We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They will go the extra mile - well about forty extra miles actually!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Olimpo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Olimpo
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Letojanni
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They will go the extra mile - well about forty extra miles actually!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Firstly, be prepared! Sicily - it is beautiful and contrasting in places, watch the programmes on it to avoid culture shock. For example, there are properties which haven't changed in a century. Like most things you get out what you put in! Be polite and learn a few words then the locals and staff will soon warm to you.

Secondly, it is a very cosmopolitan with visitors and residents from all over the world. This opinion is based on our two week family experience. Around 95% of the visitors and travellers are nice. It was a delight to have a chat with people like Danny Hauser and his wife who run the coach tours from Germany. Sicilians are also very polite, family orientated friendly people who love nothing more than to have a multilingual chat.

The problem as with many places? is a percentage of visitors are maybe not so nice and should not be given a passport to embarrass themselves and their Countries. Queue jumping the bus and overloading their plates like there's a war. The hotel needs to address this problem (maybe have a separate dinning room) as it spoils the nice atmosphere.

Staff are professional but appear quite guarded until they gain confidence that you are not going to abuse them and ruin their hotel. They all take a great an immense pride in their hotel and work well as a team.

They will go the extra mile - well about forty extra miles actually if you ask nicely. Our daughters irreplaceable cuddly toy dog "Dylan" went missing and had "escaped" mixed in the bedding to the capital city Catania the day before our departure. The Receptionist and Manager tracked him down but the laundry had closed!! The Manager somehow arranged for the laundry to be opened up at Saturday 7.30pm on a Bank Holiday weekend and for Dylan to make a speedy 20 mile trip - we guess on a motorbike! Phew!

Lillo and Alexander in the bar were professional, looked smart and always had a smile. They agreed without hesitation for my daughter to use the hotels grand piano to practice daily for her forthcoming exam.

Claudia is an interesting character who is very guarded with the English and is a little too busy at times, however, when my daughter went to Claudia just for an ice cream she returned also with a beer sent for her dad which went down well.

Restaurant service was good, all the waiters and waitresses were attentive and Lauro looked after us - we never waited long for a table or an extra bottle of wine. Nunzio offered to reserve us a table after a few days to save trying to find one at times. The house wine and food especially the seafood and meats were fine to excellent (no chips and baked beans!) but needed to be kept warmer, the carvery was good in the evening too.

Breakfasts are okay but would benefit from a fresh daily variety such as Spanish omelette or pancakes done to order on the hot plate with choices of toppings.

Guiseppe was doing the quieter entertainment & piano most evenings in October, everyone including the Romanian visitors loved the folk music and were all up.
There weren't many children there and not much going on, therefore a games room / games boards should be available for those guests / children that were there in the quieter times when the entertainment teams are not there and for bad weather. There was table tennis near the unheated pool, and the later was well maintained clean and sparkling! The indoor "spa" pool (coldish) and sauna etc should be included free of charge to merit a four star. The policy of requiring having to wearing swim hats is unnecessary with modern pool cleansing systems and made no sense apart from being a rip off.

The room and bathroom was really nice on level 5. There are some fantastic views from the hotel and great walks on the hills at the rear of the hotel which should be promoted! The motorway (goes all round the Sicilian coast) in the bottom is pretty noisy - the government needs to put low noise tarmac down in this location and acoustic barriers, maybe plant some Giant Redwood Trees! The hotel needs to be mindful of the sound proofing of the patio doors in the mean time.

Lifts etc. get you down to the pool or beach without too much difficulty.

The upper pool was nice with fantastic views. Service at the pool bar was intermittent with staff trying to be keep busy in two places at once rather than being stood doing nothing at times at the pool bar. Self service for drinks could be a better option? They should consider sending a couple of their staff to a four star hotel in Spain to compare and cherry pick their best points. There were no all inclusive snacks at the pool bar. Letojanni nearby is a quaint undeveloped and un-commercialised Sicilian sea front and would not certainly suit the those looking for amusement arcades and in your face things to do.

We usually travel 4T with Thomson. As one of the few all inclusive Italian hotels we found this to be clean, well presented and good value and we would consider returning to it again when we return to Italy.

Room Tip: Upper hotel is further away from the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Olimpo, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Lee,
We really glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at the Hotel Olimpo.
We thank you for pointing out our colleagues from the bar and the Restaurant . They are very dedicated.

We also thank you for pointing out some small aspects that in your opinion should be improved . At this proposal we are glad to inform you that to keep the food warmer we have now at the restaurant a food warmer oven.
The swim hat is necessary in the indoor pool to avoid any inconvenience while other are swimming as well.

We wait for your return !

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    227
    108
    59
    29
See reviews for
296
243
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I recomend this hotel to everyone, who wants to have great vacation, with amazing italian (but not only!!!) food, breathtaking view from the room balcony and great people working there.

The rooms are nice and clean with air conditio of course. If You look for magic moments, try to spend the evening in Bar Antares where you can hear live music every night with Maestro Marcello!!! Great Man, great voice, Staff in the Bar is absolutely extraordinary: helpfull, friendly and funny.Especially Antonio, Michele and if is present Claudio. GREAT TEAM!!

Also during the meals You can feel like at home. At the restaurant you can meet very nice people like Nunzio,Claudia and Lilo,

If you were lucky You'll meet il Direttore. Very nice man with great respect for every guest, Real Sicilian.

If you are looking for the touch of real Sicily in magnificent conditions and great company -YOU SHOULD CHOOSE THIS HOTEL, but if you do not like plenty of people, noisy children, etc. - please do not go there in August.

This hotel is realy wonderfull

the best recomendation from me? I've spent there my vacation for the fifth time and I'll return again and again

Room Tip: Room with the seaview in 4-th or 5-th floor. Directly on the front of the sea. You will not regret!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikolaj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Olimpo, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mr Mikolaj
we are extremely happy for this great feedback!


We thank you for mentioning into details your very satisfactory experience throughout the different departments in the hotel.

We also thank you for pointing out our collegues they are a huge asset for the hotel.


We look forward for your return !

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I could not find fault with this hotel. Spacious room with stunning views. Food was excellent lots of variety and choice. Staff were very helpful and friendly. A regular local bus, stops outside of hotel to go to Taomina every day, bus takes only 10 minutes. Beach is a 5 minute walk away from bottom of hotel and so is the village of Letojanni.

Room Tip: Room with sea view have amazing sunrise over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Olimpo, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mr Joy,
thank you very much for your wonderful review !
We are thrilled that you have enjoyed our food, our views and all our services.

We really wish to hear from you soon again.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned back from a week stay in Letojjani, Sicily. The hotel is nothing special, except for the amazing views, helped by the hill top setting.
Hotel- old, dated, needs revamping and new staff. The staff are extremely unfriendly and do not make the holiday makers feel welcome. We stayed half board unfortunately drinks are not included in with any meal, a real shame because the dining experience is usually over within 10 minutes unless you wish to pay €20 for a bottle of wine.
Service at the restaurant is absolutely shocking, and hinders the entire experience. One waiter- Lawro- shocking does not come close. Rude, abrupt etc...we would enter the restaurant at 715, 15 mins after opening for dinner, request a table for 5 to be told abruptly "I'm busy"
This is not helped by the fact they let two people sit on a table for six.
Be prepared for rude guests as well- a lot of very old continental travellers use this hotel for a stop off before seeing the delights of Sicily. It is no suprise that Thomson have pulled out next year, after only one year, well done Thomson good choice and have taken on the feedback from English guests.
Hotel rooms have air conditioning, centrally controlled with our room at 30 degrees of an evening, not acceptable, so have to sleep with the balcony door open.
Letojjani is rather dull, a few shops, shingle beaches, and a handful of restaurants. Try flamingo restaurant for just €2 for a glass of wine- this compares to almost €6 in the hotel.
You have to navigate two major lifts and a funicular before a 20 minute walk into the dull town. Shame.
Be prepared though for the fantastic views of the island, beautiful island it really is.
One more word of advice overall be prepared to queue whatever you do whether that be at the airport the hotel or whatever, and be prepared for the Italians not to.
We waited 1 hour and 30 mins at the airport to have our bags checked in, and then another 1 hour to go through passport control. Shocking.
Don't get this review wrong however, Sicily is a lovely island visually, just somewhere that I won't personally return to.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank adamanskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Olimpo, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Adam,
thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the fantastic view of hotel.
We are very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. We deeply apologize for the not welcoming manner of our staff, please do not consider it as a reflection of our normal standard.

We are very surprise about your comment regarding the prices of our drinks at meals. In our restaurant you can bay a bottle of red wine starting from Euro 10.00 as well as In our bar you can have a glass of red wine at the price of Euro 3.50. Of course the price can rise up to 20.00/ 30.00 Euro depending on the wine you choose.

We look forward to hearing back from you.
Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a disappointment - I can only echo the reviews of SEC1619 and Ian D. The hotel was full of screaming kids who (according to the rep) stick their fingers in the food on display in the buffet. The reps helpful advice was to get in the dining room early before all the food had been fingered! The tables, table cloths and floor in the dining room all bore plenty of evidence of earlier meals.
The pool bar produced an undrinkable gin and tonic - when I queried this the answer was "well, we've run out of tonic!!" No apology or refund.
Having given that up as a bad job we journeyed to the beach via the funicular, lift, stroll under the motorway (dodging the sewage flowing down the street) across the road onto a pretty grubby (fag ends and bottle tops) beach. We then walked around Letojanni which was about as inspiring as the beach and hotel!
At this point we started to look up prices of air tickets back to the UK for the next day (extortionate).
We went to bed at 10pm (we had been up since 3am to catch our flight), which nicely co-incided with the disco kicking off right outside our window - it eventually finished at 12.20am.
Having complained to the rep the night before, and again in the morning, there was no help forthcoming in finding alternative accommodation so we took matters into our own hands. We got a taxi to Taormina (a lovely town, especially in comparison to Letojanni) where the very helpful folk at the Hotel Belvedere were able to find us rooms at the next door Hotel Diodora. Lovely hotel, friendly staff and a fantastic pool; the few kids there were well behaved.
Just to complete my whinge - how on earth did the Olimpo get 4T's from Thomsons (they really need to do an inspection in high season), and as a big advocate of Tripadvisor how did it warrant no.3 out of 12 hotels in Letojanni???

Room Tip: Try a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dnapp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Olimpo, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Client,
we are really sorry that we were not able to meet your expections during your stay
We also carefully read the other comments about the noisy of the Kids. Unfortunately in August almost the italian families goes on Holiday and it can happen that we host a lot of kids.

Please note that I read your comment with great concern because this greatly increase our ability to look into areas that may require attention.

I hope you will visit us again giving us the opportunity to reedem ourselves.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The holiday company I booked with were very remiss in not giving an accurate description of the location to the beach from the hotel, although it states there is a vinicular lift down, what is not stated is that guests then have to walk through the terrace of another hotel, go down in a lift to the ground level, then walk through a fairly long tunnel, walk through a car park, cross over 3 busy roads, turn right walk along a street until you arrive at the Lido Tropicana where the hotel has arrangements for their guests to use sun beds and umbrellas. I could not go out at night as I went on this holiday on my own, and I would not have felt safe at night walking back to the hotel, which meant I could not go the the bars, cafes, restaurants and shops that are there, if I had turned left at the end of the road instead of turning right. There were only a handful of English people at the hotel, it was full of rude Italians with screaming and noisy children who the parents did not control. Food was average, its states there is a safe in all the rooms, this is not correct, there was not a safe in my room, air conditioning is poor as well. Food was mediocre, restuarant was very noisy. There were also too many exclusions to the so called All Inclusive holiday that I had paid for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SEC1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Olimpo, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Client,
is with great concern that I read your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Olimpo.

We are sorry for the inconvenience with the air condition in the room. We have a daily mantenaince service in hotel so if you have reported this problem to us we would have resolved within a day .
We have in every room the safe. If you have asked at our staff at the reception they would have explained where it was located .

We do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience, and we really hope to welcome you back.

Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've just returned from a week at Hotel Olimpo, Letojanni, having gone for an all-inclusive, romantic break with my partner. Upon arrival, a sense of disorganisation became apparent as the reception staff struggled with all manner of paperwork pertaining to those already in the 'three-deep' queue. We would have to wait... And eventually, just when we could see the light at the end of the tunnel and it was our turn to check in (20 mins after our actual arrival), some other guest pushed in. This, unfortunately, meant nothing to the reception manager. He happily saw to their needs, while we managed - by sheer good fortune - to attract the reluctant attention of another member of staff, This was not the welcome that we had anticipated or wanted.
The rest of the holiday followed a similar pattern - indifferent, miserable looking staff (most of whom only sprang to life and became quite chirpy when conversing with the Italian visitors - obvious favouritism). The rest of the guests - 97% Italian - were rude, pushy and obnoxious especially at meal times when they would act like pigs in troughs. Women in particular would load up their plates with unfeasible amounts of fodder, regardless of who was waiting behind them for their share. The general atmosphere on these occasions was lowered still further by just about every family having zero control over their kids - the boys in particular played football in the bar area and invariably shouted and screamed until they got their own way over, sometimes, the most trivial of matters. Chaos beyond belief. Night time 'chill outs' on the hotel terrace were invariably spoiled by youngsters playing 'tig' or football with paper cups around the tables and chairs while their extended and numerous entourage of relations sat 'over the other side' blissfully unaware of their children's unruliness, preferring to 'chew the fat' endlessly and smoke stinking, breeze-infecting cigarettes. Disgusting in all respects.
The town of Letojanni is strewn with graffiti and rubbish. The beach furthermore consists of gravel and two high rise, elevated main roads cut noisily through the resort - under which you must walk in order to get to the sea front. Not a beautiful town by any stretch of the imagination - many buildings are derelict.
Ironically, we did have a good time - but only because we visited the beautiful hill town of Taormina three times and due to the fact that my partner and I would probably be happy together in a shed.
To conclude, all staff need retraining on how to interact with non-Italian guests. The 'all-inclusive' package deal probably also needs refining in some way due to the dining experience never failing to bring out the worst in people #FeedingTimeAtTheZoo. The bar experience re: 'included' drinks also mysteriously became subject to the nature of the drink required and the time of the day. Value for money it was not! We won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Olimpo, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Mr Ian,
we read with great disappointement that your stay didn't meet your expectations,

We also deeply apologize for the inconvenience you had during the meals with the other guests : we addressed your concerns to revelant department to avoid in the future any other similar cases.

Please consider this as not a reflection of our normal standard of services.

We hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back so we can reedem ourselves.


Best Regards
Valeria Bosco
Booking office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letojanni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#3 of 11 in Letojanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
4.9 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
80.0 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
#3 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
80.0 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
#2 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
121.8 mi away
Magaggiari Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olimpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olimpo

Property: Hotel Olimpo
Address: Via G. Chincherini, 98037 Letojanni, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Letojanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Letojanni
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Letojanni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olimpo 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Olimpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpo Hotel Letojanni
Hotel Olimpo Letojanni, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing