but staff will move you free of charge if room with view available.
Hotel takes a lot of coach trade so meal times can be very hectic.
Breakfast on last day of stay very poor, watered down fruit juice, no meat cheese or cornflakes.

  • Liked — Sea view after room change
  • Disliked — sewage vent pipe next to balcony and no air conditioning.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Letojanni hotels

Stockport
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2004

Letojanni is a fishing village on the coast near Taormina. Unfortunately the streets are too narrow for coaches, so you have to negotiate 35 steps under a railway when you arrive, depart or go on trips.
The Albatros has a pleasant manager, and the cleaners are friendly, but the restaurant and reception staff aren't, and they don't speak English very well either.
The food was only 2 choices for starter and main, often small portions and with poor vegetables, and no help for vegetarians other than cheese. The breakfast buffet varied as it was never re-filled properly so if the cereal had all gone when you got down, then there was none.
The hotel is used as a transit stop for coach tours of Sicily so it can be very noisy and crowded on certain days, and breakfast is a nightmare as they raid the buffets on an eary start.
The actual position of the hotel is good - on the seafront, and smaller local buses run to Taormina regularly.
Sicily is a big island, and to visit main sights such as Siracusa, Agrigento, etc. involves a very early start. The Palermo start was so early, we gave it a miss!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank raygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Letojanni hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#3 of 11 in Letojanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Peppe
Hotel da Peppe
#6 of 11 in Letojanni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Vincenzo
Hotel San Vincenzo
#9 of 11 in Letojanni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel delle Palme
Hotel delle Palme
#8 of 11 in Letojanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olimpo
Hotel Olimpo
#1 of 11 in Letojanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Silemi
Park Hotel Silemi
#4 of 11 in Letojanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albatros

Property: Hotel Albatros
Address: Via Luigi Rizzo, 98037 Letojanni, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Letojanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Letojanni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albatros 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Letojanni
Hotel Albatros Letojanni, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing